Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAUC-LA Handbook: Nominating and Election

This guide provides information and background documents for LAUC-LA Committees to carry out their charges. For a committee’s charge and roster, click that committee tab and a drop-down menu will lead to the procedures and documents for each committee.

Charge

Nominating and Election Committee
Committee Charge

2022-23

General Charge: The Committee is charged with fulfilling its standing Charge as stated in Article VI. Section 11 of the LAUC-LA Bylaws:

a.    The Executive Board shall appoint a Nominating and Election Committee which shall be composed of four members, three members will work on nominations and one will be designated to work on elections, none of whom shall be nominees in the forthcoming election.

b.    The Nominating Committee shall: nominate candidates to serve as Chair-Elect, Secretary, Statewide Representatives and Chair-Elect of CAPA; obtain the written consent of all nominees; submit in writing the slate of candidates to the Secretary at least 45 days prior to the date of the election.

c.     At least two weeks prior to the date of the Spring meeting, the Secretary shall notify the membership of the slate of candidates.

d.    Additional nominations for Chair-Elect, Secretary, Statewide Representatives and Chair-Elect of CAPA may be made at the Spring meeting.

e.    The Committee shall conduct elections as specified in Standing Rule 1.

Election Calendar

The LAUC Secretary provides this calendar. Use it to inform the Nominating and Election Committee's timeline below.

2023 LAUC-LA Nominating and Election Calendar

Note: The template below can be used by members of the Nomination and Elections Committee to keep track of important dates before, during, and after Election Day.

2023 LAUC-LA Nominating and Election Calendar 
(as reviewed by the LAUC-LA Chair and approved on [date]; revised [date])

 

(on or before)

Send the "Call for Nominations" to all LAUC-LA members

 

 

LAUC-LA Spring Membership Meeting

Presentation of slate by the Chair of the Nominating and Elections Committee

Call for additional nominations from the floor by LAUC-LA Chair 

 

(on or before)

Candidates on slate submit biographical information to the LAUC-LA Secretary

Candidates on slate for Chair-Elect, Statewide Representative and Chair-Elect of CAPA submit a Statement of Purpose to the LAUC-LA Secretary

Candidates nominated at the LAUC-LA Spring Meeting submit biographical information to the LAUC-LA Secretary

Candidates nominated at the LAUC-LA Spring Meeting for Chair-Elect, Statewide Representative and Chair-Elect of CAPA submit a Statement of Purpose to the LAUC-LA Secretary.

LAUC-LA Secretary submits slate to chair of Nominating and Elections Committee 

 

 

Chair/member of the LAUC-LA Nominating and Elections Committee sends a ballot to each LAUC-LA member.

 

 

Election Day: Last day to cast a ballot

 

At least two members of the Election Committee obtain the results 
 

 

(on or before)

Chair of the Election Committee submits in writing to the Chair and the Secretary the results of the election.

LAUC-LA Chair informs all candidates of the outcome of the election. 

 

 

Secretary of LAUC-LA submits the results in writing to the Secretary of LAUC.

Secretary of LAUC-LA reports the results to the membership

 

(on or before) 

In case of ties in the election, the Executive Board directs the Election Committee to hold a special run-off election.

Software used for Election

Roster

Elyse Meyers, Chair (2023)

Shelby Hallman (2023)
Claudia Horning (2023)
Fran Marineo (2023)


To contact any of these people, go to the LAUC-LA Members Directory or the UCLA Directory.

Archiving and Website Upkeep

Don't forget to archive your content!

At the end of the year, please evaluate the information on your LAUC-LA Handbook page. Any documentation that is no longer current but considered important to archive can be moved to the Historical Documents tab.

If you notice areas of the LAUC-LA website that are out of date, please email the webmaster with changes.