Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAUC-LA Handbook: Management of This Guide

This guide provides information and background documents for LAUC-LA Committees to carry out their charges. For a committee’s charge and roster, click that committee tab and a drop-down menu will lead to the procedures and documents for each committee.

Overview

September 15, 2011 revision

 

DRAFT: LAUC-LA Handbook Procedures: Instruction Outline--hands on

 

Pre-requisite: If you have a LibGuides account, let the LAUC-LA Secretary know and you will be given editor rights for this guide. If you do not have a LibGuides account, let the LAUC-LA Secretary know. You will be set up as a Collaborator, which will give you rights to log into and edit this guide. Then log in to LibGuides and click on “please watch this how-to video” under “Create New Guide/Edit Existing Guide” for an introduction to LibGuides. Review LibGuide for your position or committee.

 

1.   Overview of Procedures for LibGuides

·      Reminder:  The LG supplements, but does not replace, the main LAUC-LA website

·      Purpose:  To provide a location for documentation of procedures for LAUC-LA committees, task forces and officers

·      Definitions (including editing privileges):  LibGuide owner, editor, co-editor

·      Linked boxes

·      Access:  Link to LAUC-LA Handbook LibGuide from LAUC-LA website

2.   Structure (main guide, individual committee tabs, Officers Plus tab)

3.   Standard parts of Individual Committee / Task Force Tabs

·      Home (includes Committee roster, charge and timeline, if appropriate)

·      Sample Communications

·      Procedures

4.   Homepage boxes

·      Introduction

·      What is LAUC-LA?

·      LAUCtalk Listserv

·      Executive Board Roster

·      Committee Reports

·      Conducting a Survey?

5.   Maintenance update responsibilities -- Who + which parts

·      Main guide

·      Committee guides

·      Officers Plus guide

·      Archiving & preservation

6.   Ongoing training and questions / troubleshooting

·      Orientation / training for new committee chairs and officers

·      Orientation / training for new LAUC-LA members

·      Who will conduct ongoing training? (LibGuide administrators or other librarians who are familiar with LibGuide software?)

Who Does What?

Chair: 

  • Ensures that additional committee charges (if any) are added to the Charge box on each committee's page.
  • At present, that has been delegated to the LAUC-LA Chair-elect.

Secretary:

  • Prepares a list of names of who should have editorship/ownership for the LAUC-LA Handbook and which names should be deleted as editors. Forward this list to the LibGuide administrator for updating. This will include the officers (LAUC-LA Chair-elect, Secretary, committee chairs).
  • Updates committee rosters each year once committees are formed.

Committee Chairs:

  • Update timeline, as needed.
  • Update sample communications materials, as needed.
  • Update procedures, as needed.
  • Once an event sponsored by the committee is confirmed, add the event information to the LAUC-LA Calendar tab in this guide.
  • Examples:
    • LAUC and LAUC-LA election dates (Election Committee)
    • Deadlines for LAUC and LAUC-LA grants (Research and Professional Development Committee)

Archiving LAUC-LA Guides

Don't forget to archive your content!

At the end of the year, please evaluate the information on your LAUC-LA Handbook page. Any documentation that is no longer current but considered important to archive can be moved to the Historical Documents tab.