Tips for Beginning Research at UCLA
- Connect from Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server)UCLA students, faculty, and staff connecting through the campus network, Bruin OnLine dial-up, the campus proxy server, or the campus virtual private network (VPN) can access all resources and services available through this Web site, including resources licensed by the UCLA Library or the California Digital Library such as periodical indexing and abstracting databases and full-text publications.
- Requesting Items from the SRLF OnlineA step-by-step instruction on how to place requests through the Library Catalog for delivery of SRLF materials to any campus library
- Getting Articles and Books from JapanThe Global ILL Framework (GIF) Project is a reciprocal interlibrary loan and document delivery agreement between North American and Japanese academic libraries and research institutes. The GIF Project provides you additional means to access what you cannot obtain from other North American libraries via normal ILL/DD services.
- EndNote WebUCLA students, faculty and staff have free access to EndNote Web through the UCLA library. EndNote Web is citation management software that enables you to collect, organize and format all of your research paper citations in one central location. All you need to do is register at the EndNote website.
Here is a guide to EndNote web. - Open Workshops and Research Appointments Available at UCLA LibraryThe UCLA Library and the Graduate Writing Center both offer graduate students helpful workshops on a variety of research- and writing-related topics. The Library's workshops are open; no RSVP is required.
- How Do I...?Basic guides here can help you find the answers or resources you need for your research in English.
- Graduate-Level Research: Services, Resources, and TipsTips on selecting faculty committee members, choosing a thesis topic, discovering and accessing research materials, searching for financial support, filing the thesis, and hunting for a job.
Current Journals in Literature
RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧.
- Bungaku 文学 (Tokyo, Japan : 2000)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B822 - Bungakukai 文學界 (Tokyo, Japan : 1947)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B864 - Bungei 文藝 (Tokyo, Japan : 1962)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B865 - Gendaishi techō 現代詩手帖View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL757 .G45 - Gunzō 群像View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .G95 - Haiku 俳句 (Tokyo, Japan)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL729 .H37 - Hikaku bungaku 比較文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PN851 .H54 - Kanbun kyōshitsu 漢文教室Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL2250 .K35
- Kinsei bungei 近世文芸View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K56 - Kodai bungaku 古代文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K58 - Kokubungaku gengo to bungei 国文学言語と文芸Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K659
- Kokubungaku kaishaku to kanshō 国文学解釋と鑑賞View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K59 - Kokubungaku kenkyū 国文学研究View RSS feed
Location: SRLF ; Call Number: 5861 K89 - Nihon bungaku 日本文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .N54 - Renga haikai kenkyū 連歌俳諧研究View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL732.R4 H3 - Shinchō 新潮View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .S545 - Tanka kenkyū 短歌硏究 (Tokyo, Japan : 1944)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL728 .T3936 - Waka bungaku kenkyū 和歌文学硏究View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL758.A1 W34 - Yuriika ユリイカ = EurekaView RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: AP95.J2 Y87
UCLA's Japanese Special Collections
Here are quick links to UCLA's special collections in Japanese studies:
- CD-ROMs and Microform CollectionsList of titles in CD-ROMs and microforms which are available on Japanese PC in East Asian Library Reading Room or Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF). For using those items housed in SRLF, please submit online request in UCLA Library Online Catalog.
- Prange Collection Microform SetGordon W. Prange Collection magazines (62,977 microfiches) and Gordon W. Prange Collection newspapers and newsletters (3,826 microfilm reels) respectively reproduce 13,783 magazines and 18,047 newspapers and newsletters published in Japan during the Allied Occupation for the years 1945-1949.
Library Catalogs of Books and Journals
Here is a short list of useful library catalogs for Japanese studies. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the book or journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Library holdings worldwide
- WebcatHoldings of university libraries in Japan
- WebcatPlusHoldings of university libraries in Japan. Also available as a part of GeNii
- NDL-OPACHoldings of Japan's National Diet Library. Also available as a part of Digital Archive Portal
Journal and Magazine Articles
Here is a short list of useful articles databases for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- CiNii: Citation Information by NII 論文情報ナビゲーターIndexes to academic journal articles from Japan and provides full-text for over 6,800 journals (warning: coverage may not be complete). Also available as a part of GeNii
- NDL Japanese Periodicals Index = 雑誌記事索引RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧
- 雑誌記事索引集成データベース: 明治から現在まで 全国誌から地方誌まで (The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912), with links to NACSIS Webcat, WebcatPlus, and the National Diet Library's OPAC.
- MagazinPlusIndexes to journal articles from Japan published since 1948, articles in popular Japanese magazines since 1980, and essays in festschriften, conference papers, books, annuals, and research reports between 1945 and 2003
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベースBibliographic database of books and articles on Japanese literature since 1912, maintained by the National Institute of Japanese Literature
- Taiyō 太陽 (Tokyo, Japan : 1895)An online version of the journal Taiyō originally published by Hakubunkan from 1895 to 1928. Also provides indexes to Bungei kurabu 文芸倶楽部 and Kōyūkai zasshi 校友会雑誌
- Tosho Shinbun 図書新聞 = The book review pressPrint and online.
For login ID/password, contact Toshie Marra.
Location: EAL Newspapers ; Call Number: Z1003.5. J3 - Ōya Sōichi Bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku 大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目錄Covers articles published on popular magazines since the Meiji period through 1995. Cataloged in multiple titles.
Newspaper Articles
Here is a short list of useful newspaper article databases and indexes for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index newspaper articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the newspaper title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Asahi Kikuzo II VisualFull text access to 朝日新聞 (1879-present) and Historical Photo Archive, containing ca. 10,000 pieces of historical photographs taken in Asia and Europe from the 1930s to 1945
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access, mostly to full text, to nearly nine thousand business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, and wire services; includes major Japanese newspapers such as 読売新聞, 毎日新聞, and 産経新聞 (warning: covers only recent years)
- Mainichi Shinbun 毎日新聞 1872-presentMicrofilms (1872-present), CD-ROM (1996-2006; available on Japanese public computer in East Asian Library), and online (since 2002/5/1 via Factiva)
availability - Yomiuri Shibun 読売新聞CD/DVD-ROM version of the newspaper (1874-1970) is available on Japanese public computer in East Asian Library. Recent news are available via Factiva (since 2002/1/1)
- Nihon keizai shinbun 日本経済新聞 (shukusatsuban)Holdings: 1957/11-12, 1958/8-present
Location: EAL ; Call Number: HC462 .N68 - Gordon W. Prange Collection newspapers and newslettersReproduces 18,047 newspapers and newsletters (in 3,826 microfilm reels) published in Japan during the Allied Occupation for the years 1945-1949.
- Meiji Shinbun Zasshi Bunko shozō zasshi mokuji sōran 明治新聞雑誌文庫所藏雑誌目次総覧Location: EAL ; Call Number: Z6958.J3 T635 1993
Suppl. located in EAL Ref. - Shinbun shūsei Meiji hennenshi 新聞集成明治編年史 / [編纂代表 中山泰昌]Location: EAL ; Call Number: DS882 .S5
- Shinbun shūsei Taishō hennenshi 新聞集成大正編年史 / 明治大正昭和新聞研究会編Location: EAL ; Call Number: DS886 .S47
Texts and Translations
- Aozora Bunko 青空文庫Modern Japanese literary works in full-text.
- Digital Library from the Meiji Era = 近代デジタルライブラリーFull-text works published during the Meiji period and owned by the National Diet Library
- Japanese Text Initiative = 日本語テキストイニシアチブTexts of classical and modern literature; collaborative effort of the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library
- Kindai bunken jōhō dētabēsu 近代文献情報データベース = Bibliographical Information Database of Japanese Modern TimesDatabase provided by the National Institute of Japanese Literature, consisting of bibliographic information and image data of literary studies from the Meiji period
- Japanese Literature in Translation Search = 日本文学翻訳書誌検索A database of translations of literary works into a variety of languages; maintained by the Japan Foundation
- Index TranslationumA database of translations maintained by UNESCO