Contact Japanese Studies Librarian
JAPAN 161: Religious Life in Modern Japan / Prof. W. Bodiford (Spring 2015)
Class
JAPAN161-1 / JAPAN297B-1: Religious Life in Modern Japan (Spr 2015)
Accessing Full-Text: Not all sources are available in online format.
- Connect from off-campus
Configure your device to access licensed library resources. VPN SSN is recommended.
- InterLibrary Loan class="linkdesc">is free but may take a little while (at least a few business days).
- Citation LinkerLocate an article from a citation.
Article Databases
- Asia-studies full-text online
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to research and reports on business, government, economic, and social issues from 55 countries.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
- CiNii
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to academic journal articles from Japan and provides full-text for over 6,800 journals, primarily in Japanese (warning: coverage may not be complete).
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
- JAIROFull text journal articles and other various digital resources produced by Japanese universities, primarily in Japanese.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Repository of scholarly journals (warning: does not contain the most recent 3-5 years). - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
Core Journal Titles
- Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: PJ3 .L84b - Eastern BuddhistCall Number: BQ7300 .E27Print only. Location: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks
- Japanese journal of religious studiesLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online; Call Number: BL2201 .J826
- Journal of Japanese studies
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: DS801 .J826Date: Also online.
Reference Sources/ Bibliographies
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
- Basic Terms of Shinto
This link opens in a new window
Web version based on the 1985 print edition by Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics, Kokugakuin University. - Cambridge History of Japan
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the Cambridge History of Japan. - Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BQ128 .E62 2004Also in print. Location: YRL Stacks and College Ref 
Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics by Call Number: BL31 .E56 1925 v.1-13 YRL Reference Reading RoomISBN: 9781334901935Another edition:
BL31 .E56 Powell Library Main Reading Room Reference- Encyclopedia of Shinto
- This link opens in a new window
English translation of the Shinto Jiten (1994) edited by the Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics, Kokugakuin University. - Japanese history & culture from ancient to modern times : seven basic bibliographies byCall Number: Z3306 .D69 1986Location: SRLF
- JapanKnowledge Lib
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to basic Japanese reference sources including encyclopedias and dictionaries (e.g., 日本大百科全書, 日本国語大辞典, 國史大辭典, Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.) as well as 東洋文庫 and 新編日本古典文学全集 e-series. Click here for instructional videos. - Nanzan guide to Japanese religions byCall Number: BL2210.5 .N36 2006Location: YRL and College Stacks
Newspaper Databases
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access, mostly full text, to nearly nine thousand business and general news sources including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines and wire services; includes major Japanese newspapers such as 読売新聞, 毎日新聞, and 産経新聞 (warning: covers only recent years). - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- Asahi Kikuzo II Visual
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 朝日新聞 (1879-present) and Historical Photo Archive, containing ca. 10,000 pieces of historical photographs taken in Asia and Europe from the 1930s to 1945. - Nikkei Telecom 21
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 日本経済新聞 (1876/12/2-1956/12/31, and 1981/10-present), 日経産業新聞 (1981/10-present), 日経流通新聞 (1985/10-present), and 日経金融新聞 (1987/10-2008/1) is provided; it also offers English sources such as Nikkei English News, Nikkei Weekly and translations of major articles from the above-mentioned Japanese newspapers, as well as Nikkei Company Profile (30,000 company profiles) and Nikkei Who's Who (20,000 corporate executive profiles). - Yomidas Rekishikan
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Yomiuri shibun 読売新聞 (1874-present) and Daily Yomiuri (1989-present). The database also provides dictionaries (Japanese/English, English/Japanese, or new words dictionaries) to look up definitions and biographies, just by highlighting any words in the article and clicking dictionary buttons.
Library Catalogs for Finding Books and Journals
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WebcatPlusHoldings of university libraries in Japan.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- NDL SearchCovers holdings of National Diet Library (NDL), public libraries and digital archives of Japan as well as NDL's Japanese Periodical Index.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
Other Resources
- ZoteroFirefox users can use Zotero for collecting, organizing, citing and sharing research sources.