Japan 200-1 (Fall 2014)
Current Journals in Literature
RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧.
- Bungaku 文学 (Tokyo, Japan : 2000)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .B822 - Haiku 俳句 (Tokyo, Japan)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL729 .H37 - Hikaku bungaku 比較文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PN851 .H54 - Kanbun kyōshitsu 漢文教室Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL2250 .K35
- Kinsei bungei 近世文芸View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K56 - Kodai bungaku 古代文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K58 - Kokubungaku gengo to bungei 国文学言語と文芸Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K659
- Kokubungaku kaishaku to kanshō 国文学解釋と鑑賞View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .K59 - Kokubungaku kenkyū 国文学研究View RSS feed
Location: SRLF ; Call Number: 5861 K89 - Nihon bungaku 日本文学View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL700 .N54 - Renga haikai kenkyū 連歌俳諧研究View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL732.R4 H3 - Tanka kenkyū 短歌硏究 (Tokyo, Japan : 1944)View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL728 .T3936 - Waka bungaku kenkyū 和歌文学硏究View RSS feed
Location: EAL Journals ; Call Number: PL758.A1 W34
Core Journals (Western Languages)
Here is a list of major journals in Japanese literary studies and Japanese aesthetics:
- Asiatische Studien. Études asiatiquesLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks; Call Number: PL1001 .A832
- Bulletin de l’École française d’Extrême-OrientLocation: YRL and online; Call Number: DS521 .E19b
- Bulletin of the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of LondonLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks; Call Number: PJ3 .L84b
- Harvard journal of Asiatic studiesLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online; Call Number: DS501 .H26
- Japanese journal of religious studiesLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online; Call Number: BL2201 .J826
- Journal of Asian studiesLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online; Call Number: DS501 .F22
- Journal of Japanese stuidiesLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online ; Call Number: DS801 .J826
- Journal of the American Oriental SocietyLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online; Call Number: PJ2 .A51j
- Monumenta NipponicaLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks, and online; Call Number: DS821.A1 M7
- Oriens extremusLocation: YRL Stacks; Current issues in Periodicals Stacks; Call Number: DS501 .O687
- Philosophy East and WestLocation: YRL and online ; Call Number: B1 .P547
Library Catalogs of Books and Journals
Here is a short list of useful library catalogs for Japanese studies. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the book or journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Library holdings worldwide
- WebcatHoldings of university libraries in Japan
- WebcatPlusHoldings of university libraries in Japan. Also available as a part of GeNii
- NDL-OPACHoldings of Japan's National Diet Library. Also available as a part of Digital Archive Portal and NDL Search
Catalogs of Old Japanese Books
- Catalog of rare Japanese materials at the University of California, Los Angeles = カリフォルニア大学ロサンゼルス校所蔵日本古典籍目錄 / 鈴木淳, 三木身保子編A catalog of old and rare Japanese materials held by UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library History and Special Collections for the Sciences, Charles E. Young Research Library Department of Special Collections, and East Asian Library.
- Directory of North American Collections of Old and Rare Japanese Books, Other Print Materials, and ManuscriptsDescriptions of and contact information for collections in North American academic libraries and museums
- Nihon kotenseki sōgō mokuroku 日本古典籍総合目録A union catalog of Japanese old and rare books originally produced before 1868; combines 『国書総目録』 and 『古典籍総合目録』 and more.
- Zenkoku Kanseki Dētabēsu 全國漢籍データベースUnion catalog of Chinese books held by Japanese libraries provided by Center for Informatics in East Asian Studies, Institute for Research in Humanities, Kyoto University
Western Language Sources
To locate full-text article in print or online format (including those in JSTOR and other journal archive we have access to) or type in the citation into Citation Linker, click on UC-eLinks icon unless noted otherwise.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This index covers scholarly sources in all subject areas on countries in Asia. The search option may not be very useful. You may need to use Browse the BAS by Country-Subject to locate the exact subject headings to find the sources you need. In place of UC-eLinks, you need to click on the "Find it @ Library Icon" to get access to UC-eLinks. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online. This is a static collection, and there may be some missing issues/gaps for specific titles.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
Journal and Magazine Articles
Here is a short list of useful articles databases for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- CiNii: Citation Information by NII 論文情報ナビゲーターIndexes to academic journal articles from Japan and provides full-text for over 6,800 journals (warning: coverage may not be complete). Also available as a part of GeNii
- NDL Japanese Periodicals Index = 雑誌記事索引RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧
- 雑誌記事索引集成データベース: 明治から現在まで 全国誌から地方誌まで (The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912), with links to NACSIS Webcat, WebcatPlus, and the National Diet Library's OPAC.
- MagazinPlusIndexes to journal articles from Japan published since 1948, articles in popular Japanese magazines since 1980, and essays in festschriften, conference papers, books, annuals, and research reports between 1945 and 2003
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベースBibliographic database of books and articles on Japanese literature since 1912, maintained by the National Institute of Japanese Literature
- Tosho Shinbun 図書新聞 = The book review pressPrint and online.
For login ID/password, contact Toshie Marra.
Location: EAL Newspapers ; Call Number: Z1003.5. J3
Newspaper Articles
Here is a short list of useful newspaper article databases and indexes for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index newspaper articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the newspaper title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Asahi Kikuzo II VisualFull text access to 朝日新聞 (1879-present) and Historical Photo Archive, containing ca. 10,000 pieces of historical photographs taken in Asia and Europe from the 1930s to 1945
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access, mostly to full text, to nearly nine thousand business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, and wire services; includes major Japanese newspapers such as 読売新聞, 毎日新聞, and 産経新聞 (warning: covers only recent years)
- Mainichi Shinbun 毎日新聞 1872-presentMicrofilms (1872-present), CD-ROM (1996-2006; available on Japanese public computer in East Asian Library), and online (since 2002/5/1 via Factiva)
- Nikkei Telecom 21Full text access to 日本経済新聞 (1876/12/2-1956/12/31, and 1981/10-present), 日経産業新聞 (1981/10-present), 日経流通新聞 (1985/10-present), and 日経金融新聞 (1987/10-2008/1) is provided; it also offers English sources such as Nikkei English News, Nikkei Weekly and translations of major articles from the above-mentioned Japanese newspapers, as well as Nikkei Company Profile (30,000 company profiles) and Nikkei Who's Who (20,000 corporate executive profiles).
- Gordon W. Prange Collection newspapers and newslettersReproduces 18,047 newspapers and newsletters (in 3,826 microfilm reels) published in Japan during the Allied Occupation for the years 1945-1949.
- Who's Who in Japan This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Yomiuri shibun 読売新聞 (1874-present) and Daily Yomiuri (1989-present). The database also provides dictionaries (Japanese/English, English/Japanese, or new words dictionaries) to look up definitions and biographies, just by highlighting any words in the article and clicking dictionary buttons
Texts and Translations
- Premodern Japanese Texts and TranslationsBibliography of translations and reviews of the literary works up to about 1600; includes works written in kanbun and Chinese
- Japanese Literature in Translation Search = 日本文学翻訳書誌検索A database of translations of literary works into a variety of languages; maintained by the Japan Foundation
- Index TranslationumA database of translations maintained by UNESCO
- Japanese Text Initiative = 日本語テキストイニシアチブTexts of classical and modern literature; collaborative effort of the University of Virginia Library Electronic Text Center and the University of Pittsburgh East Asian Library
- JapanKnowledgeJapanKnowledge offers digitized version of Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshū 新編日本古典文学全集 and the Heibonsha series Tōyō bunko 東洋文庫.
- Kokubungaku Kenkyū Shiryōkan Dētabēsu, honbun dētabēsu 国文学研究資料館データベース: 本文データベースFull texts from ''Nihon koten bungaku taikei''(Iwanami Shoten, 1957-67), ''Nijuichidaishu'', ''Koji ruien'', etc. are available
- Kokusai Nihon Bunka Kenkyū Sentā (Nichibunken) Dētabēsu 国際日本文化研究センター(日文研）データベースA variety of databases are offered by the Nichiubnken.
- Tōkyō Daigaku Shiryō Hensanjo Dētabēsu 東京大学史料編纂所データベースDatabases including the index to Dai Nihon shiryō; full-text of Dai Nihon komonjo, Dai Nihon kokiroku, and Heian ibun, the Online Glossary of Japanese Historical Terms, etc.
- Kotenseki Sogo Database, Japanese & Chinese Classics 古典籍総合データベースWaseda University Library provides access to digital images of their holidngs of Japanese and Chinese classics (ca. 300,000 volumes digitized)
- Digital Library from the Meiji Era = 近代デジタルライブラリーFull-text works published during the Meiji period and owned by the National Diet Library
- Aozora Bunko 青空文庫Modern Japanese literary works in full-text.
Background
- Cambridge History of JapanCheck location and call # for the print edition.
- A Companion to Japanese HistoryCheck location and call #for the print edition
- Handbook to Life in Medieval and Early Modern Japan (most content is available)Check location and call # for print edition.