Scholarly Journals and Magazines
For limiting searches for book reviews, you might want to consider adding the term 書評 in Japanese databases.
- CiNii: Citation Information by NII 論文情報ナビゲーターIncludes full-text for some fifteen hundred journals.
- Kindai zasshi mokuji bunko. Kokugo kokubungaku hen 近代雑誌目次文庫. 国語・国文学編 / 監修 松岡洸司 ; 編集 真壁隆治, 近川澄子Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: PL501 .K53 1989
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベースA database of article citations from 『国文学年鑑』 by the National Institute of Japanese Literature since 1912.
Search Tips: Limit by transcribed texts and reproductions is available in the detailed search screen. - Meiji Shinbun Zasshi Bunko shozō zasshi mokuji sōran 明治新聞雑誌文庫所藏雑誌目次総覧Reproduces tables of contents of the Japanese journals from the Meiji through Showa periods held by Meiji Shinbun Zasshi Bunko, University of Tokyo.
Location: EAL ; Call Number: Z6958.J3 T635 1993
Suppl. located in EAL Ref. - NDL Japanese Periodicals Index = 雑誌記事索引RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧
- Tosho Shinbun 図書新聞 = The book review pressPrint and online.
For login ID/password, contact Toshie Marra.
Location: EAL Newspapers ; Call Number: Z1003.5. J3
- 雑誌記事索引集成データベース: 明治から現在まで 全国誌から地方誌まで (The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912), with links to NACSIS Webcat, WebcatPlus, and the National Diet Library's OPAC.
Newspapers
For limiting searches for book reviews, you might want to consider adding the term 書評 in Japanese databases.
- Asahi Kikuzo II VisualIncludes 朝日新聞 (1945-present)
- Mainichi shinbun 毎日新聞Microfilms (1872-present), CD-ROM (1996-2006; available on Japanese public computer in East Asian Library), and Online (recent news only via Factiva)
availability
Location: SRLF - Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞 1874-1970CD/DVD-ROM version of the newspaper is available on Japanese public computer in East Asian Library. Recent news are available via Factiva
Book Reviews and Criticism
Here is a short list of sources of reviews and criticims from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. Search Tips: For searching book reviews in Japanese, you might want to include the word 書評 in the query.
- An Introductory bibliography for Japanese studiesEach vol. issued in 2 parts: pt. 1, Social sciences; pt. 2, Humanities
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This index covers scholarly sources in all subject areas on countries in Asia. The search option may not be very useful. You may need to use Browse the BAS by Country-Subject to locate the exact subject headings to find the sources you need. In place of UC-eLinks, you need to click on the "Find it @ Library Icon" to get access to UC-eLinks - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Kokubungaku ronbun mokuroku dētabēsu 国文学論文目録データベースA database of article citations from 『国文学年鑑』 by the National Institute of Japanese Literature since 1912. Search Tips: Limit by transcribed texts and reproductions is available in the detailed search screen
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A small percentage of full-text from this Gale publication is accessible within Literature Resource Center. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes ''Gale Literary Index'', ''Dictionary of Literary Biography'', and other reference sources published by Gale. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly sources on literature, language, linguistics and folklore from 1920s to the present. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to international, scholarly literature in the arts, humanities and social sciences journals from the first issue to 2005 or ceased date that indexed are in the Periodicals Index Online. This is a static collection, and there may be some missing issues/gaps for specific titles.
- Shuppan nyūsu 出版ニュース = Publication’s-newsLocation: EAL Journals ; Call Number: Z3301 .S477
- Tosho Shinbun 図書新聞 = The book review pressPrint and online.
For login ID/password, contact Toshie Marra.
Location: EAL Newspapers ; Call Number: Z1003.5. J3