Contact Our Japanese Studies Librarian
スポットライト
Take a look at the Hiroshima Archive, traditional Japanese animation technique, Japanese book history, Japan's women Behind the Camera, see how incarcerated Japanese Americans made their own destinies, or how LGBT advocates coordinate resources in the Queer Japan archives.
The Japanese Studies library guide is your one-stop shop to finding research/scholarly resources related to Japan. You can find us on the second floor of YRL in the East Asian Library. Feel free to book a research consultation if you need help. If you are new to using the UCLA Library, please scroll down to "Tips for Using the Library". ありがとうございます！
| Tomoko Bialock Japanese Studies Librarian tbialock@library.ucla.edu Schedule Research Consultation |
Kimberly McNelly Project Manager kmcnelly@library.ucla.edu |
Su Chen East Asian Studies Librarian suchen11@library.ucla.edu |
Junko Tanaka Japanese Acquisition and Cataloging Specialist jtanaka@library.ucla.edu |
Quick Start Guide |
Getting started with Japan-related research
Still overwhelmed? See how to use the UCLA Library system. Just click on "Navigating and Requesting" to get started. |
Databases
Follow the link below to find the list of the subscribed Japanese databases accessible via VPN and the selection of the open databases and other resources related to Japanese studies.
- EBSCOhost eBook CollectionTo access this ebook collection, select "EBSCOhost Web" from the list of EBSCO resources and then select "eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)" from the EBSCOhost databases, the 2nd title under the alphabet E group.
To find all EBSCO Japanese ebooks, select Advanced Search, limit search results by selecting Japanese by language, and hit the Search button (total 407 titles as of 11/30/2024). - Kinokuniya Digital Library (KinoDen)Select 所蔵のみ to find the volumes held by the UC libraries (total 1,291 vols. as of 11/30/2024). Select 未所蔵を含める to search all titles available/purchasable in KinoDen. Contact Librarian to recommend a purchase of 未所蔵 titles.
- JapanKnowledge eBooksSee under 詳細（個別）検索 and 本棚 from the top menu to find the major titles included. You can find all titles including dictionaries and JKBooks in the left column "検索コンテンツ.".
JapanKnowledge contains the largest number of e-dictionaries among the platforms listed here.
https://japanknowledge.com/en/contents/index.html - Maruzen E-Book Library (MeL) - DDA/Demand-Driven Acquisition <購読契約> collectionSearch in Advanced Search <詳細検索> and select <未購入> to find all of Maruzen ebooks available for purchase--contact Librarian to recommend a purchase, <試読> to find DDA titles available for preview--browse 10-minute to generate a purchase, <購入済> to find all titles already acquired, marked as <閲覧> (total 548 購入済 titles, 11/30/2024).
Search by “多読” in タイトル in Advanced Search <詳細検索> and select <購入済> to find all tadoku/extensive reading titles (total 144 titles, 11/30/2024). - Maruzen-Yushodo Japan Digital Archives Center (J-DAC)Multidisciplinary digitized collections of various cultural and historical records of Japan.
The Japanese audiobooks currently available through Maruzen E-Library (MeL) via VPN and Avalon via UCLA Logon Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) are listed along with selective Youtube resources below.
Japanese Information Literacy
- Japanese Information Literacy for Undergrads Full Course - Suzanne Fessler (University at Albany)An indispensable guide-- full Japanese Information Literary course. Includes information on everything from citing Japanese sources, Japanese eras/periodization, auspicious days, units of measure, noble titles/ranks, and subject-based resources. Please view (https://guides.nccjapan.org/infolitforundergrads) for syllabus and full course materials.
- Japanese Bibliography and Research Methods Course Library Guide - Maureen Donovan (Ohio State U)Information on romanization standards, dictionaries, translations, references and resources by subject.
Romanization and Kanji
- Romanization TableTable of Modified Hepburn Romanization (Roma-ji system used in the most English databases)
- CJK Unified IdeographsUE Unicode Explorer
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism 電子佛教辭典A dictionary of Buddhist terminology developed by user contributions and maintained by A. Charles Muller, professor of the University of Tokyo. Buddhist terms are indexed by radicals, texts, temples, schools, places, etc. Includes links to other useful Buddhist web resources.
A list of lexicographical and canonical references used in DDB: http://www.buddhism-dict.net/ddb/references.html
Tips for using the library
If you are new to accessing library materials, there is a world of information awaiting you. Here are some resources to get you started.
- Classification (Library of Congress)Everything in most U.S. based academic libraries are sorted by the Library of Congress organization system. This link is a brief overview of each of the subjects.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Instructions for making an interlibrary loan request for materials not located at UCLA.
- SRLFInstructions for requesting materials stored at SRLF (off-site storage center).
- Purchase RequestsSubmit a purchase request to have the library buy unavailable materials for you.
- Romanization TableIf you cannot find materials in English regarding your subject, try using this Romanization table to search for materials in Japanese.
- Using the Library - Student ResourcesGeneral reference page for many library resources such as copy/scan, purchase requests, document delivery, etc.
- Research WorkshopsNo clue where to start? Research workshops cover everything from getting started with research, writing literature reviews, organizing data with spreadsheets or databases, finding sources at the UCLA Library, and more!
- Studying & Learning SpacesNeed somewhere to study? Try booking a room in any of our library spaces.
- Print, Copy & ScanOur campus libraries offer self-service print, copy, and scan services.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- Graduate-Level Research: Services, Resources, and TipsTips on selecting faculty committee members, choosing a thesis topic, discovering and accessing research materials, searching for financial support, completing your thesis, and hunting for jobs.
- Zotero Research GuideZotero is a free citation management system that can help you save your research materials and create bibliographies.
- Endnote How-toAccess EndNote
- Accessing Special CollectionsSpecial Collections Request Management system (Aeon) to request items through either UCLA OPAC or Online Archive of California (OAC).
- UCLA Instructional Media Library CatalogLocated in Powell Library, circulates physical media and films to instructors, faculty and researchers for in-person teaching, as well as making available digital versions for use on approved Bruin Learn/ Canvas course websites.
Newly Acquired JP Books
Below is a list of recently acquired materials.
Loading ...