Welcome!
The Japanese Studies library guide is your one-stop shop to finding research/scholarly resources related to Japan. The subject of Japanese modernization is complex and ever-expansive, spanning across both wide periods of changing times, as well as several disciplines.
Welcome PS 191C!
Getting Started
Physical Materials
To search through physical materials, it is good to familiarize yourself with the Library of Congress classification system, found here.
Call numbers JQ1499-1749 (J is the broader political science category, JQ is political institutions in Asia) will host a variety of East Asian political science resources. Subclass DS contains Asian history materials. These are good places to start your search.
To search through physical materials online, go to the UCLA library search page, and click on the three dots to navigate to the "Browse" section, and then select "Browse by call number". Or, just click here and enter your call number into the search field.
Gordon W. Prange Collection
This collection contains materials that were censored during the occupation of Japan. There will be a demonstration of how to access and view microfilms.
Newspaper Archives
Japan Times Archives: https://jt-archives.jp/authenticate.do
Toyo Keizai Digital Content Library: https://japanknowledge.com/lib/en/shelf/toyokeizai/
Other Links
Japan Digital Archives Center: http://j-dac.jp/top/eng/index.html
The World And Japan (National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies): https://worldjpn.net/front-ENG.shtml
J-Global (database): https://jglobal.jst.go.jp/en
Hoover Institute (focus on modern history): https://www.hoover.org/library-archives/collections/japan
Japanese Law: https://liblawuw.libguides.com/japan-az
Japanese Political Science Association: https://www.jpsa-web.org/english/?l=en_US
Featured Books
Below are some bibliographies that may aid you in your search.
- Japan and Southeast Asia : a bibliography of historical, economic, and political relations byCall Number: DS525.9.J3 I93 1983
- Japan and the world, 1853-1952 : a bibliographic guide to Japanese scholarship in foreign relations byCall Number: DS881.96 .J37 1989
- Japanese studies from pre-History to 1990 : a bibliographical guide byCall Number: Z3301 .J36 1992
- The Cambridge history of Japan / [general editors, John W. Hall and others]Call Number: DS835 .C36 1988
Databases
Below are some databases that offer either bi-lingual or English resources on Japanese academic subjects.
- CiNii: Institutional Package This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A database that enables searching of information on academic articles published in Japanese academic society journals or university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Full-text access is available for many articles.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
