Library Catalogs
Here is a short list of useful library catalogs for Japanese studies.
- Citation LinkerLocate an article from a citation.
- NDL Search This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers holdings of public libraries in addition to NDL's and digital archives, etc. in addition to NDL's Japanese Periodical Index.
- NDL-OPACHoldings of Japan's National Diet Library. Also available as a part of 国立国会図書館サーチ
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
- WebcatHoldings of university libraries in Japan
- WebcatPlusHoldings of university libraries in Japan. Also available as a part of GeNii
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Library holdings worldwide
Books in Print
Here is a short list of sources for finding materials available on the market for Japanese studies.
- Books.or.jpbooks currently available on the market, from the Japan Book Publishers Association
- e-Dokusho.jp e読書.jpCovers both print and digital books; is offered by Renso Shuppan (Association Press) affiliated with the Research Center for Informatics Association at the National Institute of Informatics
- Jimbou Book TownInformation about Kanda Book Town, the largest center of secondhand books in Japan
- Nihon no furuhonya 日本の古本屋Largest database of secondhand books in Japan; many participants from Zenkoku Koshosekisho Kumiai Rengokai
- Seifu kankōbutsu, kanpō, kanpō kōkoku 政府刊行物・官報・官報公告Covers government publications
Bibliography
Some titles listed below are for building use only.
- Index TranslationumA database of translations maintained by UNESCO
- Japan / Frank Joseph Shulman.Print Only
- Nihon zenkoku shoshi 日本全国書誌 (Weekly : Online)The National Diet Library's weekly acquisitions list of Japanese publications since April 2002.
- A bibliography of the Japanese empire / comp. by Fr. von WencksternLocation: SRLF ; Call Number: Z3301 .W481b
Bibliography of Bibliographies
Here is a short list of useful bibliographies of bibliographies.
- Nihon shoshi no shoshi 日本書誌の書誌 / 天野敬太郎編Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z1002 .A455
- Shoshi nenkan 書誌年鑑Location: EAL Ref. ; Call Number: Z3301.A1 S56
- Shudai shoshi sakuin 主題書誌索引 / 深井人詩編Location: EAL ; Call Number: Z3301.A1 F84 1981
- Shudai shoshi sakuin, 81-91 主題書誌索引, 81-91 / 深井人詩編Location: EAL ; Call Number: Z3301.A1 F843 1994
Journal and Magazine Articles
Here is a short list of useful articles databases for Japanese studies. Note that many of these sources only index journal articles -- they don't actually have the full text. Use the gold "UC-eLinks" button to do an automated search to find the full text or citation linker, or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- CiNii: Citation Information by NII 論文情報ナビゲーターIndexes to academic journal articles from Japan and provides full-text for over 6,800 journals (warning: coverage may not be complete). Also available as a part of GeNii
CiNii provides mobile phone interface. - Current IRs (Institutions Repositories) in JapanLinks to institutional repositories by academic institutions in Japan; maintained by the National Institute of Informatics.
- MagazinPlusIndexes to journal articles from Japan published since 1948, articles in popular Japanese magazines since 1980, and essays in festschriften, conference papers, books, annuals, and research reports between 1945 and 2003
- Meiji Shinbun Zasshi Bunko shozō zasshi mokuji sōran 明治新聞雑誌文庫所藏雑誌目次総覧Location: EAL ; Call Number: Z6958.J3 T635 1993
Suppl. in EAL Ref. - NDL Japanese Periodicals Index = 雑誌記事索引 (in NDL-OPAC)RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧. Also available in 国立国会図書館サーチ.
- Ōya Sōichi Bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku 大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目錄Covers articles published on popular magazines since the Meiji period through 1995. Cataloged in multiple titles.
- Taiyō 太陽 (Tokyo, Japan : 1895)An online version of the journal Taiyō originally published by Hakubunkan from 1895 to 1928. Also provides indexes to Bungei kurabu 文芸倶楽部 and Kōyūkai zasshi 校友会雑誌
- Tosho Shinbun 図書新聞 = The book review pressPrint and online.
For login ID/password, contact Toshie Marra.
Location: EAL Newspapers ; Call Number: Z1003.5. J3
- 雑誌記事索引集成データベース: 明治から現在まで 全国誌から地方誌まで (The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal and magazine articles from Japan published since the Meiji period (1868-1912), with links to NACSIS Webcat, WebcatPlus, and the National Diet Library's OPAC.
Texts and Translations
- Kindai Dejitaru Raiburarī 近代デジタルライブラリーFull-text works published during the Meiji period and owned by the National Diet Library
- Aozora Bunko 青空文庫Full-text literary works
- Tōyō Bunko 東洋文庫(available via JapanKnowledge)
Digitized version of the Heibonsha series ''Tōyō bunko'' in PDF format