Research Guides: Japanese Studies: Extensive Reading

Reading Spots in YRL/EAL

Sculpture Garden

YRL 2nd Floor

YRL Cafe 451

EAL Reading

EAL Back Seat 1

EAL Back Seat 2

YRL Lobby

YRL Front 1

YRL Front 2

YRL Open Terrace

YRL Front 3

EAL Back Seat 3

YRL-EAL Staircase

YRL Circulation Desk

YRL Research Commons

Japanese Extensive Reading Collection

The Japanese Extensive Reading Collection is a collection of books ranging from simple children's picture books to well-known literature pieces (most with furigana!) that are classified into different reading levels to accommodate all levels of Japanese-language learners. The collection serves students majoring in Japanese studies to develop their reading skills to read original works of Japanese literature with or without taking a language course. They are shelved in the East Asian Library Display Area, which is located right at the entrance of the East Asian Library (at the Charles E. Young Research Library).

The extensive reading collection is found under the PZ49.2 call number. There are two classification systems that will aid language learners in their selection. They are the Ikeda system (organized from Level 0 - Level 5) and the milestone system (sorted from X1 - X7). Each is tailored for different purposes, but both will help language learners to target books that supplement their language learning at the appropriate level. Currently, the PZ49.2 call number is categorized by the milestone system.

The PZ49.2 call number is graded at seven levels of reading difficulty based on three criteria:

Reading proficiency of a K-12 native speaker
Readability and comprehensibility of a text
School grades specified on the book as its target reader

All graded readers for non-native speakers are graded into one level in this collection, and under which they are shelved according to their original grading schemes.

X1 is for non-native speakers-- this is where you should start, less kanji and easier to read.

Graded reader series such as レベル別日本語多読 are sorted by their own 0-5 level system under X1.

X2-X7 are graded by Japanese grade levels 1,2,3,4th graders.

The Ikeda system is more focused on the density of Kanji and vocabulary in the readings. The Ikeda system does not formally exist in the catalogue as of 2023, but the grading still exists as an aid for Japanese language learners interested in honing their reading skills. Below are some samples of books sorted by the Ikeda system.

Another resource that language learners may be interested in is the audiobook collection. Most are accessible through the Maruzen E-Library. These are great tools for immersion!

Tezuka Osamu Manga Digital Library 手塚治虫マンガ電子図書館
The Library contains the original works in Japanese, 122 titles (218 vols.), and English, 25 titles (84 vols.).
Check the user guide from the top menu.

Japanese Extensive Reading Collection (4/19/2024)

Japanese Extensive Reading Samples

The samples in this tab are all categorized according to the Ikeda system. They should give you a good picture of what the Tadoku collection looks like. Please feel free to come in and look at these wonderful books!