Price Collection
Joe and Etsuko Price are known for their world-renowned Edo-period (17th-19th century) art collection. It consists of original works, which they purchased and held themselves, as well as books and works about the art from this period. Under the influence of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, Price began collecting Edo masterpieces, with a particular emphasis on Itō Jakuchū's works. These works (which were oft overlooked during Price's visits to Japan in the 50s and 60s) were relatively inexpensive for the time. Thus, Price's eye for taste brought attention to otherwise "experimental" works that were extremely modern for the mid to late Edo period, earning him the title of "The American who rediscovered Jakuchu". During the 90s, Takashi Murakami declared Jakuchu to be a Superflat artist, in reference to his unique use of perspective and particularly modern stylistic choices. The Price family is of instrumental importance to LACMA's Japanese art collection development, and they eventually would help to build LACMA's Pavilion for Japanese Art.
Image source: http://lacmaonfire.blogspot.com/2020/04/prices-sell-japanese-paintings-coveted.html
Click here to view the Joe & Etsuko Price Art Book Collection in UC Library Search.
- Joe & Etsuko Price Art Book Collection / ジョー&エツコ・プライスアートブックコレクション byCall Number: * ND1053.5 .P75 2006ISBN: 9784096818817Date: 2006
Donald F. Callum
 |
Donald F. Callum was a celebrated scholar of Japanese art history. After earning his A.B. at Berkeley, he pursued graduate studies under Asian art historian Alexander Soper (1904–1993) at New York University. He spent seven years doing research in Japan, working with most of the major Buddhist sculpture specialists alive at the time. His collection includes materials related to his academic career and research, course materials, lecture notes, papers, correspondence, and presentations. Image source: https://s3.amazonaws.com |
Click here to view the Donald F. McCallum collection in UC Library Search.
Click here to view the McCallum (Donald F.) papers finding aid in OAC.
石岡 瑛子 | Eiko Ishioka Papers
 |
Famed art director, graphic designer, and costume designer Eiko Ishioka is a cultural icon of the 60s and 70s. She is most well known for her work in Francis Ford Coppola's Dracula (1992), for which she was awarded the Academy Award for Best Costume Design. She was extensively involved with commercial branding for Parco and also served as a stage director for several Issey Miyake runway shows. UCLA currently holds her papers, which span her illustrious and multifaceted career. The collection contains wonderful original large and small format original sketches, posters, vinyl records, set drawing designs, fabric samples, photographs, negatives, and other material related to her productions. Image source: https://i2-prod.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article10777612.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/Eiko-Ishioka.jpg |
test
徳山 二郎 | Jirō Tokuyama
The executive vice president of the Nomura Research Institute, a leading think-tank in Japan, Jiro Tokuyama was a successful businessman and economic commentator with several publications. He served as the Deputy Director of the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) Trade Center in New York, accelerating the sale of Japanese goods in the US market.
Click here to view the Jiro Tokuyama collection in UC Library Search.
Marius B. Jansen
 |
Marius B. Jansen was a renowned scholar of Japanese history at Princeton University. After serving in the military with his focus on the study of Japan, he turned his interests from European to Japanese history. He received his doctorate from Harvard University and began teaching a small Oriental studies program at Princeton University in 1959. His early forays into teaching Japanese history would help to introduce serious scholarship of Japan to many other American universities. He is the recipient of numerous scholastic awards, and held many highly appointed positions within various committees on Japan. He was elected president to the Fulbright Commission Association for Asian Studies in 1977, chaired the American Committee at the Japan Foundation, and was a member of both the Council on Foreign Relations and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was recognized for his contributions to Japanese studies by the Emperor of Japan, who conferred on him the Order of the Sacred Treasure in 1985. "His long service and many contributions to the study of Japan and its culture were recognized in his appointment to the Japan Academy in Spring 1999 and the award of the Prize for Distinguished Cultural Merit (Bunka Korosho) later that year. Jansen was the first non-Japanese to receive this award" (Source: https://eas.princeton.edu/people/marius-jansen). |
Click here to view the Marius B. Jansen Collection in UC Library Search.
Michael F. Marra Collection
 |
Michael F. Marra was born in Northern Italy and would go on to study at the University of Turin, where he specialized in Sanskrit and Pali. His pursuit of language and interest in Buddhist scholarship would eventually lead him to the study of Japanese literature. After receiving his PhD, he taught at the University of Tokyo and University of Southern California before moving to UCLA in 1993. It is during this period of his career that he turned his attention to Japanese aesthetics and hermeneutics, an area of study in which he would become a pioneer-- "He aligned the Japanese sources with contemporary European debates on aesthetic and literary issues, to show how the conventional Japanese vocabulary of literary aesthetics--terms previously seen solely in light of traditional Shinto and Buddhist religious sensibilities--acquired new nuances to reflect modern philosophical concerns. No one else had ever conceived of this project, much less attempted it" (Source: UC Senate). Image source: https://www.international.ucla.edu/media/images/marra-lrg.jpg |
Click here to view the Michael F. Marra Collection in UC Library Search.
Japanese Hermeneutics by ISBN: 0824824571Date: 2002-01-01Japanese Hermeneutics provides a forum for the most current international debates on the role played by interpretative models in the articulation of cultural discourses on Japan. It presents the thinking of esteemed Western philosophers, aestheticians, and art and literary historians, and introduces to English-reading audiences some of Japan's most distinguished scholars, whose work has received limited or no exposure in the United States. In the first part, Hermeneutics and Japan, contributors examine the difficulties inherent in articulating otherness without falling into the trap of essentialization and while relying on Western epistemology for explanation and interpretation. In the second part, Japan's Aesthetic Hermeneutics, they explore the role of aesthetics in shaping discourses on art and nature in Japan. The essays in the final section of the book, Japan's Literary Hermeneutics, rethink the notion of Japanese literature in light of recent findings on the ideological implications of canon formations and transformations within Japan's prominent literary circles.
Miriam Silverberg Collection
 |
A professor of history at UCLA, Miriam Silverberg was celebrated for her contributions to her writings on modern Japan. Her fresh insights and "avant-garde" approach to Japanese scholarship make her a stand-out academic in her field. She also directed the UCLA Center for Women's Studies from 2000-2003, establishing the CSW Workshop Project. Her research interests included militant Japanese women, Japanese popular culture, Nakano Shigeharu, Japanese colonialism, Korean modernity, and more. Image source: https://international.ucla.edu/media/images/MiriamSilverberg.jpg |
Click here to view the Miriam Silverberg collection in UC Library Search.
Erotic, Grotesque, Nonsense by ISBN: 0520222733Date: 2007-04-04This history of Japanese mass culture during the decades preceding Pearl Harbor argues that the new gestures, relationship, and humor of ero-guro-nansensu (erotic grotesque nonsense) expressed a self-consciously modern ethos that challenged state ideology and expansionism. Miriam Silverberg uses sources such as movie magazines, ethnographies of the homeless, and the most famous photographs from this era to capture the spirit, textures, and language of a time when the media reached all classes, connecting the rural social order to urban mores. Employing the concept of montage as a metaphor that informed the organization of Japanese mass culture during the 1920s and 1930s, Silverberg challenges the erasure of Japanese colonialism and its legacies. She evokes vivid images from daily life during the 1920s and 1930s, including details about food, housing, fashion, modes of popular entertainment, and attitudes toward sexuality. Her innovative study demonstrates how new public spaces, new relationships within the family, and an ironic sensibility expressed the attitude of Japanese consumers who identified with the modern as providing a cosmopolitan break from tradition at the same time that they mobilized for war.
Changing Song by ISBN: 9780691068169Date: 1990-02-21Nakano Shigeharu (1902-1979), leading twentieth-century Japanese poet and social critic, transformed the revolutionary culture movement of the 1920s. Positioning Nakano's thought within the very history of Japanese Marxism, Miriam Silverberg applies textual analyses to his pre-war writings to form a new perspective on the history of the politics and culture of the Japanese left. Her book relates Nakano to the Western Marxist tradition, recognizes the existence of a Japanese Marxist theory of commodity culture, and uses this theory to illuminate the era. In particular, Silverberg addresses how Nakano, like his European contemporaries, worked toward a critique of mass culture, illustrating how Japanese thinkers in the 1920s and 1930s adopted Marxism as the dominant method of political and intellectual inquiry. This book draws on Marx's writings and those of Georg LukNBcs, Walter Benjamin, Antonio Gramsci, Bertolt Brecht, and Mikhail Bakhtin to present Nakano as a Marxist critic and poet. Close readings of Nakano's essays, poems (most of them appearing for the first time in English), fiction, and prison letters trace Nakano's "changing song" or consciousness through four stages--from his "discovery of history" in the mid-1920s to his refusal to be silenced during the late 1930s, when he produced a series of scathing attacks on intensifying state repression.
小沢 昭一 | Shoichi Ozawa Memorial Collection
 |
Shoichi Ozawa (1929-2012) was an actor, poet, and essayist who graduated from Waseda University as a student of French literature. He established the first rakugo research group on campus, and trained as an actor during his time in university. He would go on to participate in the performing arts on stage, radio shows, television, and film. Later on in his career, he would continue to pursue his research in the traditional performing arts, touring Japan in order to begin collecting, preserving, and studying relevant materials. UCLA's collection (alongside the Honda Yasuji collection) was donated by Waseda University's Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum, and contains total 4,500 volumes of monographs and journals. It covers a vast expanse of the histories of smaller, rural performing arts, to more popular, urban entertainment such as rakugo. Image source: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/7/70/Shoichi_Ozawa.jpg/440px-Shoichi_Ozawa.jpg |
Click here to view the Shoichi Ozawa Memorial Collection in UC Library Search.
William M. Bodiford
  |
William Bodiford is a professor emeritus in the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures at UCLA. He primarily works on Soto Zen Buddhism, however he has published on a broad range of Buddhist topics spanning broadly from medieval to contemporary times. He is a member of the editorial boards of "Cursor Mundi: Viator Studies of the Medieval and Early Modern World” (UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies), “Studies in East Asian Buddhism”, and “Classics in East Asian Buddhism”.
Click here to view materials donated by Professor Bodiford. Click here to view the William M. Bodiford collection in UC Library Search. |
本田 安次 | Yasuji Honda Collection
 |
Yasuji Honda (1906-2001) graduated from Waseda University in 1929 as a student of literature. He is widely regarded as the leading expert on Japanese folk performing arts, and is a key figure in the revival movement. He became an authority on the categorization of types of folk arts, creating the most comprehensive list of folk performing arts in Japan. Yasuji's research has been a cornerstone of modern Japan's understanding of performing arts. He would later serve as a professor at Waseda and also as a member of the Council for Cultural Affairs, and has received numerous accolades for his work. UCLA's collection was donated by Waseda University's Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum, and contains total 4,500 volumes of monographs and journals. It covers a vast expanse of the histories of smaller, rural performing arts, to more popular, urban entertainment such as rakugo. Image source: https://m.media-amazon.com/images/I/51GHCCNYWRL._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_.jpg |
Click here to view the Yasuji Honda collection in UC Library Search.
- 本田安次著作集 : 日本の傳統藝能 byISBN: 9784764605015Date: 1993-2000The Collected Works of Yasuji Honda: Traditional Japanese Noh
ヨシダ・ヨシエ | Yoshie Yoshida Papers
 |
Yoshie Yoshida (1929-2016) was an avant-garde art critic and curator whose work spanned the arts, dance, and other subcultures. In 1961, he became a member of the Art Critics Association. As a curator and event/exhibit organizer active in political and performance art circles, his collection contains monographs, serials and audiovisual materials, scrapbooks, article clippings, exhibition programs, posters and correspondences. Image source: https://blogimg.goo.ne.jp/user_image/26/90/9ca185159212cad3e7029691bcb660e7.jpg |
Click here to view the Yoshie Yoshida Collection in UC Library Search.
Click here to view the Yoshida (Yoshie) papers finding aide in OAC.