Skip to main content

Japanese Studies

Japanese Art Collection with a Focus on Buddhist Art

  • 栂尾コレクションToganoo Collection

A collection of 栂尾祥雲Toganoo Shoun (1881-1953), hingon Buddhist monk/scholar/librarian at Koyasan University.  This collection made a foundation for the Japanese collection at UCLA. Search by Toganoo Collection. 248 titles.

BQ6353.N372T637 1649 | Buddhist temples—Japan, Todaiji—History | Manuscript 栂尾コレクション Ref. No. 0226 in カリフォルニア大学ロサンゼルス校所蔵日本古典籍目録Catalog of rare Japanese materials at the University of California, Los Angeles / 鈴木淳、三木身保子 (p. 45).  

BQ1875.I37 1616 (v.1-2) | Tripitaka Sutrapitaka Mahāvairocanasūtra—Commentary |大毘盧遮那経 (大日経; Mahavairocana Tantra)、栂尾コレクション、高野版, 粘葉装 Ref. No. 1264, 1265, and 1265 in カリフォルニア大学ロサンゼルス校所蔵日本古典籍目録Catalog of rare Japanese materials at the University of California, Los Angeles / 鈴木淳、三木身保子 (p. 242-243). 

YRL Special Collections Safe | Tripiṭaka. Sūtrapiṭaka. Saddharmapuṇḍarīkasūtra 法蓮華経 (Lotus sutra) Manuscript | a 24-ft long scroll, part of the complete 28 chapters text of the Lotus Sutra, presented in 1667 by the Emperor Gomizonoo後水尾天皇 (1596-1680) as a gift for the Shogun Tokugawa. Acquired by Richard C. Rudolph, the founder of the East Asian Library, in 1962. Ref. W. Bodiford. In The world from here: treasures of the great libraries of Los Angeles (p. [406]-408).

BQ1670.R373C66 YRL Special Collections Safe | Mahayana Buddhist dharani in print and miniature stupa | One of the surviving wooden pagodas of the one million commissioned by Empress Shotoku 称徳天皇in the 8th century Japan. Ref. S. Edgren. In The world from here: treasures of the great libraries of Los Angeles (p. [107]-109). Image

Loading ...

Core Journals (Western Languages)

Here is a list of major journals in Japanese literary studies and Japanese aesthetics:

Philosophy and Religion

RSS feed is available from 雑誌記事索引採録誌一覧.

Bibliographies

Here is a short list of bibliographies and indexes for Buddhist studies:

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Directories/Handbooks/Guides

Buddhism

Christianity

Shintō