Skip to main content

Japanese Studies

Zadankai & Prange Exhibit (2016 May)

Spring 2016

CCD Documents

Articles on Ethnicity: Tamashii (The Soul)

Articles on Ethnicity: Minshu Chosen (Democratic Korea)

Poem "Yakeato" (The Aashes)

Articles on Ethnicity: Chosen Shin Minpo (New Peoples Magazine-Korea)

Kokusai (The International)

Articles on Class and Gender

Directives & Important Releases of GHQ

Zadankai 1

Zadankai 2

Zadankai 3

Zadankai 4

Zadankai 5

Zadankai 6

Zadankai 7

Ricahrd C. Rudolph East Asian Library

Michiko Takeuchi, Professor of History at California State University, Long Beach

Receives the National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship for her research project

NEH announcement 12-13-2017

List of award recipients (Find her name on page 5)

"The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent federal agency created in 1965. It is one of the largest funders of humanities programs in the United States. The Fellowships for Advanced Social Science Research on Japan program is a joint activity of the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission (JUSFC) and the National Endowment for the Humanities."

She is one of our "Prange" researchers and speakers at the Zadankai I in 2016, (see the next box below).

Gordon W. Prange Collection

How to Access the East Asian Library's Prange Microform Collection

  1. Search in the 20th Century Media Information Database 20世紀メディア情報データベース or other bibliographies/indexes. Email me your request with 請求番号 and 巻号 and the date of your visit before you come to the library. I’ll have your microfiches/microfilm reels ready for you in a box.
  2. Please keep your microfiches/microfilm reels in the same box and store them in the cabinet until you’re done.
  3. Email me when you’re done and/or when you want other titles.

About Gordon W. Prange Collection

The most comprehensive print media archive of occupied Japan, the Gordon W. Prange Collection covers a period of Japan's reconstruction from the end of imperial Japan to the beginning of the Cold War era. During the period of 4 years immediately after World War II from September 1945 through November 1949, all publications were censored in Japan. Pre-publication materials in manuscript, galley proof, or print form were submitted by publishers for review to the Civil Censorship Detachment (CCD) Press, Pictorial and Broadcasting Division, a unit overseen by the Office of the Chief of Counter-Intelligence in General Headquarters (GHQ) of the United States Army Forces, Pacific, under General Douglas MacArthur, the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP). The CCD censored civilian communications including correspondence, telecommunication, press, radio broadcasting and films. Thus collected materials were brought out from Japan to the United States in 1950 by G. W. Prange (1910-1980), chief of historical staff who served for the U.S. Army from 1946 to 1951 and history professor of the University of Maryland where they are curated. Allied occupation of Japan lasted for 6 years and 8 months from September 2, 1945 to April 28, 1952.

  • Original materials held at: Prange Collection, Hornbake Library, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742.
  • Microform copies of periodicals (magazines and newspapers) held at: the East Asian Collection, McKeldin Library of the University of Maryland, the National Diet Library (NDL), the International Research Center for Japanese Studies, Kumamoto Gakuen University, Waseda University, UCLA, Harvard University, University of Michigan, University of Pennsylvania (newspapers only) and Yale University.
  • Digital copies of 20,000 items including 8,000 children’s books, 6,000 magazines and 6,000 books viewable onsite at: the University of Maryland and NDL.

The processing began in 1962, the collection was named after Dr. Prange in 1978, and through collaboration with NDL cataloging and microfilming began in 1992. The collection contains:

  • 71,000 titles of books and pamphlets (digitization began in 2005 and 8,000 children’s books digitization completed; viewable onsite at the University of Maryland and NDL; 1,000 titles received some forms of censorship)
  • 18,000 titles of newspapers (microfilming began in 1992 and completed in 1999)
  • 13,800 titles of magazines (microfilmed in 1992-2001)
  • 640 maps
  • 285 political posters (90) and wall newspapers (a selection microfilmed and some digitized viewable onsite at the University of Maryland)
  • 10,000 news photographs (submitted in 1948-49 by news agencies Kyodo Tsushin共同通信, Jiji Tsushin 時事通信 and Sun サン)
  • 140 ephemera items (fliers, minutes and leaflets; digitized and viewable onsite at Prange Collection and NDL) and
  • 600,000-page censorship documents indicating deletion, changes or suppression of publications which accompany the censored items.

[Censored against violation of the Code for Japanese Press by the Civil Censorship Detachment (CCD) under the SCAP Press, Publication and Broadcast Division (PPB) located at General Headquarters, the Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (GHQ/SCAP) 連合国最高司令官総司令部 in Tokyo between October 1945 and November 1949.]

Code for Japanese Press” (21 Sept 1945)

  1. News must adhere strictly to the truth.
  2. Nothing should be printed which might, directly or indirectly disturb the public tranquility.
  3. There shall be no false or destructive criticism of the Allied Powers.
  4. There shall be no destructive criticism of the Allied Occupation and nothing which might invite mistrust or resentment of those troops.
  5. There shall be no mention or discussion of Allied troops movement unless such movements have been officially released.
  6. News stories must be factually written and completely devoid of editorial opinion.
  7. News stories shall not be colored to conform with any propaganda line.
  8. Minor details of a news story must not be over-emphasized to stress or develop any propaganda line.
  9. No news story shall be distorted by the omission of pertinent facts or details.
  10. In the make-up of the newspaper no news story shall be given undue prominence for the purpose of establishing or developing any propaganda line.

 

Listings of Children’s Books of the Prange Collection provided by the National Diet Library:

Inventories of News Photographs provided by Prange Collection:

Guides and Other Relevant Publications

 

 

University of Maryland Gordon W. Prange Collection

Other Resources

  • U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA): E.g., “Records of Allied Operational and Occupation Headquarters, World War II” (Record Group 331). 331.36 “General Records of General Headquarters Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (GHQ SCAP) 1945-52” 22 lin. ft.; held at College Park and Washington, DC.
    [Linear feet: a measurement of length of front shelf space. A full-size document box (“Hollinger” box) is 5” on the side, that is .42 lin. ft. Documents of 22 lin. ft. (22x30.48cm =670.56cm) take about 6.7m of shelf space or about (22/.42=52.38) 53 Hollinger boxes.]
  • The MacArthur Memorial: E.g., “RG-5 Records of General Headquarters, Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers (SCAP); 1945-1951” 122 boxes 57 lin. ft. (57x30.48=1,737.36; about 17.4m shelf-space materials stored in 122 boxes—not all in Hollinger-type boxes, would be 136 boxes)
  • Australian War Memorial

Howard Rovelstad, University of Maryland Libraries Director, with Prange shipment from Japan (1953)

Courtesy of Gordon W. Prange Collection, University of Maryland Libraries

Loading

Zadankai I: Class, Gender and Ethnicity in Postwar Japan

座談会 戦後日本の階級・ジェンダー・民族
Zadankai: Class, Gender and Ethnicity in Postwar Japan

時: Wednesday, May 4th 2016 1pm - 3 pm

場所: UCLA Young Research Library West Classroom (YRL Rm 23167)

UCLA East Asian Library (EAL), the only holding library in the West of the Mississippi of Gordon W. Prange microform collection (13,783 magazines and 18,047 newspapers and newsletters censored in occupied Japan between 1945 and 1949), has served students and scholars beyond UCLA becoming a major hub for postwar Japanese studies.  The EAL provides a venue for free academic discussions for those “Prange” scholars to exchange and share their views and research.  Inviting Kōji TOBA, Professor of Literature at Waseda University and Yanai Visiting Professor (Spring 2016) with research interests in Kōbō Abe and Minpei Sugiura, zadankai or an impromptu round-table talk is organized.  Joining scholars to the table are Kristine DENNEHY, Professor of History at California State University, Fullerton with research interests in zainichi Koreans and Asian history pedagogy, and Michiko TAKEUCHI, Professor of History at California State University, Long Beach with research interests in pan-pan girls and oral history.  Their free-floating discussion will be facilitated by UCLA Professor of History, Katsuya HIRANO.  

Concurrent exhibit at the East Asian Library

Professor TAKEUCHI

<Books/Chapters/Dissertations>

<Periodicals>

<Articles from the Prange Collection>

  • パンパン嬢座談会 / 絵・榎本映一. 『仮面』 (1948 Mar 20) 編集者:森本繫朗;発行者:株式会社ぷろふいる社
    第三巻第二号3月号 通間7号 ページ22-25 請求番号 K349 検閲:無
  • 闇の女の生態:大東京裏の裏 / 金丸三平. 『娯楽雑誌近代=Kindai』 (1948 Feb 1) 
    第1巻1号 ページ24-26 請求番号 K1075 検閲:無

Professor DENNEHY

<Books/Chapters/Dissertations>

<Articles from the Prange Collection>

  • See "Lists of Magazines and Newspapers" tab above for Korean-related titles

Professor TOBA

<Books>

<References>

<Serial Reprints>

<Multi-Volume Sets>

<Single Monographs>

<Articles from the Prange Collection>

On Class:

  • 浮浪者露店犯罪を語る: 上野署座談会 / 池田惠三郎[上野警察署長], 鈴木正[保安主任], 荒木忠藏[捜査主任], 森育三[自警会主事], 峡恒介[本誌記者]. 『自警=JIKEI』 (1946 April 1) 財団法人自警会[発行]
    第28巻第2号 4月号 ページ 6-16 請求番号 J96 検閲:有
  • 職場座談会: 国鉄ではこうたたかつている / 金井克己[党科学技術部], 池内達郎[代々木診療所], 藤田一雄[京浜地区委員会], 山本啓吉[国鉄技術研究所], 山田一男[国鉄新鶴見], 外15名[機関区勤務]. 『科学と技術』 (1948 Aug 1) 日本共産党出版部[発行]   
    第9号 9月号 ページ 4-12 請求番号 K81 検閲:有
  • 開拓地の人々囲む座談会: 多難の道を越えて開拓農業は進む. 『産業南日本』 (1948 April 1) 南日本新聞東部支社[発行]
    第3巻第4号 4 ページ 4-7 請求番号 S173 検閲:有

On Gender:

  • (検閲前) 座談会: (検閲前) 日本婦人は解放されたか / 鷺沼登美枝[東京日日新聞社], 谷口みどり[産別婦人対策部長], 小松愛子[家庭学園], 佐藤さち子[婦人民主クラブ], 江上フジ[日本放送協会], 神崎清[司会], 内山恭[実業之日本社]. 『婦人の世紀』 (1947 Sept 30) 実業之日本社[発行]
    第3号 3 ページ0  (検閲後 ページ63-75) 請求番号 F76 検閲:有  
  • 働く娘の座談会. 『主婦之友=THE SHUFU-NO-TOMO(Home journal for ladies)』 (1947 Feb 1) 株式会社主婦之友社[発行]  
    第31巻第2号 2月号 ページ0 請求番号 S2304 検閲:有

On Ethnicity:

  • 座談会:在日外国人の出路 / 尾崎庄太郎, 塩脇幸四郎[日本側:中国研究所理事, 中国研究所貿易委員会], 李殷直, 許南麒, 魚塘[朝鮮側:朝連東京本部文教部長, 在日本朝鮮人連合中央本部文教次長, 朝連教材編纂委員会], 黄廷富, 甘文芳, 田宝民, 劉啓盛[中国側:留日華僑総会会長, 留日華僑総会副会長, 同右社会組長, 同右経済組長], 陳蕚芳, 呉修竹, 蔡錦聴外[司会者]. 『中国公論』 (1949 Jan 1) 留日華僑総会社会組[発行]
    第2巻第1号 1月特大号 ページ3-17 請求番号 C236 検閲:有
  • (検閲前)東洋民主主義革命の進展(座談会) / 中国側:劉明電, 黄廷富, 甘文芳, 楊春松, 頼貴富, 日本側:平野義太郎, 鹿地亘, 中野重治, 中西成功, 朝鮮側:甲鴻湊, 白武, 尹鳳求, 本社側:曽徳銖, 元容徳ほか. 『民主朝鮮』 (1947 Aug 1) 朝鮮文化社[発行] 
    第2巻第13号 8月号 ページ0 (検閲後 ページ4-17) 請求番号 M392 検閲:有

See the image

  • Bungei Seiki 文芸世紀 Century of Literature, Vol. 8 No. 1 (Jan 1946) 東京都 
    GHQ censorship document signed by Terasawa; article “Criticism on new Japanese literature” disapproved due to its press code violation by nationalistic expressions.
  • Jidōsha-Kai 自動車会 The Automobile World, Vol. 1 No. 3 (Aug 1947) 東京都
    GHQ censorship document signed by K. Harada; serial article “Automobile industry romance” deleted due to its press violation by propaganda line.
  • Josei Kaizō 女性改造 Women’s Reconstruction, Vol. 3 No. 10 (Oct 1948) 東京都
    GHQ censorship document signed by H. Masao and Furukawa; article “Lost reason 失われた理性” disapproved due to its press code violation by criticism of Russia.
  • Waseda Bungaku 早稲田文学 The Waseda Literature, Vol. 16 No. 3 (June 1949) 東京都
    GHQ censorship document signed by S. Kumano; article “My impression on Uchimura Kanzō 内村鑑三雑感” violates press code by criticism of U.S.A.
  • Seitetsu Bunka 製鉄文化 Culture of Ironworks, No. 1 (Apr 1949) 福岡県八幡
    GHQ censorship document signed by Kojiro Sada; articles with possible press code violations.
  • Gekkan Yomiuri 月刊読売 Monthly Magazine Yomiuri, Vol. 4 No. 7 (June 1946) 東京都
    GHQ censorship document signed by R. Kimishima; articles “Contemporaries,” “Advancement of women,” “My one year at Stockholm” and “Transition period (story)” deleted due to their press code violation by criticism of Allies.
  • Tamashii 魂 The Soul, Vol. 15 No. 167 (Apr 1946) 東京都
    Cover, a table of contents, an article “Gratitude to Gen. MacArthur マ元師へ感謝:連合軍歓迎,” and GHQ censorship document on disapproved lines about their press violations by disturbing public tranquility signed by W. Sera.
  • Minshu Chōsen 民主朝鮮 Democratic Korea, Vol. 2 No. 9 (Apr 1947)] 横須賀市
    Cover, a poem “The Ashes 焼跡” by In Shien 尹紫遠, preface “Appeal to Japanese intellectuals: resisting suppression of ethnic education 日本の文化人に訴う:民族教育弾厭に抗して” and afterword by Editor Kimu Tarusu 金達壽, and GHQ censorship document about possible press violations signed by Nobunari Ichikawa.
  • Chōsen Shin Minpō 朝鮮新民報 New Peoples Magazine (Korean), Initial issue (Nov 1946) 東京都
    Cover, censored articles and GHQ censorship document about their press code violations by causing resentment and criticism against Allies signed by R. Kiriyama and by M. Hori on resubmitted items.
  • Kokusai 国際 The International, Shinnengō (Jan 1948) 東京都
    Cover, a replaced article “Reports on the Inquiry of the North-West Districts along the back coast of Japan 裏日本探訪記” by John Rich, INS Staff Correspondent, and GHQ censorship document on J. Rich’s article and a suppressed article “An interview with Saburo KURUS, the former envoy to the U.S.” by Frank Emery, INS, and about their press code violations by criticisms of occupation singed by S. Hakajima.
  • Shūkan Makkāsā Shireibu Jūyō Happyō oyobi Shirē 週刊マッカーサー司令部重要発表及指令 Directives & Important Releases of G.H.Q., No. 8: Aug 12-17 (1946 August 23) Tokyo
    Bilingual weekly newsletter of G.H.Q.; miscellaneous articles on display (p. 6-9 and 12-13: “Repatriation directive to all Ryukyuan 全琉球人の引揚指令,” etc.; p. 8-11: “Second warrant to construction of fishing boats 第二回漁業船建造許可," etc.; p. 92-95: "Huge release of canned foods this month OK’d by SCAP, etc.)
  • Tōkyō Shūhō 東京週報 Tokyo Weekly, No. 1-2 (Dec 1947) 東京都
     “People in need of help: delinquent youth, orphans, and prostitutes 救ひを求める人々:不良青少年・孤児・浮浪兒・ヤミの女” by Toshio Tomidaira, Tokyo Metropolitan Government Bureau of Labor Contract Agent 東京都労働局嘱託 下平富司夫, p. 3-11
  • Kindai 娯楽雑誌近代 Modern, Vol. 1 No. 1 (Feb 1948) 東京都
    “Truth about women of the street: exposing the seamy side of Great Tokyo 闇の女の生態:大東京裏の裏,” p. 24-26
  • Iye-no-Hikari 家の光 Light of Home, Vol. 24 No. 6 (June 1948) 東京都
    “Improved standard of life for women workers at textile factory in Toyama Prefecture 働きよくなった女工生活:富山紡小山工場カメラ訪問,” p. 1-3
  • Kamen 仮面 The Mask, Vol. 3 No. 2 (Mar 1948) 東京都
    “Pan-pan girl zadankai (round-table talk) パンパン嬢座談会,” p. 22-25
  • Nippon Yūmoa 日本ユーモア The Japan Humor, Vol. 4 No. 5 (Jul-Aug 1949) 東京都
    “School for pan-pan girls at port city: English lesson by Teacher Den ミナト都市のパンパン学校:デン先生の英語授業,” p. 68

Zadankai Handout: Two Prange articles (scroll down or open the link)

Loading