Swiss Film Resources
The Swiss Cinema by ISBN: 3908102642Date: 1998For a hundred years, the Swiss cinema has navigated the brink of silence. Because of the country's three cultures, there is no single domestic market big enough to sustain a film industry. Consequently, the cinema has remained a hand-crafted art. Twice it has flourished — the first time, during the Second World War, by dint of outside circumstances; the second, in the narrowly defined but amiable freedom of the Seventies. Amid the turbulent changes affecting the media at the close of the 20th century. The Swiss cinema is looking for a place of its own, a place where it can be open to Europa and yet remain secure in its independence.
Trente ans de cinéma suisse: 1965-1995 by ISBN: 9782858508235Date: 1995Contient la filmographie de Jean-François Amiguet, Jean-Luc Godard, Anne-Marie Miéville, Francis Reusser, Jacqueline Veuve.- Cinéma Suisse: Nouvelles Approches: histoire — esthétique — critique — thèmes — matériaux byISBN: 9782601032758Date: 2000
- Subdued Passions: A Season of Swiss Cinema byDate: 1996Published in conjunction with a film exhibition shown at the National Film Theatre, London in 1996.
"The Surveillance of Film Festivals in Switzerland: The Case of Locarno International Film Festival" in Cultural Transfer and Political Conflicts: Film Festivals in the Cold War by ISBN: 9783847105886Date: 2017-07-17Film festivals during the Cold War were fraught with the political and social tensions that dominated the world at the time. While film was becoming an increasingly powerful medium, the European festivals in particular established themselves as showcases for filmmakers and their perceptions of reality. Features the following chapter on Swiss Film by John Wäfler: "The surveillance of film festivals in Switzerland: The Case of Locarno International Film Festival."
Early video art and experimental film networks : French-speaking Switzerland in 1974 : a case for "minor history" by ISBN: 9782970115700Date: 2017Early Video Art and Experimental Films Networks traces the diffuse international networks through which video art and experimental films circulated during the late sixties and early seventies. It explores forgotten exhibitions both in Switzerland and France, the activities of public television channels and alternative art spaces in the US, a production art center dedicated to video in Italy and an Argentinian collective of conceptual artists, aiming to shed new light on the production and diffusion of moving images.
"Precarity and Paradox in Swiss Cinema" in Precarity in European Film by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783110707816As far as national stereotypes go, Switzerland is not likely to be associated at first glance with precarity—either in general terms or as a central theme for its artistic output. Its branding is dominated by luxury goods such as high-end watches, fine chocolate, and expensive Alpine ski holidays. And with an economy based to a large extent on the banking and finance sector (with its infamous secrecy laws), Big Pharma, the arms industry, and commodities trading, Switzerland is more likely to be viewed as a culprit in perpetuating poverty, precarity, and inequality abroad, as the flip side of the affluence and security enjoyed within its borders.
A Possible Cinema: The Films of Alain Tanner by ISBN: 9780810817142Date: 1995-05-30Examines the work of Alain Tanner, the most important filmmaker to emerge from the new Swiss cinema in the late 1960s.
Revisioning Europe: The Films of John Berger and Alain Tanner by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781552385500Date: 2012-01-12Revisioning Europe: The Films of John Berger and Alain Tanner, is among the few existing English-language discussions of the films made by British novelist John Berger and Swiss film director Alain Tanner. It brings to light a political cinema that was unsentimental about the possibilities of revolutionary struggle and unsparing in its critique of the European left, and at the same time optimistic about the ability of radicalism - and radical art - to transform the world. Jerry White argues that Berger and Tanner's work is preoccupied with ideas that were both central to the Enlightenment and at the same time characteristically Swiss.
Two Bicycles: he Work of Jean-Luc Godard and Anne-Marie Miéville by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781554589357Date: 2013-08-30Jean-Luc Godard and Anne-Marie Miéville are among the most important postwar filmmakers; they have worked across forms, across media, and across countries. This book, the first to be devoted specifically to the work they did together, examines the way they expanded the possibilities of cinema by using cutting-edge video equipment in a constant search for a new kind of filmmaking. Two Bicycles examines all of the films, videos, and television works that the two did together, and moves slowly across France and Switzerland, with detours in Quebec, Mozambique, and Palestine. Overall the book shows the degree to which this work departs radically from the legacy of the French New Wave, and in many ways shows signs of having been formed by the distinct culture of Switzerland, to which Godard and Miéville returned in the 1970s to set up their ""atelier,"" Sonimage.
- Das Boot ist voll / "The Boat Is Full" (dir. Markus Imhoof, 1981)
- This link opens in a new window
- North Face (dir. Philipp Stölzl, 2008)
- This link opens in a new window
- Sister / "L’Enfant d’en Haut" (dir. Ursula Meier, 2012)
- This link opens in a new window
- More than Honey (dir. Markus Imhoofs, 2012)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Circle / "Der Kreis" (dir. Stefan Haupt, 2014)
- This link opens in a new window
- Clouds of Sils Maria (dir. Olivier Assayas, 2014)
- This link opens in a new window
- Those Who Are Fine / "Dene wos guet geit" (dir. Cyril Schäublin, 2017)
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources on Selected Major Swiss Films
Eye on the World: Conversations with International Filmmakers by ISBN: 9781879505360Date: 1997-04-01Includes more than 200 film makers from forty countries who are included in this engrossing look at cinemas around the world, including an interview with Swiss filmmaker Markus Imhoff.
- Arbeitsgemeinschaft Cinema (Switzerland) Arbeitsgemeinschaft Cinema (Switzerland); Basel : Stroemfeld/Roter Stern; Zürich : Chronos; Marburg : Schüren 1961. In French and German, with summaries in both languages, ; in German, with some also in English,
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- Jahrbuch der Schweizer Filmindustrie. Annuaire de la cinématographie suisse. Annuario della cinematografia svizzera. Swiss cinematographic year-book Available Arts Library Cage, contact us at arts-circ@library.ucla.edu to inquire about access to this item PN1993.3 .J28
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Schweizer Filme = Swiss films Published by Zürich : Swiss Film Center; Lausanne : Swiss Short Film Agency. Text in English, French, and German.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
- Cinematheque Suiss The Swiss Film Archive is a Swiss state-approved noncommercial foundation based in Lausanne. Its aims are to collect, protect, study and present film archives.
- Swiss Films SWISS FILMS is the national agency for the promotion of films made in Switzerland.
- Swiss Film and Video Directory The Swiss Film and Video Directory is a checklist of motion picture films and videos shot in Switzerland or by Swiss directors or photographers.
- Switzerland Film Commission Switzerland Film Commissions is a network of 3 Film Commissions and 5 Regional Contacts.
- Swiss Films — Short Film Library The Short Film Library provides festival delegates, sales agents, cinema operators, distributors and film journalists with access to an extensive viewing.
- Locarno Film Festival Over the course of its 75-year history, the Locarno Film Festival has become one of the most important film events in the world, in one of the most charming locations. Situated between the lake and the mountains, every summer the entire Swiss-Italian city, in the heart of Europe, turns into the capital of international cinema, bringing the most innovative visions to the screen.
- House of Switzerland - "A brief (and thrilling) history of Swiss cinema" Swiss cinema is modest compared to the big guns in Hollywood, but it plays a crucial role in defining the country's identity. Join us for a look at some of the key films from each period.
Selected Swiss Films
Das Boot ist voll / "The Boat Is Full" (dir. Markus Imhoof, 1981)
"Nominated for an Academy Award® for Best Foreign Language Film (1981), THE BOAT IS FULL is a tense and heartbreaking drama that captures the plight of refugees during WWII. A ragtag band of exiles from Germany sneak into Switzerland seeking asylum. "
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Sister / "L’Enfant d’en Haut" (dir. Ursula Meier, 2012)
"Simon (Kacey Mottet Klein) lives with his older sister (Léa Seydoux) in a housing complex below a luxury Swiss ski resort. With his sister drifting in and out of jobs and relationships, twelve-year-old Simon takes on the responsibility of providing for the two of them."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Those Who Are Fine / "Dene wos guet geit" (dir. Cyril Schäublin, 2017)
"Using her skills of selling internet and insurance deals, young call center employee Alice calls up elderly strangers and pretends to be their granddaughter in urgent need of money. As this trick quickly makes her rich, the film observes people and places in Zürich, all mysteriously connected to Alice’s business."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
More than Honey (dir. Markus Imhoff, 2012)
"A comprehensive look at the plight of endangered honeybees around the globe and the potential effects of their extinction. The film considers the scientific, environmental and economic implications of the honeybee epidemic while pushing for a profound understanding of bees on a deeper, often forgotten level."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.