Dutch Film Resources
The Cinema of the Low Countries by ISBN: 9781904764007Date: 2004-09-29Films of the Low Countries have long been regarded as isolated texts. This book points to the interconnectedness between Low Countries films from different genres, regions, languages, and formats. Building on each film's relationship with its particular cultural context, the volume presents twenty-four especially commisioned essays by renowned writers, each one focusing on one key film. The volume covers the work of internationally acclaimed directors such as Joris Ivens, Henri Storck, Paul Verhoeven, and the Dardenne Brothers. Key films discussed include Turkish Delight, The Vanishing, Daughters of Darkness, Character, Rosetta, and Man Bites Dog.
Celluloid Colony: Locating History and Ethnography in Early Dutch colonial Films of Indonesia by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9789813251380Date: 2021-05-20How should colonial film archives be read? How can historians and ethnographers use colonial film as a complement to conventional written sources? Sandeep Ray uses the case of Dutch colonial film in Indonesia to show how a critically, historically, and cinematically informed reading of colonial film in the archive can be a powerful and unexpected source.
Cinematic Rotterdam: the Times and Tides of a Modern City by ISBN: 9789064507663Date: 2013-04-30Cinematic Rotterdam explores the role that cinema played in Rotterdam's urban development between 1920 and 1980. Exploring the city's backdrop in a variety of feature films and avant-garde classics, it also describes how the city has established and maintained its identity through thousands of promotional and educational films and television programs.
Dutch Post-War Fiction Film Through a Lens of Psychoanalysis by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9048551722Date: 2021-05-04It is an oft-voiced claim that Dutch cinema strongly adheres to realism, but psychoanalytic theories on desire and fantasy are employed to put this idea into perspective. In the vein of cinephilia, this study brings together canonical titles (ALS TWEE DRUPPELS WATER; SOLDAAT VAN ORANJE) and little gems (MONSIEUR HAWARDEN; KRACHT).
Film Museum Practice and Film Historiography: The Case of the Nederlands Filmmuseum (1946-2000) by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9789089648266Date: 2017-05-08Exploring the history of several important collections from the EYE Film Museum in Amsterdam, Bregt Lameris shows how archival films and collections always carry the historical traces of selection policies, restoration philosophies, and exhibition strategies.
Humour and Irony in Dutch Post-War Fiction Film by ISBN: 9789089649430Date: 2016-01-15Dutch cinema, when discussed, is typically treated only in terms of pre-war films or documentaries, leaving post-war fictional film largely understudied. At the same time, a "Hollandse school," a term first coined in the 1980s, has developed through deadpan, ironic films like those of director and actor Alex van Warmerdam. Using seminal theories on humour and comedy, this book explores a number of Dutch films using the notion of categories, such as low-class comedies, neurotic romances, deliberate camp, and grotesque satire.
Images of Occupation in Dutch Film: Memory, Myth, and the Cultural Legacy of War by ISBN: 9789089648549Date: 2017-05-24The German occupation of the Netherlands during World War II left a lasting mark on Dutch memory and culture. This book is the first to explore depictions of that period in films made a generation later, between 1962 and 1986.
Jean Desmet's Dream Factory by ISBN: 9789462081741Date: 2015-03-24The early twentieth-century film industry grew with the help of passionate entrepreneurs like Jean Desmet (1875-1956), who went from being a carnival showman to one of the Netherlands' leading cinema operators, and finally became the country's first professional film distributor.
Jean Desmet and the Early Dutch Film Trade by ISBN: 9789053564639Date: 2003-02-01The Netherlands Film Museum's Desmet Collection contains the estate of Dutch cinema owner and film distributor Jean Desmet (1875-1956): almost nine hundred European and American films of all genres, a collection of publicity material, and a massive business archive. These three sources form the basis of this book, the first comprehensive reconstruction of Desmet's career.
Nationalism in Contemporary Western European Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783319736662Date: 2018-07-10This book investigates screen representations of 21st century nationalism--arguably the most urgent and apparent phenomenon in the Western world today. The chapters explore recurrent thematic and stylistic features of 21st century western European cinema, and analyse the ways in which film responds to contemporary developments of mounting tensions and increasing hostilities to difference.- Verboden voor Joden : de bioscoop in de oorlog byISBN: 9789059118423Date: 2009A historical survey of the Dutch film industry during the German occupation.
The Conscience of Cinema: The Films of Joris Ivens 1912-1989 by ISBN: 9789089647535Date: 2016-06-17This is the first book to survey the entire career of Joris Ivens, a prolific documentary filmmaker who worked on every continent over the course of seven decades. More than a biography of a leftist committed to changing the world through film, The Conscience of Cinema is also a microcosmic history of the documentary and its form, culture, and place within twentieth-century world cinema.
Living Dangerously: A Biography of Joris Ivens by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9053563881Date: 2000-06-01The Dutch film maker Joris Ivens (1898-1989) was one of the founding fathers of documentary film. The career of this eternal traveller spanned over sixty years, from his first film in the twenties to his last, finished at the age of ninety. Among Ivens's friends and collaborators were leading filmmakers and actors like Eisenstein, Pudovkin, Dovzhenko, Chaplin, Milestone, Capra, Losey, Flaherty, Grierson, De Santis, the Taviani brothers, Signoret, Montand and Marker.
Paul Verhoeven by ISBN: 9783822831014Date: 2005-05-01Known for always pushing the envelope when it comes to showing sex and violence on screen, Paul Verhoeven has directed controversial films in several genres, including the erotic thriller (Basic Instinct), melodrama (Showgirls) and science fiction (RoboCop, Total Recall, Starship Troopers, Hollow Man). However, even before going to Hollywood, Verhoeven had been a succ's de scandale in his native Netherlands, where he directed a war saga (Soldier of Orange), a medieval epic (Flesh+Blood), a psychosexual thriller (The Fourth Man) and a sex comedy (Turkish Delight, which was voted Best Dutch Film of the Century at the Netherlands Film Festival).
Paul Verhoeven: Interviews by ISBN: 9781496810151Date: 2016-12-26After a robust career in the Netherlands as the country's most successful director, Paul Verhoeven (b. 1938) built an impressive career in the United States with such controversial blockbusters as RoboCop, Total Recall, Basic Instinct, Starship Troopers, and Showgirls before returning home to direct 2006's Black Book.
- Pastorale 1943 (dir. Wim Verstappen, 1978)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Vanishing (dir. George Sluizer, 1988)
- This link opens in a new window
- Antonia's Line (dir. Marleen Gorris, 1995)
- This link opens in a new window
- Tricked (Paul Verhoeven, 2012)
- This link opens in a new window
- Borgman (dir. Alex van Warmerdam, 2013)
- This link opens in a new window
- Import (dir. Ena Sendijarević, 2016)
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources on Selected Major Dutch Films
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- FRANCIS This link opens in a new window An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- Europeana Includes digitized books, paintings, photographs, recordings and films from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organisations across Europe.
Selected Dutch Films
Pastorale 1943 (dir. Wim Verstappen, 1978)
"In a Dutch village during the German occupation, a small group of badly organized resistance fighters attempt to assassinate a collaborator."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The Vanishing (dir. George Sluizer, 1988)
"A young man embarks on an obsessive search for the girlfriend who mysteriously disappeared while the couple were taking a sunny vacation trip, and his three-year investigation draws the attention of her abductor, a mild-mannered professor with a clinically diabolical mind."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Antonia's Line (dir. Marleen Gorris, 1995)
"In the aftermath of WWII, strong-willed Antonia returns to her small hometown where she has inherited her mother’s farm. Antonia, joined by her free-spirited artist daughter Danielle, ingratiate themselves with the town’s tight-knit and eccentric community."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Tricked (Paul Verhoeven, 2012)
"Part behind-the-scenes documentary, part narrative feature, Paul Verhoeven's TRICKED is the result of an ambitious experiment in filmmaking. The first section follows director Paul Verhoeven (Elle) as he navigates the production of a crowd-sourced film."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Borgman (dir. Alex van Warmerdam, 2013)
"A dark suburban fable exploring the nature of evil in unexpected places, BORGMAN follows an enigmatic vagrant who enters the lives of an upper-class family and quickly unravels their carefully curated lifestyle."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Import (dir. Ena Sendijarević, 2016)
"A young Bosnian refugee family ends up in a small village in the Netherlands after getting a residence permit in 1994. Absurd situations arise as they are trying to make this new world their home."