Norwegian Film Resources
- Straight from the heart: modern Norwegian cinema, 1971-1999 byISBN: 8290823517Date: 1999Peter Cowie has followed the renaissance in Norwegian cinema since the early 1970s, in in this lavishly-illustrated volumes he describes the themes and personalities involved.
- Bedre enn sitt rykte: en liten norsk filmhistorie byISBN: 8290463693Date: 1997A study of Norwegian film history.
Northern Constellations by ISBN: 9781870041638Date: 2006-09-04An anthology of essays on film from Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
Transnational Cinema in a Global North by ISBN: 0814332439Date: 2005-02-28Scholarly writing on Nordic cinema has historically focused on such auteurs as Carl Dreyer and Ingmar Bergman. Recent work has neglected to contextualize contemporary Nordic film within the increasingly global climate of the five Nordic countries. While each country retains idiosyncratic themes and cinematic identity, Nordic cinema also shows increasing homogenization in production strategies, aesthetics, and audience taste. At the same time, contemporary Nordic films have enjoyed renewed popularity at home while also vaulting to global prominence. From heritage films like Babette's Feast and Pelle the Conquerer, to the avantgarde Dogma movement led by Lars von Trier (Breaking the Waves, Dancer in the Dark), to the work of Lukas Moodysson and Aki Kaurismaki, a variety of Nordic films now have wide exposure. This collection of essays edited by Andrew Nestingen and Trevor G. Elkington is the first to focus on the globalization of Nordic film, particularly its trend toward transnational production procedures, themes, and actors...
- Det lille sirkus: et essay om norske filmer og produksjonsforhold 1946-2006 byISBN: 9788280250216Date: 2006An analysis of Norwegian films and production conditions.
- Gjester i studio: historien om "de 44" og opprøret mot Norsk Film A.S. byISBN: 8258812475Date: 1996About the revolt by a group of film workers known as "the 44" against Norsk Film A.S., the Norwegian film production company.
- Husmora i fokus: den norske husmorfilmen 1953-1972 byISBN: 8251924065Date: 2012A study of the Norwegian "housewife film" genre.
- Mørkets musikk: Musikk i Norske kinofilmer byISBN: 8290463812Date: 1998A study of music in Norwegian cinema.
- Norsk film A/S: en kulturhistorie byISBN: 9788215031767Date: 2020Dette er historien om en av Norges viktigste kulturinstitusjoner i det 20. êarhundre: Norsk Film A/S. Selskapet ble etablert i 1932 av de kommunale kinoene, men ble senere overtatt av staten. (This is the story of one of Norway's most important cultural institutions in the 20th century: Norsk Film A / S. The company was established in 1932 by the municipal cinemas, but was later taken over by the state.)
- Bak kamera: norsk film og TV i et produksjonsperspektiv byISBN: 9788275182478Date: 2016A study of Norwegian television and film from a production perspective.
- Face to face: Liv Ullmann and film: filmography byISBN: 8290463960Date: 2000This book by film critic Per Haddal is a personal portrait of Liv Ullmann, with an emphasis on her film work. Through his long-standing career as a film critic in Aftenposten, Haddal has acquired intimate knowledge of her career and has met Ullmann in various contexts. This book functions as a backcloth in order to better understand the principal character's development and her choices along the way. Haddal draws a thread from her earliest theatrical roles in Norway, via demanding performances in Swedish films, to today's work as a director.
- Filmeventyret begynner: av og om filmpioneren Ottar Gladtvet byISBN: 8290463898Date: 1999A study of the Norwegian film director Ottar Gladtvet.
- Kon-Tiki (dir. Thor Heyerdahl, 1950)
This link opens in a new window
- Lake of the Dead/De Dødes Tjern (dir. Kåre Bergstrøm, 1958)
- This link opens in a new window
- Insomnia (dir. Erik Skjoldbjærg, 1997)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Worst Person in the World/Verdens verste menneske (dir. Joachim Trier, 2021)
- This link opens in a new window
- The King's Choice/Kongens nei (dir. Erik Poppe, 2016)
- This link opens in a new window
- Betrayed/Den største forbrytelsen (dir. Eirik Svensson, 2021)
- This link opens in a new window
- Norwegian Films Print coverage for years 2005, 2008, 2009. Published by Norwegian Film Institute.
- Norwegian Film Database A national film database, where you can find information about Norwegian features, short films, documentaries and series. You can search formats, titles, director, actors, screenwriters, cinematographers, producers, production year, and festivals. The database contains a large number of films produced in Norway since 2002, as well as older films, especially short films.
- This link opens in a new window
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. jstore, jsotr, jrstor, jsot, Jsror, jsstor, Jstar, j-stor, jstory, jstot, Jstr, jstsor, justor, jsot, jsage, jsot, Jsror, Jsror, jsstor, J star, j-star
- This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. Full-Text Journals, johns hopkins university, milton s. eisenhower library, Project MIse, project mus, projectmuse, moose, project moose
- This link opens in a new window
- Maipo Film "Maipo Film is one of Norway’s leading production companies of feature films and drama series. With over 40 productions since the company’s establishment in 2000, Maipo Film has secured a solid position within the Norwegian and international marked" (from their website).
Selected Norwegian Films
Kon-Tiki (dir. Thor Heyerdahl, 1950).
"This is the classic Academy-Award winning documentary film of an astonishing adventure, a journey spanning 4,300 nautical miles across the Pacific Ocean by raft. Intrigued by Polynesian folklore, Norwegian biologist Thor Heyerdahl suspected that the South Sea Islands had been settled by an ancient race from thousands of miles to the east, led by the mythical hero Kon-Tiki."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Insomnia (dir. Erik Skjoldbjærg, 1997).
"In this elegantly unsettling murder mystery, Stellan Skarsgård plays an enigmatic Swedish detective with a checkered past who arrives in a small town in northern Norway to investigate the death of a teenage girl. As he digs deeper into the facts surrounding the heinous killing, his own demons and the tyrannical midnight sun begin to take a toll."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The King's Choice/Kongens nei (dir. Erik Poppe, 2016).
"Based on the true story about the three dramatic days in April 1940 when the King of Norway was presented with an unimaginable ultimatum from the German armed forces: Surrender or die. After three days of desperately trying to evade the Germans, King Haakon makes his final decision. He refuses to capitulate, even if it may cost him, his family and many Norwegians their lives."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Betrayed/Den største forbrytelsen (dir. Eirik Svensson, 2021)
"During World War II, millions of Jews are deported and killed in German concentration camps. Betrayed is based on the true story about the Braude family. An ordinary Norwegian family whose fate is sealed by the fact that they are Jews."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.