German Film Resources
The BFI Companion to German Cinema by ISBN: 9780851707501Date: 2000-05-01Over two hundred entries on film actors, directors, producers, cinematographers, critics, film industry, film movements and festivals cover the entire spectrum of German-speaking cinema from the 1890s to the popular comedies of the 1990s.
The Cinema of Germany by ISBN: 9781905674916Date: 2012-08-28This volume tells the story of the cinema of Germany in 24 essays, each concerning an individual film, in a fresh and concise way. It describes a 'national' film industry which successfully met the demand of a 'national' audience from the 1910s to the 1960s. As a consequence of World War II, the system of popular German cinema declined during the 1960s and early 1970s. From the 1980s on, a new generation has tried to re-establish a popular German cinema.
A Companion to German Cinema by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781405194365Date: 2012-02-13A Companion to German Cinema offers a wide-ranging collection of essays demonstrating state-of-play scholarship on German cinema at a time during which cinema studies as well as German cinema have once again begun to flourish. Distinctive for its contemporary relevance, reorienting the field to the global twenty-first century Fills critical gaps in the extant scholarship, opening the field onto new terrains of critical engagement.
The Concise Cinegraph by - This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781571816559Date: 2009-09-01First published in 1984 but continuously updated ever since, CineGraph is the most authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia on German-speaking cinema in the German language. This condensed and substantially revised English-language edition makes this important resource available to students and researchers for the first time outside its German context. It offers a representative historical overview through bio-filmographical entries on the main protagonists, from the beginnings to the present day. An appendix includes short introductory essays on specific periods and movements, such as Early Film, Weimar, Nazi Cinema, DEFA, New German Cinema, and German film since unification, as well as on cinematic developments in Austria and Switzerland. See also the German-language Cinegraph: Lexikon zum deutschsprachigen Film.
A Critical History of German Film by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1787448967Date: 2020-04-15From early masterpieces such as The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920) and Metropolis (1927) to the post-1945 films of Fassbinder, Herzog, and Wenders, German film constitutes a crucial part of the history of world cinema. It helped to shape Hollywood cinema and had a major impact on other cinemas as well. or historical periods from early German cinema to postunification. This book now appears in an improved, expanded, and up-to-date second edition that covers five additional films, expands the coverage of women's cinema, and brings the history of filmmaking in Germany up to the present moment.
Deutsche Tonfilme : Filmlexikon der abendfüllenden deutschen und deutschsprachigen Tonfilme nach ihren deutschen UraufführungenISBN: 39273520041. Jahrgang 1929/30 -- 2. Jahrgang 1931 -- 3. Jahrgang 1932 -- 4. Jahrgang 1933 -- 5. Jahrgang 1934 -- 6. Jahrgang 1935 -- 7. Jahrgang 1936 -- 8. Jahrgang 1937 -- 9. Jahrgang 1938 -- 10. Jahrgang 1939 -- 11. Jahrgang 1940/41 -- 12. Jahrgang 1942/43 -- 13. Jahrgang 1944/45 -- 14. Ergänzungen 1929/30-1945 -- 15. Gesamtregister
Directory of World Cinema: Germany by ISBN: 9781841504650Date: 2012-03-15From bleak expressionist works to the edgy political works of the New German Cinema to the feel-good Heimat films of the postwar era, Directory of World Cinema: Germany aims to offer a wider film and cultural context for the films that have emerged from Germany--including some of the East German films recently made available to Western audiences for the first time.
Directory of World Cinema: Germany 2 by ISBN: 9781841507385Date: 2014-04-15Building on the material presented in the first installment of the Directory of World Cinema: Germany, this volume explores a range of compelling and sometimes surprising German films. Included here is an in-depth treatment of the sport film that identifies a close interrelationship between sport, commerce, cinema, and politics from the 1920s to the present day. This is complemented by a focus on film adaptations of several German literary classics and the treatment of history as a cinematic spectacle in costume dramas.
The German Cinema Book by ISBN: 9781844575312Date: 2020-02-20This comprehensively revised, updated and significantly extended edition introduces German film history from its beginnings to the present day, covering key periods and movements including early and silent cinema, Weimar cinema, Nazi cinema, the New German Cinema, the Berlin School, the cinema of migration, and moving images in the digital era.
German Ways of War by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781978829176Date: 2022-08-12Analyzing films across the decades, from the 1910s to 2000s, German Ways of War addresses an important lacuna in media studies: while scholars have tended to focus on the similarities between cinematic looking and weaponized targeting -- between shooting a camera and discharging a gun - this book argues that war films negotiate spaces throughout that frame their violence in ways more revealing than their battle scenes.
Historical Dictionary of German Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1538119390Date: 2019-07-15This second edition of Historical Dictionary of German Cinema contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 200 cross-referenced entries on directors, actors, films, cinematographers, composers, producers, and major historical events that greatly affected the direction and development of German cinema.
Light Motives: German Popular Film in Perspective by ISBN: 0814330444Date: 2003-05-01An unprecedented look at German popular film across the historical spectrum and a challenge to the tendency among critics to divvy up German film, like Germans themselves, into the Good and the Bad. Together the essays reexamine popular film production along with larger cultural, historical, and political meanings suggested by the term "popular."
New Directions in German Cinema by ISBN: 9781848859081Date: 2011-09-29Germany's national film industry has been undergoing a remarkable resurgence since the beginning of the new millennium. German language cinema is again attracting attention at home and abroad and "New Directions in German Cinema" explores its developments since 2000. An international group of specialists on German film, society, culture, and politics together provide a wide-ranging study of this remarkable turn of fortunes. They examine just what German language film now has to offer, from the evolution of the so-called 'heritage films' which now dominate the country's mainstream and which examine Germany's problematic pasts - the Nazi, East German and terrorist legacies - to those which focus on the contemporary social reality of the Berlin Republic.
A New History of German Cinema by ISBN: 9781571134905Date: 2012-09-17This dynamic, event-centered anthology offers a new understanding of the hundred-year history of German-language film, from the earliest days of the Kintopp to contemporary productions like The Lives of Others. Each of the more than eighty essays takes a key date as its starting point and explores its significance for German film history, pursuing its relationship with its social, political, and aesthetic moment. While the essays offer ample temporal and topical spread, this book emphasizes the juxtaposition of famous and unknown stories, granting attention to a wide range of cinematic events.
A Second Life: German Cinema's First Decades by ISBN: 9789053561836Date: 1996-06-01German Cinema performs a kind of archaeology on a period largely overlooked: the first two decades of German cinema. This collection of essays by established authors refocuses the terms of a debate that will develop in the years to come concerning the historical and cultural significance of popular cinema in Wilhelmine Germany.
Transnational German Cinema: Encountering Germany Through Film and Events by ISBN: 9783030729165Date: 2021-09-01This volume explores the notion of German cinema as both a national and increasingly transnational entity. It brings together chapters that analyse the international circuits of development and distribution that shape the emerging films as part of a contemporary "German cinema", the events and spectacles that help frame and re-frame national cinemas and their discoverability, and the well-known filmmakers who sit at the vanguard of the contemporary canon.
Anti-Heimat Cinema: The Jewish Invention of the German Landscape by ISBN: 9780472132010Date: 2020-09-30In tracing Jewish filmmakers' contemplations of "Heimat"--a provincial German landscape associated with belonging and authenticity--this book analyzes their distinctive contribution to the German identity discourse between 1918 and 1968.
The Berlin School and Its Global Contexts: A Transnational Art Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0814342019Date: 2018-01-01"The Berlin School and Its Global Contexts: A Transnational Art-Cinema' came about in light of the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA)'s 2013 major exhibition of works by contemporary German directors associated with the so-called Berlin School, perhaps Germany's most important contemporary filmmaking movement.
Berlin School Glossary by ISBN: 1841505765Date: 2013-10-15Berlin School Glossary is the first major publication to mark the increasing international importance of a group of contemporary German and Austrian filmmakers initially known by the name the Berlin School: Christian Petzold, Thomas Arslan, Christoph Hochhäusler, Jessica Hausner, and others. The study elaborates on the innovative strategies and formal techniques that distinguish these films, specifically questions of movement, space, spectatorship, representation, desire, location, and narrative.
Beyond Tomorrow: German Science Fiction and Utopian Thought in the 20th and 21st Centuries by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781640140356Date: 2020-09-15This book explores German SF's responses to the question how humanity can match technological advances with social, ethical, and moral progress. It surveys German utopian thought and the German SF tradition-both literary and cinematic-providing close readings of selected works that paradoxically reflect boundless optimism for the possibility of change and increasing pessimism in its likelihood.
Celluloid Revolt: German Screen Cultures and the Long 1968 by ISBN: 9781571139955Date: 2019-04-22The epoch-making revolutionary period universally known in Germany as '68 can be argued to have predated that year and to have extended well into the 1970s. It continues to affect German and Austrian society and culture to this day. Yet while scholars have written extensively about 1968 and the cinema of other countries, relatively little sustained scholarly attention has thus far been paid to 1968 and West German, East German, and Austrian cinemas. Now, five decades later, Celluloid Revolt sets out to redress that situation, generating new insights into what constituted German-language cinema around 1968 and beyond.
Cinema in Service of the State by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781782389972Date: 2015-12-30This volume comprehensively explores the postwar film cultures of both nations, using a "stereoscopic" approach that traces their similarities and divergences to form a richly contextualized portrait. Ranging from features to children's cinema to film festivals, the studies gathered here provide new insights into the ideological, political, and economic dimensions of Cold War cultural production.
Cinema of Collaboration: DEFA Coproductions and International Exchange in Cold War Europe by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781789203431Date: 2019-10-03From their very inception, European cinemas undertook collaborative ventures in an attempt to cultivate a transnational "Film-Europe." In the postwar era, it was DEFA, the state cinema of East Germany, that emerged as a key site for cooperative practices. Despite the significant challenges that the Cold War created for collaboration, DEFA sought international prestige through various initiatives.
East Asian-German Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781003157540Date: 2021-09-29This is the first edited volume dedicated to the study of East Asian-German cinema. Its coverage ranges from 1919 to the present, a period which has witnessed an unprecedented degree of global entanglement between Germany and East Asia. In analyzing this hybrid cinema, this volume employs a transnational approach, which highlights the nations' cinematic encounters and entanglements.edition text + kritik Film Series
edition text+kritik publishes many German-language studies of film on specific directors and genres. The UC system holds copies of a number of these titles, including the Film & Schrift series.
Film and Fashion Amidst the Ruins of Berlin by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781571135766Date: 2018-08-22Viewed against the background of the abundant fashion discourses in the Berlin-based press, the films discussed include classics such as The Murderers Are among Us, Street Acquaintance, and Destinies of Women as well as neglected works such as And the Heavens above Us, Martina, Modell Bianka, and Ingrid. These films' treatments of fashion during times of crisis offer subtle reflections on the everyday lives, desires, careers, and self-perceptions of the women who made up a large majority of the postwar public.
Film Societies in Germany and Austria 1910-1933 by ISBN: 9048555728Date: 2023-02-14Available open access. This study traces the evolution of early film societies in Germany and Austria, from the emergence of mass movie theaters in the 1910s to the turbulent years of the late Weimar Republic. Examining a diverse array of groups, it approaches film societies as formations designed to assimilate and influence a new medium: a project emerging from the world of amateur science before taking new directions into industry, art and politics.
From Caligari to Hitler by ISBN: 0691115192Date: 2004-04-11Siegfried Kracauer--a prominent German film critic and member of Walter Benjamin's and Theodor Adorno's intellectual circle--broke new ground in exploring the connections between film aesthetics, the prevailing psychological state of Germans in the Weimar era, and the evolving social and political reality of the time. In From Caligari to Hitler, Siegfried Kracauer made a startling (and still controversial) claim: films as a popular art provide insight into the unconscious motivations and fantasies of a nation. In films of the 1920s, he traced recurring visual and narrative tropes that expressed, he argued, a fear of chaos and a desire for order, even at the price of authoritarian rule. The book has become an undisputed classic of film historiography, laying the foundations for the serious study of film.
Gender and Sexuality in East German Film - Intimacy and Alienation by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781571139924Date: 2018-05-15The cinema of the German Democratic Republic, that is, the cinema of its state-run studio DEFA, portrayed gender and sexuality in complex and contradictory ways. In doing so, it reflected the contradictions in GDR society in respect to such questions. This is the first scholarly collection in English or German to fully address the treatment of gender and sexuality in the productions of DEFA across genres (from shorts and feature films to educational videos, television productions, and documentaries) and in light of social, political, and cultural contexts.
German Cinema: Since Unification by ISBN: 0826481450Date: 2006-06-07This book offers a broad survey of trends in German cinema since unification and highlights German film's interventions in contemporary social, political and historical debates including questions of nationality, ethnicity, gender and sexuality.
German Cinema in the Age of Neoliberalism by ISBN: 9048551951Date: 2021Open access e-book. Presents a new history of German film from 1980-2010, a period that witnessed rapid transformations, including intensified globalization, a restructured world economy, geopolitical realignment, and technological change, all of which have affected cinema in fundamental ways. Rethinking the conventional periodization of German film history, Baer posits 1980-rather than 1989-as a crucial turning point for German cinema's embrace of a new market orientation and move away from the state-sponsored film culture that characterized both DEFA and the New German Cinema.
German Expressionist Cinema: The World of Light and Shadow by ISBN: 9781905674602Date: 2008-08-21Before Hollywood's golden age, German expressionist film was arguably the most important cinematic movement in the medium's history. These 'symphonies of... iridescent movement' of Weimar cinema provide some of cinema's most iconic images, and its vivid contrasts and dark spaces constitute a major influence on Hollywood classics such as Citizen Kane (1941) and Sunset Boulevard (1950). This volume also offers insights into the technical and thematic developments of the Weimar film.
The Haunted Screen by ISBN: 9780520257900Date: 2008-09-29The Golden Age of German cinema began at the end of the First World War and ended shortly after the coming of sound. From The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari onwards the principal films of this period were characterized by two influences: literary Expressionism, and the innovations of the theatre directors of this period, in particular Max Reinhardt. This book demonstrates the connection between German Romanticism and the cinema through Expressionist writings. It discusses the influence of the theatre: the handling of crowds; the use of different levels, and of selective lighting on a predominately dark stage; the reliance on formalized gesture; the innovation of the intimate theatre. Against this background the principal films of the period are examined in detail.
Homo Cinematicus: Science, Motion Pictures, and the Making of Modern Germany by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780812294118Date: 2017-05-12Situated at the intersection of film studies, the history of science and medicine, and the history of modern Germany, Homo Cinematicus connects the rise of cinema as a social institution to an inquiry into the history of knowledge production in the human sciences.
The Long Century's Long Shadow: Weimar Cinema and the Romantic Modern by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781487526955Date: 2021Connecting Weimar filmmaking to Romantic thought and practice, Kenneth S. Calhoon offers a non-technological, aesthetic genealogy of cinema. With an eye to the modernism of which Weimar filmmaking was a part, The Long Century's Long Shadow employs the Romantic landscape in poetry and painting as a mirror in which to regard cinema.
Movement and Performance in Berlin School Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0253038057Date: 2019-02-08Through a study of the contemporary German film movement the Berlin School, Olivia Landry examines how narrative film has responded to our highly digitalized and mediatized age, not with a focus on stasis and realism, but by turning back to movement, spectacle, and performance.
New German Cinema: Images of a Generation by ISBN: 1903364280Date: 2004-03-24Explores the context within which films made by Fassbinder, Wenders, Herzog, von Trotta and others emerged during the late 1960s through to the mid-1980s. It examines the American dominance of the German market place, the notion and politics of an Autorenkino, the framework of European art cinema, and distribution and exhibition initiatives that helped facilitate the birth and shape of a new national cinema.
New German Filmmakers by ISBN: 9780804426886Date: 1985-04-01Traces the careers and analyzes the films of twenty-one German directors including Werner Herzog, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, and Wim Wenders.
On Screen and Off: Cinema and the Making of Nazi Hamburg by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780812253801Date: 2022-02-22On Screen and Off shows that the making of Nazism was a local affair and the Nazi city a product of more than models and plans emanating from Berlin. In Hamburg, film was key in turning this self-styled "Gateway to the World" into a "Nazi city." The Nazi regime imagined film as a powerful tool to shape National Socialist subjects.
The Queer German Cinema by ISBN: 0804739951Date: 2000-06-01Since the Weimar era, German cinema has played a leading role in the innovation of gay and lesbian cinema, with the tantalizing sexual illegibility and gender instability of German films of the 1920s anticipating the queer sensibilities of the 1990s.
Screening Art: Modernist Aesthetics and the Socialist Imaginary in East German Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781785339677Date: 2019-02-18With internationalist aspirations and wide-ranging historical perspectives, East German films about artists and their work became hotly contested spaces in which filmmakers could look beyond the GDR and debate the impact of contemporary cultural policy on the reception of their pre-war cultural heritage. Spanning newsreels, documentaries, and feature films, Screening Art is the first full-length investigation into a genre that has been largely overlooked in studies of DEFA, the state-owned Eastern German film studio.
Special Effects and German Silent Film by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9463725237Date: 2021-04-06Special Effects and German Silent Film foregrounds special effects as an expressive device and their pivotal role in cinema's emergence as a full-fledged art. Special effects not only shaped the look of iconic films like Nosferatu (1922) or Metropolis (1927), but they are central to a comprehensive understanding of German silent film culture writ large. This book examines special effects as the embodiment of a "techno-romantic" paradigm that seeks to harness technology - the epitome of modern materialism - as a means for accessing a spiritual realm. Employed to visualize ideas and emotions in a medium-specific way, special effects thus paved the way for film art.
Staging West German Democracy: Governmental PR Films and the Democratic Imaginary by ISBN: 9781501347108Date: 2019-03-21Staging West German Democracy examines how political "founding discourses" of the nascent Federal Republic (FRG) were reflected, reinforced, and actively manufactured by the Federal government in conjunction with the West German, state-controlled newsreel system, the Deutsche Wochenschau.
Turkish German Cinema in the New Millennium by ISBN: 0857457683Date: 2012-10-01In the last five years of the twentieth century, films by the second and third generation of the so-called German guest workers exploded onto the German film landscape. Self-confident, articulate, and dynamic, these films situate themselves in the global exchange of cinematic images, citing and rewriting American gangster narratives, Kung Fu action films, and paralleling other emergent European minority cinemas. This, the first book-length study on the topic, will function as an introduction to this emergent and growing cinema and offer a survey of important films and directors of the last two decades. In addition, it intervenes in the theoretical debates about Turkish German culture by engaging with different methodological approaches that originate in film studies.
Christian Petzold by ISBN: 9780252037986Date: 2013-11-08The best-known and most influential member of the Berlin School, Petzold's career reflects the trajectory of German film from 1970s New German Cinema to more popular fare in the 1990s and back again to critically engaged and politically committed filmmaking. In the first book-length study on Petzold in English, Jaimey Fisher frames Petzold's cinema at the intersection of international art cinema and sophisticated genre cinema. These generic aspects constitute a cosmopolitan gesture in Petzold's work as he interprets and elaborates on cult genre films and popular genres, including horror, film noir, and melodrama. Fisher explores these popular genres while injecting them with themes like terrorism, globalization, and immigration, central issues for European art cinema. The volume also includes an extended original interview with the director about his work.
A Companion to Fritz Lang by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780470670972Date: 2015-01-27A Companion to Fritz Lang offers the first full-scale collection of scholarship available in English on one of the most important filmmakers of all time. Addressing much of Lang's voluminous body of work, from Metropolis and M, to lesser-known titles such as Western Union and Clash by Night, this volume offers a superb overview of Lang's cinema with revealing insights into his enduring influence on directors such as Godard, Scorsese, Chabrol, and Tarantino. The two dozen essays presented here are an unrivaled and up-to-the-minute assessment of the prolific and resilient life and vision of one of cinema's greatest auteurs.
Fassbinder: the Life and Work of a Genius by ISBN: 9780571178421Date: 1997-07-01This is an attempt to illuminate the complexities of the work of the German film-maker, Rainer Werner Fassbinder. Prior to his death in 1982 he had made 44 films in 14 years, seeking to reconcile his own artistic demands with the desire of an audience to be entertained.
Fatih Akin's Cinema and the New Sound of Europe by ISBN: 9780253037886Date: 2019-01-09In Fatih Akın's Cinema and the New Sound of Europe, Berna Gueneli explores the transnational works of acclaimed Turkish-German filmmaker and auteur Fatih Akın. The first minority director in Germany to receive numerous national and international awards, Akın makes films that are informed by Europe's past, provide cinematic imaginations about its present and future, and engage with public discourses on minorities and migration in Europe through his treatment and representation of a diverse, multiethnic, and multilingual European citizenry.
The Films of Werner Herzog by ISBN: 9780416410600Date: 1986-01-01A challenging range of films is covered offering the readers ways of understanding why, whatever the controversies surrounding Herzog and his films, he remains a major and popular international film-maker.
Margarethe Von Trotta by ISBN: 9781496815613Date: 2018-01-30Margarethe von Trotta (b. 1942) entered the film industry in the only way she could in the 1960s--as an actress. Throughout her career, von Trotta added thirty-two acting credits to her name; however, these credits came to a halt in 1975. Her ambition had always been to be a movie director. In Margarethe von Trotta: Interviews, volume editor Monika Raesch furnishes twenty-four illuminating interviews with the auteur. Spanning three decades, from the mid-1980s until today, the interviews reveal not only von Trotta's life in the film industry, but also evolving roles of and opportunities provided to women over that time period. This collection of interviews presents the different dimensions of von Trotta through the lenses of film critics, scholars, and journalists. The volume offers essential reading for anyone seeking a better understanding of an iconic female movie director at a time when this possibility for women just emerged.- Murnau by ISBN: 9780520022850Date: 1973-01-01Only twelve of F. W. Murnau's twenty-one films survive, and of those several are in a very incomplete state. But they include some of the enduring masterpieces of the cinema, among them The Last Laugh, Nosferatu, Sunrise, and Tabu. Lotte H. Eisner's famous study, first published in France eight years ago, is in part a critical interpretation, containing first-hand accounts of his working methods and detailed analysis of his films. For this first English-language edition the text has been extensively revised and expanded (two lost films have come to light since publication of the French edition and several riddles have been solved); and the complete script of Nosferatu, with Murnau's own working notes and alterations, has been included.
Sex, Politics, and Comedy: The Transnational Cinema of Ernst Lubitsch by ISBN: 9780253048349Date: 2020-06-02Ernst Lubitsch (1982-1947) was one of the most successful and influential German filmmakers in American film comedy. In this volume, Rick McCormick argues for a more transnational view of Lubitsch's career and films with respect to nationality, ethnicity, migration, class, sexuality, and gender.
Wim Wenders by ISBN: 9781501356339Date: 2020-01-23In addition to offering new insights into his cult masterpieces, the 10 essays in this volume highlight the thematic and aesthetic continuities between his early films and his latest productions. Wenders's films have much to contribute to current conversations on intermediality, whether it be through his adaptations of important literary works or his filmic reinventions of famous paintings by Edward Hopper or Andrew Wyeth. Wenders has also positioned himself as a decidedly transnational and translingual filmmaker taking on the challenge of representing peripheral spaces without falling into the trap of a neo-colonial gaze.
- The Golem — How He Came into the World (dir. Paul Wegener, 1920)
- This link opens in a new window
- Nosferatu (dir. F.W. Murnau, 1922)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Adventures of Prince Achmed (dir. Carl Koch and Lotte Reiniger, 1926)
- This link opens in a new window
- Berlin, Symphony of a Great City (dir. Walter Ruttmann, 1927)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Blue Angel: Der Blaue Engel (dir. Josef von Sternberg, 1930)
- This link opens in a new window
- M (dir. Fritz Lang, 1931)
- This link opens in a new window
- Olympia (dir. Leni Riefenstahl, 1938)
- This link opens in a new window
- Aguirre, the Wrath of God (dir. Werner Herzog, 1972)
- This link opens in a new window
- Alice in the Cities (dir. Wim Wenders, 1974)
- This link opens in a new window
- Fox and His Friends (dir. Rainer Werner Fassbinder, 1975)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Marriage of Maria Braun (dir. Rainer Werner Fassbinder, 1978)
- This link opens in a new window
- Barbara (dir. Christian Petzold, 2012)
- This link opens in a new window
- Hannah Arendt (dir. Margarethe Von Trotta, 2012)
- This link opens in a new window
- Phoenix (dir. Christian Petzold, 2014)
- This link opens in a new window
- Into the Fade (dir. Fatih Akin, 2018)
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources on Selected Major German Films
The Berlin School: Films from the Berliner Schule by ISBN: 9780870708749Date: 2013-11-30Abandoning the post-totalitarian context embraced by most commercially popular German films at the time, these films pursued a stylized realism to explore and address a national crisis of identity and purpose. Films like Christian Petzold's Die Innere Sicherheit (The State I Am In) and Angela Schanelec's Mein langsames Leben (Passing Summer) marked the first movement within German cinema to push the art form forward since filmmakers like Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Werner Herzog and Margarethe von Trotta established New German Cinema in the 1960s and 1970s. The Berlin School presents an engrossing overview of the movement. Essays by curators, film critics and filmmakers associated with the Berlin School place the movement in a larger historical context and examine the influence of collaborative communities that developed around the Berlin Film Festival.
Lotte Reiniger by ISBN: 9781476662060Date: 2017-08-25For three years during the 1920s, in an attic in Potsdam, a young woman crafted what is today the oldest surviving animated feature film. Equipped with scissors, cardboard, sheets of lead, glass panes and a camera, animation pioneer Lotte Reiniger filmed Die Abenteuer des Prinzen Achmed (The Adventures of Prince Achmed) using a technique of frame-by-frame silhouette animation she developed, inspired by Chinese shadow puppetry. As the result of a number of factors--her gender, her German ethnicity, World War II and a lack of funding--Reiniger became a footnote in animation history. This detailed account of her life and work describes her significant contributions to animation, puppetry, Weimar cinema and modern filmmaking.
The Marriage of Maria Braun by ISBN: 9780813511306Date: 1986-01-01Because of the enormous influence of New German Cinema and the importance of Fassbinder himself, the film is already considered a classic. "Maria Braun" is its director's attempt to recount and assess postwar German history through the personal example of his main character, played brilliantly by Hanna Schygulla. It is also a tribute to the Hollywood directors of the women's movies of the thirties and forties. This volume contains the editor's introduction, a chronology of the the years 1943-1954, a biographical sketch of Fassbinder, the full transcript of the film as released, notes on the shooting script, interviews with the scriptwriter and director, commentary on Douglas Sirk by Fassbinder, reviews, commentaries by Thomas Elsaesser and Sheila Johnston, a filmography, and a bibliography.
Scenarios by ISBN: 9781517903909Date: 2017-10-01Werner Herzog doesn't write traditional screenplays. He writes fever dreams brimming with madness, greed, humor, and dark isolation that can shift dramatically during production--and have materialized into extraordinary masterpieces unlike anything in film today. Harnessing his vision and transcendent reality, these four pieces of long-form prose earmark a renowned filmmaker at the dawn of his career.
- German Newspapers From the UCLA Library German Studies research guide.
- Domitor Journals Project - Germany Domitor, the International Society for the Study of Early Cinema, is an association for people interested in cinema from its emergence to its institutionalization around 1915.
- This link opens in a new window
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- Film-Echo (Filmwoche) German-language film industry trade periodical.
- Frauen und Film The film magazine »Frauen und Film«, founded in Berlin in 1974 and based in Frankfurt since 1983, is still the only feminist film-theoretical magazine in Europe. It emerged from a changed relationship to film practice and criticism associated with the new women's movement.
- This link opens in a new window
- German Films Quarterly GERMAN FILMS QUARTERLY (GFQ) is a quarterly publication on the current German production scene. Each issue features portraits on German directors, producers and actors, as well as information on new and upcoming German films.
- This link opens in a new window
- Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window Freely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Montage AV Montage AV, published annually in May and November, is dedicated to the scientific challenges of a changing media society, the theory and history of audiovisual communication, especially film and television, the discussion of new, trend-setting research approaches, the special problems of central research areas, interdisciplinary theory formation, the problems of modern media education.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. jstore, jsotr, jrstor, jsot, Jsror, jsstor, Jstar, j-stor, jstory, jstot, Jstr, jstsor, justor, jsot, jsage, jsot, Jsror, Jsror, jsstor, J star, j-star
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window Freely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- MLA International Bibliography Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE Full text of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, education, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines.
- Film Portal Access to German film history and its contemporary landscape, information to more than 150,000 films and 240,000 filmmakers.
- German Films German Films Service + Marketing GmbH is the national information and advisory center for the promotion of German films worldwide.
- The Goethe-Institut The Goethe-Institut is the Federal Republic of Germany’s cultural institute, active worldwide. We promote the study of German abroad and encourage international cultural exchange.
- Senses of Cinema Internet metasite with selected information on major directors and short critical articles.
Selected German Films
The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (dir. Robert Wiene, 1919).
" A demented hypnotist and his ghastly henchman spread death througout the German countryside. Newly remastered from the archival German material and tinted according to original instructions with evocative score."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Metropolis (dir. Fritz Lang, 1927).
"METROPOLIS takes place in 2026, when the populace is divided between workers who must live in the dark underground and the rich who enjoy a futuristic city of splendor."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Ali: Fear Eats the Soul (dir. Rainer Werner Fassbinder, 1974).
"Lonely widow Emmi Kurowski meets Arab worker Ali in a bar during a rainstorm. They fall in love––to their own surprise––and to the shock of family, colleagues, and drinking buddies."
The film was a Palm d'Or nominee at the 1972 Cannes Film Festival.
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Wings of Desire (dir. Wim Wenders, 1987).
"Damiel, an angel perched atop buildings high over Berlin who can hear the thoughts—fears, hopes, dreams—of all the people living below. But when he falls in love with a beautiful trapeze artist, he is willing to give up his immortality and come back to earth to be with her."
Wim Wenders won the award for Best DIrector and the film was nominated for the Palm d'Or at the 1987 Cannes Film Festival.
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Into the Fade (dir. Fatih Akin, 2018)
"Katja’s family is killed in a terrorist attack and her life falls apart. The killers are set free and Katja can do nothing else but seek justice."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Transit (dir. Christian Petzold, 2018).
"Past and present merge in this alluring puzzle from Christian Petzold, which follows Georg, a refugee from fascism who pursues Marie, the wife of the dead man whose identity he has assumed."
Official Selection at the Berlin International Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival, and The New York Film Festival.
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
I Was at Home, But... (dir. Angela Schanelec, 2019).
"I WAS AT HOME, BUT… tells the story of Astrid, a forty-something mother of two, struggling to regain her balance in the wake of her husband’s death."