Major Sources for Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers North American and some European scholarship since the late 1980s on East-Central Europe, Russia, the former Soviet Union and former Soviet republics. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives. - FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index to European journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. Multiple languages, 1972 to 2015. FRANCIS is no longer being updated. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
This is a selected list of journals that often cover European film. Please see pages on this guide for journals and other periodicals related to the study of film in specific countries.
- Film/Media Journals: SCMS ListA-Z list of recommended film and media studies journals from the Society for Cinema & Media Studies.
- Cineaste - America's Leading Magazine on the Art and Politics of the Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
Featured in Proquest Performing Arts Periodicals Database. Some more current issues and articles available for preview on their website: https://www.cineaste.com/ - Kino Eye"Kinoeye was an online journal of European film published between 2001 and 2004, and prior to that it was a column in Central Europe Review...Kinoeye aims to explore European film using a number of different writing styles: film reviews, festival overviews, interviews with directors or other industry players, career overviews, analytical articles, reviews of recent VHS/DVD releases, book reviews and book extracts, translated articles from other journals and other oddments and thought-pieces."
- NECSUS: European Journal of Media StudiesOpen access journal that "focuses on cinema, television, and new media studies by publishing research either by European scholars or on European media for a global readership."
- New Cinemas: Journal of Contemporary Film
- This link opens in a new window
"The journal aims to provide a platform for the study of new forms of cinematic practice and fresh approaches to cinemas hitherto neglected in western scholarship." - Studies in European Cinema
- This link opens in a new window
"[P]rovides an outlet for research into any aspect of European cinema and is unique in its interdisciplinary nature, celebrating the rich and diverse cultural heritage across the continent."
