European Film

Includes help on using the Archive's catalog and arranging research viewing appointments at Powell Library (when in-person operations resume).

Includes help on using the Archive's catalog, as well as profiles of major collections by topic.

Includes KTLA news footage documenting local history, the LGBTQIA series In the Life, selected L.A. Rebellion and UCLA student films, and more.

Selected streaming video from the Archive's collections and about the Archives work.

Download a sample list of available titles and additional research resources at UCLA in PDF format. Renoir lived in the United States in the 1940s and continued his career under contract to Twentieth Century-Fox. His films from the time period include This Land is Mine (1943) and The Woman on the Beach (1947). The UCLA Film & Television Archive has preserved The Southerner (1945) and Diary of a Chambermaid (1946).
See also the Jean Renoir papers in UCLA Library Special Collections.

Beginning in the 1910s, these newsreels were first envisioned as a way to boost Hearst-owned newspaper readership. The tabloid style of Hearst papers would heavily influence the style and content of the newsreels, and arguably television news forms as well. The silent Hearst reels covered topics such as the First World War, the Mexican American War, the Black Sox Scandal, adventurous aviators and North Pole explorers. European royalty were given special attention in the newsreels. The attraction of celebrity served the reel further when it became half-owned by MGM. Distributed with MGM features throughout the 1930s and 1940s, the reel could promote the studio's stars in the guise of news items.

The Archive holds extensive master footage and outtakes from The Legacy of Rosina Lhevinne documentary, including insightful interviews with pianist Arthur Rubinstein, musicologist Nicolas Slonimsky, violinist Robert Mann, and Rosina Lhevinne's daughter, Marianna Lhevinne Graham. The Salome Arkatov Music Documentary Collection also includes unedited interviews and performances by notable pianists such as John Browning, Van Cliburn, Misha Dichter, Tong Il-Han, Arthur Rubinstein, and celebrated composer John Williams.