UCLA Library Locations for Books
Books on European film will often be located in more than one UCLA Library location, sometimes depending on language of publication, date of publication, and the subject. The most common locations are:
- Arts Library: Core collection of film history and criticism. Greatest strength is in English-language books, but does selectively collect some European-language books and periodicals.
- Charles E. Young Research Library (YRL): European studies books and periodicals in all languages and subjects.
- Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF): Storage facility for all campus libraries, including some older and rarer titles.
- Music Library: Includes titles on film music history and composition, as well as sound recordings and some sheet music.
Rare books and scores, studio records, and the papers of individuals are held by Library Special Collections.
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowUC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a union catalog that searches across the collections of many libraries both in the U.S. and worldwide. There is both a subscription version of the catalog from FirstSearch, as well as a freely available web version. However, WorldCat does not list the holdings of all international collections and archives, so researchers are encouraged to also explore the individual catalogs and finding aids of relevant institutions.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world. - WorldCat.org This link opens in a new windowFreely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
Sample Library of Congress Search Headings
Searching Library of Congress standardized subject headings can help you find books on specific countries/regions, directors, and genres in UC Library Search. Some examples are provided below, and researchers are encouraged to click on subject headings in individual catalog records that are relevant to their topic.
- Motion pictures — Europe
- Motion pictures — Europe — History
- Motion picture industry — Europe [add any individual country to this search]
- Motion pictures — Germany — History [add any country to this search]
- Pasolini, Pier Paolo — 1922-1975 — Criticism and interpretation [add any director to this search]
- Documentary films — France — History and Criticism [add any country and/or genre to this search]
- Motion picture producers and directors – Poland [add any country to this search]