Swedish Film Resources
- Filmen i Sverige: en historia i tio kapitel byISBN: 9789170247125Date: 1991Filmen i Sverige är en bred översikt av den svenska filmhistorien, dess genier och konstverk, dess melodramer och munterhet, folkliga framgångar och vulgära trivialiteter, dess växlande ekonomiska och sociala konjunkturer, dess produktionsförhållanden och publika relationer, dess kreativa kriser och dundrande debatter, dess storhet, förfall och reformer.
Guide to the Cinema of Sweden and Finland by ISBN: 0313303770Date: 2000-03-30This volume adds Sweden and Finland to the growing list of countries included in Greenwood Press' Reference Guides to the World's Cinema series. Both well known and other important but less known persons and films are included in the reference work which spans the silent film era to the 1990s. The volume is divided into two sections, one devoted to the Swedish entries and the other to the Finnish entries. An introduction to each section overviews the developments and trends in that particular country's film industry. Scholars of European film studies and of Scandinavian studies will appreciate the detailed information compiled in this one volume. Organized by country, the annotated entries are alphabetically arranged and include brief bibliographies and filmographies.
Sweden by ISBN: 9781841505596Date: 2018-01-15Boasting landmark classics like Ingmar Bergman's The Seventh Seal and screen legends such as Greta Garbo, Sweden is home today to a rich and exciting contemporary national cinema that comprises the works of a diverse group of cinematographers, including Tomas Alfredson, Roy Andersson, and Nils Arden Oplev, director of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. In Directory of World Cinema: Sweden, Marcelline Block has assembled a team of leading international experts to situate Sweden's film industry in a global context. Among the topics discussed in this volume are the characteristic genres of Swedish cinema--among them silent films, erotica, animation, and crime noir--and the great impact Swedish films have had on filmmakers internationally, especially in America and France for whose audiences Swedish films have often been adapted. Additional essays examine the significance of Swedish directors and actors--among them Ingrid Bergman--who have made a lasting contribution to global cinema. Completing this volume are reviews of classic and contemporary Swedish films and recommendations for further reading.
Swedish Film by ISBN: 9789185509362Date: 2010-10-15A compilation of carefully selected articles written by international film scholars, this record provides an in-depth look into the history of Swedish film. This scholarly account covers various phenomena, including the early screenings at the turn of the century, Swedish censorship, the golden age of silent films, 1930s’ comedies and melodramas, documentaries, pornography, and experimental films. In addition, this volume examines the work of important contributors, such as Ingmar Bergman, Stefan Jarl, and Peter Weiss, and discusses film policies of the new millennium.
Swedish Film Classics by ISBN: 0486243044Date: 1983-03-01Memorable stills from great cinematic tradition — Ingeborg Holm (1913) to Wild Strawberries (1957). Complete credits, synopsis, commentary for each film. Introduction, critical biographies of directors.
The Cinema of Scandinavia by ISBN: 1904764223Date: 2005-09-29A new volume in the "Twenty-Four Frames" series that focuses on twenty-four key films from Scandinavia—Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Finland. Each national cinema is able to boast directors of worldwide renown, such as Ingmar Bergman, Carl Theodor Dreyer, Victor Sjöström and more contemporary film-makers such as Lukas Moodysson, Aki Kaurismäki and the co-founders of the Dogme 95 movement—Lars von Trier, Thomas Vinterberg and Søren Kragh-Jacobsen. This book deals with the impact that these and other filmmakers have had on both their national cinema and on the world of film, and looks in detail at the styles, movements and influences from this region.
A Companion to Nordic Cinema by ISBN: 9781118475270Date: 2016-03-24A Companion to Nordic Cinema presents a collection of original essays that explore one of the world's oldest regional cinemas from its origins to the present day. Offers a comprehensive, transnational and regional account of Nordic cinema from its origins to the present day Features original contributions from more than two dozen international film scholars based in the Nordic countries, the United States, Canada, Scotland, and Hong Kong Covers a wide range of topics on the distinctive evolution of Nordic cinema including the silent Golden Age, Nordic film policy models and their influence, audiences and cinephilia, Nordic film training, and indigenous Sámi cinema. Considers Nordic cinema's engagement with global audiences through coverage of such topics as Dogme 95, the avant-garde filmmaking movement begun by Danish directors Lars von Trier and Thomas Vinterberg, and the global marketing and distribution of Nordic horror and Nordic noir Offers fresh investigations of the work of global auteurs such as Carl Th. Dreyer, Ingmar Bergman, Lars von Trier, Aki Kaurismäki, and Roy Andersson. Includes essays on Danish and Swedish television dramas, Finland's eco-documentary film production, the emerging tradition of Icelandic cinema, the changing dynamics of Scandinavian porn, and many more
Historical Dictionary of Scandinavian Cinema by ISBN: 0810878992Date: 2013-01-01Although relatively small, the northern countries of Scandinavia have made a disproportionately large contribution to world cinema. Indeed, some of their films are among the best known of all times, including The Seventh Seal, Dancer in the Dark, and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. And Scandinavian directors are also among the best known, just to mention Ingmar Bergman and Lars von Trier. But there is much more to the cinema of Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Finland and Iceland than that, and this book shows us what they have been accomplishing over more than a century from the beginnings of cinema until the present. The Historical Dictionary of Scandinavian Cinema shows just how long and busy this history has been in the chronology, starting in 1896. The introduction then describes the situation in each one of the component countries, all of which approached and developed the field in a similar but also slightly different manner. The dictionary section, with over 400 substantial entries, looks at the situation in greater detail, with over 400 substantial entries on major actors, directors and others, significant films, various genres and themes, and subjects such as animation, ethnicity, migration and censorship. Given its contribution to world cinema it is good to finally have an encyclopedia like this which can meet the interests of the scholar and researcher but also the movie fan.
Nordic Film Cultures and Cinemas of Elsewhere by ISBN: 1474438059Date: 2019-10-21Nordic Film Cultures and Cinemas of Elsewhere introduces a new concept to Nordic film studies as well as to other small national, transnational and world cinema traditions. Examining overlooked 'elsewheres', the book presents Nordic cinemas as international, cosmopolitan, diasporic and geographically dispersed, from their beginnings in the early silent period to their present 21st-century dynamics. Exploring both canonical works by directors like Ingmar Bergman and Lars von Trier, as well as a wide range of unknown or overlooked narratives of movement, synthesis and resistance, the book offers a new model of inquiry into a multi-varied Scandinavian cultural lineage, and into small nation and pan-regional world cinemas.
Northern Constellations by ISBN: 9781870041638Date: 2006-09-04An anthology of essays on film from Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
A History of Swedish Experimental Film Culture by ISBN: 9780861966998Date: 2010-10-20This first-ever study of Swedish experimental film represents the results of a Swedish Research Council initiative in 2006-2008. The essays address the institutions, filmmakers, and films important to the history of experimental film in Sweden, and place this history in larger artistic and socio-cultural contexts. The authors look at the work of the Independent Film Group, regional Fluxus groups, E.A.T., and figures such as Viking Eggeling, Rune Hagberg, Pontus Hultén, Öyvind Fahlström, Leo Reis, Bo Jonsson, and Åke Karlung.
Making the Invisible Visible by ISBN: 9789188661852Date: 2020-02-06To describe women in film history as invisible may seem strange as throughout film history, women on the silver screen have given audiences their version of what it is to be a woman. And as film stars they have always been associated with the glamour of the film industry -- the living embodiment of female attraction and pleasure. In Making the invisible visible, however, a group of researchers dissect the underrepresentation of women in areas of film culture often overlooked. Despite some significant differences -- between countries, between eras, between kinds of job -- production teams and film crews have almost always been men. Still today, many film professions are dominated by men. The authors explore womens scope for action in a variety of professional roles, based for example on discussions of LGBTQ+ identities in the film industry. The texts also present fresh perspectives on women actors and the nature of celebrity.
Masculinity in the Golden Age of Swedish Cinema by ISBN: 9780786494781Date: 2014-11-30Swedish society underwent great changes during the first decades of the 1900s. As a symptom of these changes, the new consumption and entertainment culture came under fire. Children and youth - but also women and the working classes - become symbols of the forces that broke down traditional structures and values. These groups were also rhetorically pinpointed as the principal users of the new film medium. Hence, during the silent era, film culture interacted with society at large, filling the screen with contradictory images of diverging masculinities and gender/ethnic relations. In fact, film culture became one of the most important arenas where these new gender relations could be articulated. This book covers Swedish film culture throughout the 1920s. It is the first in-depth exploration of Swedish silent film culture that goes beyond the small number of canonized films of the ""Swedish Golden Age"" that have been discussed as ""art"" for nearly 100 years. The study is based on extensive research and takes all Swedish feature films produced in the 1920s into consideration, together with a large number of source materials that include fan and trade magazines, manuscripts, censorship records, government reports and some 900 film reviews.
Scandinavian Blue by ISBN: 9780786444885Date: 2009-12-30This book traces the development of modern Scandinavian erotic cinema as it evolved in Denmark and Sweden, from the gentle Swedish naturalist films, starting with One Summer of Happiness in the 50s, to the controversial groundbreakers like I Am Curious (Yellow) of the 60s and on through to the dawn of ""Liberated Denmark,"" where, in the early 70s, the abolition of censorship was celebrated in films like 24 Hours with Ilse and the production of a number of other films that were blatantly pornographic...Also considered is the influence of these films on other countries, particularly the United States, where Scandinavian erotic cinema helped to set in motion the sexual revolution and contributed to the end of film censorship.
Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy by ISBN: 9780230390430Date: 2012-11-13Uniquely placed to explore the worldwide phenomenon of Stieg Larsson's Millennium trilogy beginning with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, the book offers the first full-length study of Larsson's work in both its written and filmed forms.
Swedish Cinema and the Sexual Revolution by ISBN: 9781476665443Date: 2016-07-30Swedish cinema became recognized for daring representations of sexuality with such films as One Summer of Happiness (1951), The Silence (1963), I am Curious (Yellow) (1967) and a wave of sex films in the late 1960s and 1970s. The association between Swedish film and sexuality shows up frequently in popular culture-from Taxi Driver to Mad Men, references to dirty Swedish movies abound. Yet the connection has attracted little critical attention. In this collection of new essays, Swedish and American scholars go beyond popular misconceptions to explore the origins, influences and reception of sexuality in Swedish cinema during the "sexual revolution" on both sides of the Atlantic. A broad range of topics are covered, from analyses of key films, to a behind-the-scenes study of the Swedish Film Institute, which played a significant role in opposing Swedish film censorship.
The Visible Wall by ISBN: 0809321645Date: 1998-04-30Rochelle Wright provides the first historical overview and analysis of the manner in which Jews and other ethnic outsiders have been depicted in Swedish film from 1930 to the present. Focusing on films produced in Sweden for primarily Swedish audiences, Wright analyzes how the portrayal of the relatively small Jewish minority has evolved over the years. She compares the images of Jews in Swedish film with those of other ethnic subcultures: long-term resident communities such as "tattare "(travelers, an indigenous pariah group often confused with gypsies), Finns, the Sami, and recent immigrant populations such as Greeks, Italians, Turks, and Yugoslavians...
Welcome Home Mr Swanson by ISBN: 9789187675119Date: 2014-10-01Between 1840 and 1940, more than one million people emigrated from Sweden to America. The fact that so many chose to leave to seek a better life across the Atlantic was a major trauma for the Swedish nation. Filmmakers were not slow to pick up on an exodus that proved to be of lasting importance for the Swedes' national identity. In Welcome Home Mr Swanson, film studies scholar Ann-Kristin Wallengren analyzes the ways in which Swedish emigrants and Swedish-American returnees are depicted in Swedish film between 1910 and 1950, continuing on to recent films and television shows. Were Sweden's emigrants seen as national traitors or as brave trailblazers who might return home with modern ideas? Many of the Swedish films were distributed to the United States, and Wallengren discusses the notions of Sweden and Swedishness that circulated there as a result. She also considers the image of Swedish immigrant women in American films--a representation that bore little resemblance to the Swedes' idealized view. Wallengren shows how ideologies of nationality had a prominent place in the films' narratives, resulting in movies that project enduring perceptions of Swedish national identity and the American way of life.
Nordic Genre Film by ISBN: 9780748693184Date: 2015-05-15Nordic Genre Film offers a transnational approach to studying contemporary genre production in Nordic cinema. It discusses a range of internationally renowned examples, from Nordic noir such as the television show The Bridge and films like Insomnia to high concept 'video generation' productions such as Iron Sky. Other contributions focus on road movies, the horror film, autobiographical films, historical epics and pornography. These are contextualized by discussion of their position in their respective national film and media histories as well as their influence on other Nordic countries and beyond. By highlighting similarities and differences between the countries, the book combines industrial perspectives and in depth discussion of specific films, while also offering historical perspectives on each genre as comes to production, distribution and reception of popular contemporary genre film.
Transnational Cinema in a Global North by ISBN: 0814332439Date: 2005-02-28Scholarly writing on Nordic cinema has historically focused on such auteurs as Carl Dreyer and Ingmar Bergman. Recent work has neglected to contextualize contemporary Nordic film within the increasingly global climate of the five Nordic countries. While each country retains idiosyncratic themes and cinematic identity, Nordic cinema also shows increasing homogenization in production strategies, aesthetics, and audience taste. At the same time, contemporary Nordic films have enjoyed renewed popularity at home while also vaulting to global prominence. From heritage films like Babette's Feast and Pelle the Conquerer, to the avantgarde Dogma movement led by Lars von Trier (Breaking the Waves, Dancer in the Dark), to the work of Lukas Moodysson and Aki Kaurismaki, a variety of Nordic films now have wide exposure. This collection of essays edited by Andrew Nestingen and Trevor G. Elkington is the first to focus on the globalization of Nordic film, particularly its trend toward transnational production procedures, themes, and actors...
- Arbetsboken. 1975-2001 byISBN: 9789113087276Date: 2018Under hela sitt författarliv använde Ingmar Bergman sig av vad han kallade för arbetsböcker - små spiralblock, i vilka han skrev ner utkasten till sina berättelser, och sedan fortsatte att anteckna i under hela processen med ett verk. I sina självbiografier Laterna magica (1987) och i synnerhet i Bilder (1990) citerar han ibland korta passager från arbetsböckerna; i övrigt är de aldrig tidigare offentliggjorda. Arbetsboken 1975-2001, som tar vid direkt efter den redan publicerade arbetsboken som sträckte sig mellan 1955 och 1974, ger en fortsatt unik inblick i Bergmans kreativa process fram till 2000-talet, då anteckningarna allt mer börjar tunnas ut. Sammantaget blir de två nu publicerade arbetsböckerna en påminnelse om ett av landets största konstnärsskap men också en unik beskrivning av hur hans berättelser väcktes till liv.
- Arbetsboken 1955-1974 byISBN: 9789113084572Date: 2018Under hela sitt författarliv använde Ingmar Bergman sig av vad han kallade för "arbetsböcker" - små spiralblock i vilka han skrev ner de första utkasten till sina berättelser, och sedan fortsatte anteckna i under hela processen med ett specifikt verk. I sina självbiografier Laterna magica (1987) och i synnerhet i Bilder (1990) citerar han ibland korta passager från arbetsböckerna - i övrigt är de aldrig tidigare offentliggjorda. Ändå lekte han på 60-talet med tanken att låta publicera dem, med motivet att det "i dessa böcker finns ett och annat, som verkligen kan vara av intresse". Faktum är att Arbetsboken 1955-1974 inte bara ger en helt ny inblick i människan och konstnären Ingmar Bergman, här visar han också prov på en alldeles särskild form av autofiktivt skrivande som hela tiden kretsar kring den egna kreativa processen.
Bergman, Ingmar (Masters of Cinema Series) by ISBN: 9782866427009Date: 2011-06-01Ingmar Bergman (Sweden, 1918-2007) is, in the world of cinema, a giant whose stature is comparable to that of Beethoven or Dostoyevsky. He made around fifty feature films that caught the spirit of his times, while endlessly reworking his private obsessions and anguish in the face of a silent God. In Summer with Monika (1953), Harriet Andersson plays a scandalously unconventional and sensual young woman, a breath of freedom epitomizing a new modernity in film. The 1960s saw Bergman in experimental mode with Persona (1966), one of the most powerful depictions of the ambiguity of evil. Later, in Scenes from a Marriage (1973) he offers a lucid examination of a couple whose mutual attraction turns to destruction, while Fanny and Alexander (1982) is a joyful and nostalgic evocation of childhood memories. Bergman's last film, Saraband (2003), is a spare masterpiece, at once an object lesson in how to make a film and an existential exploration.
Ingmar Bergman by ISBN: 9789198557701Date: 2021-09-07This unique collection focuses on the work of legendary Swedish filmmaker Ingmar Bergman. Written in the wake of the centenary of Bergman's birth in 2018, the volume aims to combine new approaches to Bergman's films and writings with more traditional analyses. Established themes such as Bergman's interest in philosophy and psychology are addressed, but also less familiar topics, notably his relationship with Hollywood and his elaborate use of film music and autobiographical writing that characterised his later work. There are new analyses of aspects of Bergman's most famous films, including Smiles of a Summer Night and Fanny and Alexander, but also insightful readings of lesser-known works, such as Saraband and Sawdust and Tinsel.
Ingmar Bergman by ISBN: 0786411600Date: 2002-04-10He always is very, very close to the camera, and he is terribly inspiring. I don't know what his magic is, but it is something that makes you want to give everything you have. He has respect for actors and for everybody. A bad director very often doesn't have that respect. Liv Ullman's words about Ingmar Bergman hint at the consummate director he was, one who knew the business, the strengths and weaknesses of actors and crews, the arrangement of the set, the framing of the camera, and all other particulars of the fine art of directing. This work presents Bergman's life and work, beginning with his youth in Uppsala, Sweden, and covering his formative years, his development as an artist, and his career as a world-renowned director. A brief synopsis for each of Bergman's films is provided, with such information as producer, screenwriter, cinematographer, editor, art director, music sound credits, running time, casts, Bergman's own comments, and the reactions of critics.
Ingmar Bergman's the Silence by ISBN: 9780295989433Date: 2009-01-01Ingmar Bergman's 1963 film The Silence was made at a point in his career when his stature as one of the great art-film directors allowed him to push beyond the boundaries of what was acceptable to censorship boards in Sweden and the United States. The film's depiction of sexuality was, as Judith Crist wrote at the time in the New York Herald-Tribune, "not for the prudish." Yet Bergman's notebooks and screenplays reveal his tendency for self-censorship, both to dampen the literary quality of his screenwriting and to alter portions of the script that Bergman ultimately deemed too provocative. Maaret Koskinen, a professor of cinema studies and film critic for Sweden's largest national daily newspaper, was the first scholar given access to Bergman's private papers during the last years of his life. Bergman's notebooks reveal the difficulties he experienced in writing for the medium of moving images and his meditations on the relationship (or its lack) between moving images and the spoken or written word. Koskinen's attention to this intermedial framework is anchored in a close reading of the film, focusing on the many-faceted relationships between images and dialogue, music, sound, and silence...- Jan Troell: regi, foto, klippning byISBN: 9789113038100Date: 2011Jan Troell beskrivs ofta som en lyrisk filmdiktare, en kamerapoet. Han brukar själv hävda att han aldrig känt sig hemma i det episka och att han inte är en historieberättare, 'varken muntligt eller i bild'...Vissa teman återkommer gång på gång i Jan Troells filmer. Uppbrott, sökande, längtan efter äventyr, trygghet och frihet - men också en strävan efter att försöka förstå och sjunka in i ett här och nu. Humanism och medmänsklighet präglar hans verk. Och vissa bilder. En fjäril kämpar mot ett fönster, en fågel lyfter, ett vatten glittrar, några grässtrån vajar, ett löv rister, en katt spinner, en myra stretar över vassa gruskorn, ett pilträd doppar en kvist i ett rinnande vatten. Det är magiskt, poetiskt - och berättande.
The Man from the Third Row by ISBN: 1785332503Date: 2016-10-01Until his early retirement at age 50, Hasse Ekman was one of the leading lights of Swedish cinema, an actor, writer, and director of prodigious talents. Yet today his work is virtually unknown outside of Sweden, eclipsed by the filmography of his occasional collaborator (and frequent rival) Ingmar Bergman. This comprehensive introduction--the first ever in English--follows Ekman's career from his early days as a film journalist, through landmark films such as Girl with Hyacinths (1950), to his retirement amid exhaustion and disillusionment. Combining historical context with insightful analyses of Ekman's styles and themes, this long overdue study considerably enriches our understanding of Swedish film history.- Någonting har hänt: Roy Anderssons filmskapande och det moderna Sverige byDate: 2016Roy Andersson är en av Sveriges, eller kanske till och med världens, viktigaste och mest ansedda filmregissörer. Han är framför allt känd för sina säregna bilder av människan. Denna bok fördjupar sig i hans filmkonst och skapande. Boken riktar uppmärksamheten på kopplingen mellan Anderssons filmskapande och utvecklingen i det moderna Sverige.
Roy Andersson's Songs from the Second Floor by ISBN: 9780295998244Date: 2016-06-01Swedish filmmaker Roy Andersson's celebrated and enigmatic film Songs from the Second Floor, his first feature film in twenty-five years, won the Special Jury Prize at the Cannes Film Festival in 2000...Lindqvist draws from interviews with Andersson and his team that provide a behind-the-scenes look at how the film was made and investigates its philosophical and artistic influences, providing a nuanced reading of a film that has both befuddled and entranced its viewers. This first book-length study in English of Andersson's work considers his aesthetic agenda and the unique methods that have become hallmarks of his filmmaking, as well as his firm belief in film's revolutionary function as social critique.
Transition and Transformation by ISBN: 9789089645043Date: 2013-08-15In 1923, the film director Victor Seastrom (né Sjöström), then Sweden's most renowned filmmaker, was recruited to Hollywood by Goldwyn Pictures, where he made eight silent pictures and one talkie in seven years, among them a 1926 version of The Scarlet Letter. What elements of Swedish cinema did he bring with him to the States, and how were these techniques transformed by Hollywood? This is the first book-length study dedicated to the films of Sjöström (1879-1960) and how he functioned in the studio system of 1920s Hollywood. Bo Florin explores the ways the director applied his austere and naturalistic film style in a radically different context and discusses how his films were received in Hollywood.
- The Phantom Carriage/Körkarlen (dir. Victor Sjöström, 1921)
This link opens in a new window
- Häxan (dir. Benjamin Christensen, 1922)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Seventh Seal/Det sjunde inseglet (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1957)
- This link opens in a new window
- Wild Strawberries/Smultronstället (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1957)
- This link opens in a new window
- Here Is Your Life/Här har du ditt liv (dir. Jan Troell, 1966)
- This link opens in a new window
- Persona (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1966)
- This link opens in a new window
- I Am Curious (Yellow)/Jag är nyfiken—en film i gult (dir. Vilgot Sjöman, 1967)
- This link opens in a new window
- I Am Curious (Blue)/Jag är nyfiken – en film i blått (dir. Vilgot Sjöman, 1967)
- This link opens in a new window
- Fanny and Alexander/Fanny och Alexander (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1982)
- This link opens in a new window
- My Life as a Dog/Mitt liv som hund (dir. Lasse Hallstrom, 1985)
- This link opens in a new window
- Let the Right One In/Låt den rätte komma in (dir. Tomas Alfredson, 2008)
- This link opens in a new window
- A Man Called Ove/En Man Som Heter Ove (dir. Hannes Holm, 2015)
- This link opens in a new window
- Chaplin Swedish film journal published by the Swedish Film Institute. Print coverage from 1959–1997.
- Cinéma en Suède (Film in Sweden) Print coverage of the Swedish Film Institute's magazine (later called Swedish Film) from 1968–1972.
- Films suédois (Swedish Films) Print coverage of the Swedish Film Institute's magazine from 1973–1995/1996.
- News (Svenska filminstitutet) / Swedish Film Institute Print coverage of the Swedish Film Institute's newsletter from 1978–1981.
- Swedish Film : a magazine from the Swedish Film Institute Online availability of the Swedish Film Institute's magazine from 2008 to the present.
- Swedish Film Institute film catalog Print coverage of the Swedish Film Institute's magazine from 1979–1983.
- The Swedish Film Database The Swedish Film Database is the film database of the Swedish Film Institute. You can use it to search for information about all Swedish feature-length films released at the cinema since the first Swedish film in 1897.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. jstore, jsotr, jrstor, jsot, Jsror, jsstor, Jstar, j-stor, jstory, jstot, Jstr, jstsor, justor, jsot, jsage, jsot, Jsror, Jsror, jsstor, J star, j-star
- This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. Full-Text Journals, johns hopkins university, milton s. eisenhower library, Project MIse, project mus, projectmuse, moose, project moose
- This link opens in a new window
- Swedish Film Institute "The Swedish Film Institute Foundation works to promote film across the board – from idea to finished product, during launch in Sweden and around the world, and by preserving films for posterity in our archives."
- Swedish Film Database "The Swedish Film Database is the film database of the Swedish Film Institute. You can use it to search for information about all Swedish feature-length films released at the cinema since the first Swedish film in 1897."
- Film & TV Producenterna (Swedish Film & TV Producers Association) "The Swedish Film & TV Producers is a Trade Association representing approximately 115 independent production companies involved in the production of film, documentaries, TV programmes and commercial films in Sweden.The association was established in 2009 through the merger of the Swedish Film Producers Association, the Swedish TV Producers Association and the Swedish Association of Commercial Film Producers."
- Filmarkivet (The Film Archive) "On filmarkivet.se you have the opportunity to see unique archival moving image material that otherwise are rarely accessed; mainly shorts, non-fiction films, news-reels and commercials; films that reflect the transformation of Swedish society over the last century."
- Film i Väst (Film in West) Film i Väst, or Trollywood, is a well-known film company based in Trollhättan, Sweden.
- Guldbaggen (Guldbagge Awards) "The Guldbagge Awards are Sweden’s leading film awards and have been presented since 1964 for outstanding contributions to Swedish film over the past year. In total around 450 Guldbagge Awards have been handed out over the years, and 19 Guldbagge Awards are now presented annually in the various categories."
- Göteborg Film Festival "Göteborg Film Festival has developed and grown strong for more than 40 years and is today the largest film festival in the Nordic countries and the most important annual meeting place in the Nordic film industry."
- Nordic Women in Film "Nordic Women in Film is a knowledge bank and source of inspiration about women in Scandinavian film. A collection of name entries, topical portraits, in-depth articles, interviews and film clips intended to disseminate knowledge and awareness of women’s professional contributions to film, from both a historical and present-day perspective."
- Stockholm International Film Festival "Stockholm International Film Festival started in 1990 and is one of the leading film festivals in Europe."
- Sweden's Film Association (Sfilm) "Sweden's Film Association is a national association within the non-profit cultural sector. Our core values are diversity, equality and broad representation. Our motto is that 'Films should be made by everyone, be about everyone and be seen by everyone.'"
- Sweden's Short Film Festival (SKFF) "Sweden's Short Film Festival, SKFF, is Sweden's oldest film festival and is organized annually in Stockholm by Sfilm."
- Swedish Regional Film Resource Centers "The Swedish Film Institute supports educational film work in schools and municipalities across Sweden. There are 19 Regional Film Resource Centres in Sweden that previously received funding from the Swedish Film Institute." (This page provides links to each of the regional centers.)
- Uppsala Short Film Festival "Uppsala Short Film Festival, which is Sweden’s major short film festival and arena for international short films, has since its beginning in 1982 established itself as one of Europe’s most important short film festivals."
Selected Swedish Films
The Phantom Carriage/Körkarlen (dir. Victor Sjöström, 1921).
"The last person to die on New Year’s Eve before the clock strikes twelve is doomed to take the reins of Death’s chariot and work tirelessly collecting fresh souls for the next year."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The Seventh Seal/Det sjunde inseglet (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1957).
"Disillusioned and exhausted after a decade of battling in the Crusades, a knight (Max von Sydow) encounters Death on a desolate beach and challenges him to a fateful game of chess."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Wild Strawberries/Smultronstället (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1957).
"Traveling to accept an honorary degree, Professor Isak Borg—masterfully played by veteran director Victor Sjöström—is forced to face his past, come to terms with his faults, and make peace with the inevitability of his approaching death."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Fanny and Alexander/Fanny och Alexander (dir. Ingmar Bergman, 1982).
"Through the eyes of ten-year-old Alexander, we witness the delights and conflicts of the Ekdahl family, a sprawling bourgeois clan in turn-of-the-twentieth-century Sweden."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
My Life as a Dog/Mitt liv som hund (dir. Lasse Hallstrom, 1985).
"My Life as a Dog (Mitt liv som hund) tells the story of Ingemar, a twelve-year-old from a working-class family sent to live with his uncle in a country village when his mother falls ill. There, with the help of the warmhearted eccentrics who populate the town, the boy finds both refuge from his misfortunes and unexpected adventure."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Let the Right One In/Låt den rätte komma in (dir. Tomas Alfredson, 2008)
"Lonely, 12-year-old Oskar is regularly bullied by his stronger classmates. A new friendship develops when Eli, a pale, serious young girl who only comes out at night, moves in next door. Coinciding with her arrival is a series of inexplicable disappearances and murders. As Oskar becomes more aware of Eli's tragic plight, he cannot forsake her. However, Eli knows that to continue living, she must keep relocating. But when Oskar faces his darkest hour, Eli returns to defend him the only way she can."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.