Spanish Film Resources
Burning Darkness: A Half Century of Spanish Cinema by ISBN: 9780791475034Date: 2008-07-17From the origins of the New Spanish Cinema in the 1950s to the end of the last century, Burning Darkness features essays on a selection of essential films by Spain's most important directors, including Pedro Almodóvar, Luis Buñuel, Víctor Erice, Ventura Pons, and others. Contributors focus on current theoretical debates and issues of representation, politics, cultural identity, and aesthetics. Rather than historically surveying Spanish films, the book encourages a deep reading of these essential works and the ways they cast light on specific aspects of Spanish society and its recent history.
The Cinema of Spain and Portugal by ISBN: 9781904764458Date: 2005-06-08An overview of Spanish and Portuguese cinema, this volume contains 24 essays, each on a separate seminal film from the region. Films from the early era of cinema up to the present day are featured, from directors such as Florián Rey, Juan Antonio Bardem, Luis Bunuel, Víctor Erice, Manuel Gutiérrez Aragón, Pedro Almodóvar and João Cesar Monteiro. As well as discussions of genre and influences, The Cinema of Spain & Portugal includes in depth studies of films such as La Aldita Maldita (1930, 1947), Death of a Cyclist (1955), Viridiana (1961), Spirit of the Beehive (1973), Abraham's Valley (1993), Tierra (1995), All About My Mother (1999), and Torrente (1998).
A Companion to Spanish Cinema by ISBN: 9781405194389Date: 2012-12-26A Companion to Spanish Cinema is a bold collection of newly commissioned essays written by top international scholars that thoroughly interrogates Spanish cinema from a variety of thematic, theoretical and historic perspectives. Explores Spanish cinema's cultural, artistic, industrial, theoretical and commercial contexts pre- and post-1975 and the notion of a "national" cinema. Canonical directors and stars are examined alongside understudied directors, screenwriters, editors, and secondary actors. Presents original research on image and sound; genre; non-fiction film; institutions, audiences and industry; and relations to other media, as well as a theoretically-driven section designed to stimulate innovative research.
A Companion to Spanish Cinema by ISBN: 9781855661769Date: 2008-11-20This is the first detailed history of Spanish cinema written in English for English readers. It presents a balanced exploration of trends and genres from the popular to art-house cinema, including landmark documentaries and children's films. There are sections in each chapter where popular, oppositional, and experimental directors are introduced as auteurs. The eleven chapters are arranged chronologically from the silent reels of the photographers to the twenty-first century, taking into account technological advances, as well as production, distribution and socio-political constraints and developments.
Contemporary Spanish Cinema and Genre by ISBN: 9780719077753Date: 2008-12-01This volume is the first English-language collection exclusively dedicated to the study of genre in relation to Spanish cinema. Providing a variety of critical perspectives, the collection gives the reader a thorough account of the relationship between Spanish cinema and genre, drawing on case studies of several of the most remarkable Spanish films in recent years.The book analyses the significant changes in the aesthetics, production and reception of Spanish film from 1990 onwards.
The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Films by ISBN: 9781442271333Date: 2018-01-01The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Films features nearly 300 entries on the written by a host of international scholars and film critics. Beginning with movies released after Franco’s death, this volume documents four decades of films, directors, actresses and actors of Spanish cinema. Offering a comprehensive survey of films, the entries address such topics as art, culture, society and politics. Each includes comprehensive production details and provides brief suggestions for further reading. Through its examination of the films of the post-Franco period, this volume offers readers valuable insights into Spanish history, politics, and culture.
Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema by ISBN: 9780810859579Date: 2010-04-28Spanish cinema is emerging as one of the most exciting, fascinating, and special cinemas in the world. Not only are others viewing Spanish films, but they are adopting Spanish producers and Spanish actors as their own. While Spanish cinema has been maturing for a long time and has been producing excellent directors, actors, and films for decades--including during the dark times of the Franco regime--only now is it winning numerous fans not only at home but also abroad. The Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema provides a better understanding of the role Spanish cinema has played in film history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on producers, directors, film companies, actors, and films.
Spanish Cinema by ISBN: 0582437156Date: 2001-11-14From the surrealist films of Luis Buñuel to the colourful melodramas of Pedro Almodóvar, Spain has produced a wealth of exciting and distinctive film-makers who have consistently provided a condoning or dissenting eye on Spanish history and culture. For modern cinema-goers, it has often been the sexually-charged and colourful nature of many contemporary Spanish films, which has made them popular world-wide and led directors and stars such as Almodóvar, Banderas and Penélope Cruz to be welcomed by Hollywood. Using original interview material with Spanish Cinema luminaries such as Carlos Saura, Julio Medem, Imanol Uribe and Elías Querejeta, Rob Stone charts a history of Spanish Cinema throughout the turbulent Francoist years and beyond.
Spanish Cinema 1973-2010 by ISBN: 9780719087110Date: 2013-03-07This collection of essays offers a new lens through which to examine Spain's cinema production following the decades of isolation imposed by the Franco regime. The seventeen key films analysed in the volume span a period of 35 years that have been crucial in the development of Spain, Spanish democracy and Spanish cinema. They encompass different genres (horror, thriller, melodrama, social realism, documentary), both popular (Los abrazos rotos/Broken Embraces, Vicky Cristina Barcelona) and more select art house fare (En la ciudad de Sylvia/In the City of Sylvia, El espíritu de la colmena/Spirit of the Beehive) and are made in different languages: English (as both first and second language), Basque, Castilian, Catalan and French.
Basque Cinema by ISBN: 9781780769820Date: 2015-09-29The first definitive study of Basque cinema, this book provides a systematic analysis of the key Basque films, directors and cinematic institutions. Its narrative moves from the romanticised Basque Country travelogues of Pathe to the coded oppositional aesthetics of Franco-era films; from the post-Franco 'new wave' supported by regional government funding to the boom in auteurist cinema during the 1980s and 1990s. It also charts the contemporary impact of the film institute Basque Filmoteca and television channel Euskal Telebista in producing and disseminating Basque-language films.
Blood Cinema: The Reconstruction of the National Identity in Spain by ISBN: 9780520081536Date: 1993-12-06In this innovative synthesis of film history and cultural analysis, Marsha Kinder examines the films of such key directors as Bu#65533;uel, Saura, Erice, and Almod#65533;var, as well as works from the popular cinema and television, exploring how they manifest political and cultural tensions related to the production of Spanish national identity within a changing global context. Her questioning and internationalizing of the "national cinema" concept and her application of contemporary critical theory--especially insights from feminism, Marxism, psychoanalysis, cultural studies, and discourse theory--distinguish Blood Cinema from previous film histories.
Con maletas de cartón: la emigración española en el cine by Date: 2010"Con Maletas de Cartón" analyzes the film footprint of Spanish emigration. Throughout the 19th century and until the last third of the 20th century, millions of Spaniards left the country fleeing a fateful fate, hoping to forge a decent life. That human adventure left a notable trace in the cinema, which approached it on numerous occasions.
Fashioning Spanish cinema: costume, identity, and stardom by ISBN: 9781487509118In Fashioning Spanish Cinema, Jorge Pérez analyses the use of clothing and fashion as costumes within Spanish cinema, paying particular attention to the significance of those costumes in relation to the visual styles and the narratives of the films. Fashioning Spanish Cinema looks at instances in which costumes are essential to shaping the public image of stars, such as Conchita Montenegro, Sara Montiel, Victoria Abril, and Penelope Cruz. Focusing on examples in which costumes have discursive autonomy, it explores how costumes engage with broader issues of identity and, relatedly, how costumes impact everyday practices and fashion trends beyond cinema.
Feminist Discourse and Spanish Cinema by ISBN: 019815979XDate: 2000-03-23Feminist Discourse and Spanish Cinema provides the first detailed consideration of women directors working before the Civil War and during Franco's dictatorship, and is the first to explore the impact of feminism on filmmaking in Spain. Part I focuses on three directors, Rosario Pi, Ana Mariscal, and Pilar Miro, whose careers span the history of sound cinema in Spain. The book highlights their struggle to achieve agency within the male-dominated film industry, and draws upon extensive archival research as well as in-depth textual analysis to reveal their negotiation with questions of authorship, female subjectivity and national cinema. Part II explores six films by women and men directors-three each from the Francoist and post-Franco periods-that foreground a number of issues of fundamental importance to feminism, from the indoctrination and 'performance' of gender, to the fraught effort to reconcile power with sexual pleasure.
Indiscreet Fantasies by ISBN: 9781684482467Date: 2020-10-30Pedro Almodóvar may have helped put queer Iberian cinema on the map, but there are multitudes of LGBTQ filmmakers from Catalonia, Portugal, Castile, Galicia, and the Basque Country who have made the Peninsula one of the world's most vital sources for queer film. Together, they have produced a cinema whose expressions of queer desire have challenged the region's conservative religious and family values, while intervening in vital debates about politics, history, and nation. Indiscreet Fantasies is a unique collection that offers in-depth analyses of fifteen different films produced in the region over the past fifty years, each by a different director, from Narciso Ibáñez Serrador's La residencia (The House That Screamed, 1969) to João Pedro Rodrigues's O ornitólogo (The Ornithologist, 2016).
Inhabiting the in-between: childhood and cinema in Spain's long transition by ISBN: 1487504888Although children have proliferated in Spain's cinema since its inception, nowhere are they privileged and complicated in quite the same way as in the films of the 1970s and early 1980s, a period of radical political and cultural change for the nation as it emerged from almost four decades of repressive dictatorship under the rule of General Francisco Franco. In Inhabiting the In-Between: Childhood and Cinema in Spain's Long Transition, Sarah Thomas analyzes the cinematic child within this complex historical conjuncture of a nation looking back on decades of authoritarian rule and forward to an uncertain future.
Live Flesh by ISBN: 9781845114497Date: 2007-06-29In post-Franco Spain, a re-shaping of notions of the masculine has been under way for some time. The authors of "Live Flesh" demonstrate how contemporary Spanish films, during this modern period, have contributed to this process. They do so by visualizing the ways in which Spanish men have been abandoning old self images and adopting new ones, and they explain and explore the complexity and diversity of these fresh cinematic creations of masculine identities.
The Making and Unmaking of Francoist Kitsch Cinema by ISBN: 0748699244Date: 2017-12-15The ultimate goal of this vast production of Francoist kitsch was to produce a submissive subject who, by identifying with Francoist aesthetics, would identify with state ideology. This book engages with the making and unmaking of Francoist kitsch aesthetics through the analysis of Spanish cinema. It examines five highly influential Francoist films produced from 1938 until 1964 and three later films by critically acclaimed directors Luis Buñuel, Guillermo del Toro, and Alex de la Iglesia that attempt to undermine Francoist aesthetics by re-imagining its visual and narrative clichés.
Religion and Spanish Film by ISBN: 9780472072453Date: 2014-12-18Treatments of religion found in Spanish cinema range from the pious to the anticlerical and atheistic, and every position in between. In a nation with a strong Catholic tradition, resistance to and rebellion against religious norms go back almost as far as the notion of "Sacred Spain." Religion and Spanish Film provides a sustained study of the religious film genre in Spain practiced by mainstream Francoist film makers, the evolving iconoclasm, parody, and reinvention of the Catholic by internationally renowned Surrealist Luis Buñuel, and the ongoing battle of the secular versus the religious manifested in critically and popularly acclaimed directors Pedro Almodóvar, Julio Medem, Alejandro Amenábar, and many others.
Spanish Cinema Against Itself: Cosmopolitanism, Experimentation, Militancy by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780253046345Date: 2020-02-11Spanish Cinema against Itself maps the evolution of Spanish surrealist and politically committed cinematic traditions from their origins in the 1930s--with the work of Luis Buñuel and Salvador Dalí, experimentalist José Val de Omar, and militant documentary filmmaker Carlos Velo--through to the contemporary period. In an age of the post-national and the postcinematic, Steven Marsh's work challenges conventional historiographical discourse, the concept of "national cinema," and questions of form in cinematic practice.
Spanish Queer Cinema by ISBN: 9780748665860Date: 2013-01-03There is a lot more to Spanish Queer Cinema than Pedro Almodóvar or the gay comedies of the 1990s. A wealth of short films, documentaries and features -- many by, for, or about lesbians -- is at the core of a creative culture responding to exceptionally intense social changes. The country has moved from institutionalising same-sex unions at the regional civic level (from 1998) to legal recognition of same-sex marriage (in 2005). Moving images and the debates and conversations around them have made a stand against homophobia and exclusion, responded to health and welfare crises, questioned or affirmed the value of same-sex marriage, and constructed new forms of love and community.
Toward a Cultural Archive of La Movida by ISBN: 9781611476309Date: 2013-11-26Toward a Cultural Archive of la Movida revisits the cultural and social milieu in which la Movida, an explosion of artistic production in the late 1970s and early 1980s, was articulated discursively, aesthetically, socially, and politically. We connect this experience with a broader national and international context that takes it beyond the city of Madrid and outside the borders of Spain. This collection of essays links the political and social undertakings of this cultural period with youth movements in Spain and other international counter-cultural or underground movements.
Un cinema herido: los turbios años cuarenta en el cine español (1939-1950) by ISBN: 8449312213Date: 2002Still poorly known and, with few exceptions, critically and historiographically disqualified as a whole, the murky 1940s in Spanish cinema 1939-1950 appear to us, however, as a territory of extraordinary interest for both the historian and the fan, as long as when one turns to the very material of the texts, to the putting into form of the films, to search in them, through their historical and stylistic analysis, the roughness, contradictions and ambiguities, and the, without a doubt, deep traces of its time that every artistic work must necessarily enclose.
Women in Iberian Filmic Culture by ISBN: 9781789381719Date: 2020-06-20Focusing on Portuguese and Spanish cinema, this collection brings together research about women and their status in relation to Iberian visual culture. The volume contributes to ongoing debates about the position of women in the cinemas of Portugal and Spain through a revision of feminist theory as well as new accounts of film history.
Carlos Saura by ISBN: 1578064937Date: 2003-01-30Carlos Saura: Interviews collects interviews the filmmaker has given in Spain, France, Germany, and Canada. All of the conversations appear here in English for the first time, and, as such, they represent a treasure trove of comments by Saura on his own work. Covering the entire spectrum of his career, including his latest film Buñuel and King Solomon's Table, the interviews discuss his early contributions to the New Spanish Cinema, his documentaries and documentary-like urban films, his cinematic essays on historical figures, his dance films, his adaptations of literary and theatrical works, and the films rooted in his personal reminiscences of the Spanish Civil War.
Carlos Saura, en Busca de la Luz by ISBN: 9788417954550Date: 2020-03-30This is the first authorized biography of Carlos Saura, one of the greatest geniuses of the world of cinema. This book, which is based on conversations with the director, shows us the vital and professional trajectory of an artist who has garnered the highest international recognition.
Cinema at the Edges: New Encounters with Julio Medem, Bigas Luna and José Luis Guerín by ISBN: 9781782383048Date: 2014-05-01The works of popular Spanish film directors Julio Medem, Juan José Bigas Luna, and José Luis Guerín are newly appraised in relation to their engagement with alternative national and cinematic subjectivities. Their films examine the limitations of the cinematic gaze, as the author shows, highlighting the ways in which these directors make recourse to hybridity, contact, and interface to overcome the binary power dynamic previously thought to be a feature of cinema.
A Companion to Luis Buñuel by ISBN: 9781444336337Date: 2013-04-22A collection of critical readings that examine and reassess the controversial filmmaker's life, works, and cinematic themes Features readings from several of the most highly-regarded experts on the cinema of Buñuel Includes a multidisciplinary range of approaches from experts in film studies, Hispanic studies, Surrealism, and theoretical concepts such as those of Gilles Deleuze Presents a previously unpublished interview with Luis Buñuel's son, Juan Luis Buñuel
Isabel Coixet by ISBN: 9788489564565Date: 2008Few filmmakers currently arouse as much interest as Isabel Coixet. Extraordinarily sensitive with the deepest feelings and respectful of the tender love stories that she draws on the screen, Isabel is also an extraordinarily committed woman in defense of freedom and against injustice, as palpably shown by The Secret Life of Words and Journey to the heart of torture.
Julio Medem by ISBN: 9780719072000Date: 2007-03-31Initial chapters explore Medem's childhood, adolescence and education and examine his earliest short films and critical writings against a background of a dramatically changing Spain. Later chapters provide accounts of the genesis, production and release of Medem's challenging and sensual films, which feed into complex but lucid analyses of their meanings, both political and personal, in which Stone draws on traditions and innovations in Basque art, Spanish cinema and European philosophy to create a complete and provocative portrait of Medem and his work.
A New Gaze by ISBN: 9781443875271Date: 2015-05-01This book deepens the understanding of the work carried out by professional women in Spanish film and television since the arrival of democracy, a period of radical changes that saw an emergence of female talent. Although most of the literature on women and media deals with female film directors, this book also addresses television, a medium where the presence of women was significant throughout this period. It brings together scholars from Spain, the United States and Ireland to analyze films and television programs written or directed by female professionals such as Pilar Miro, Josefina Molina, Cecilia Bartolome, Rosa Montero, Carmen Martin Gaite, Cristina Andreu, Isabel Coixet and Paloma Chamorro. The book also includes four interviews with screenwriter Esmeralda Adam, television executive Carmen Caffarel, filmmaker Ana Diez and television director Matilde Fernandez.
Pedro Almodovar by ISBN: 9781844571499Date: 2007-02-24The book provides a detailed introduction to the essential themes, style, and aesthetics of Pedro Almodovar's films, put in the context of Spain's profound cultural transitions since 1980. By spanning the entirety of Pedro Almodovar's feature making career, the book emphasizes the director's sensibility to make the outrageous believable and to always give a unique spin to the issues Spanish history, culture and identity.
Pedro Almodóvar Archives by ISBN: 9783836502832Date: 2012-01-15One of the most prolific and influential auteurs at work over the past 40 years, cult Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar has beguiled audiences worldwide with his thrilling dissertations on desire, passion, and identity. Cast an eye over his long list of productions and you're confronted with intoxicating tales of psychological melodrama, black comedy, familial feud, and violent lust.Each film is featured with its original poster, full cast and crew listings, as well as an essay by a leading Spanish author. Almodóvar personally supplements the vivid photographic material, captioning each image with his own reflections and comments.
Spanish Film Directors (1950-1985) by ISBN: 0810818183Date: 1991-01-01Includes profiles on the following directors:
Alvaro del Amo -- Jaime de Armiñán -- Juan Antonio Bardem -- Luis García Berlanga -- José Luis Borau -- Jaime Camino -- Fernando Colomo -- Jaime Chavarrí -- Antonio Drove -- Victor Erice -- José Luis Garcí -- Antonio Giménez-Rico -- Manuel Gutiérrez Aragón -- Pilar Miró -- Pedro Olea -- Basilio Martín Patino -- Miguel Picazo -- Antoni Ribas -- Carlos Saura -- Fernando Trueba -- Iván Zulueta.
A Spanish Labyrinth: The Films of Pedro Almodóvar by ISBN: 1860645070Date: 2001-08-18Almodovar is Spain's most successful and controversial director, representing a unique blend of art-house auteur and popular film-maker. His films, with their mix of Hollywood and European styles and of popular melodrama and comedy, have been attracting growing international audiences since the success of Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown. A Spanish Labyrinth is a much needed, clear, and comprehensive introduction to the films of Almodovar, investigating the cultural and national contexts for his work, issues of gender, sexuality, stars, genre, visual style, music, and much more.
- Blood and Sand (dir. Dorothy Arzner and Fred Niblo, 1922)
- This link opens in a new window
- Bienvenido Mr. Marshall (Dir. Luis Garcia Berlanga, 1953)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Exterminating Angel (dir. Luis Buñuel, 1962).
- This link opens in a new window
- Viridiana (dir. Luis Buñel, 1961)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Spirit of the Beehive / El Espíritu de la Colmena (dir. Víctor Erice, 1973)
- This link opens in a new window
- Cria Cuervos / Raise Ravens (dir. Carlos Saura, 1976)
- This link opens in a new window
- Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down / Átame (dir. Pedro Almodóvar, 1990)
- This link opens in a new window
- Biutiful (dir. Alejandro G. Iñárritu, 2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources on Selected Major Spanish Films:
- Three Screenplays: Viridiana, The Exterminating Angel, Simon of the desert. byCall Number: Arts Library Selected Film and Television Scripts PN1997.V82 B88EISBN: 0670194662Date: 1970-01-01Three screenplays: Viridiana, The exterminating angel, Simon of the desert. Translated from Spanish to English.
- La España de Viridiana byISBN: 9788415770282Collected essays. Critique of (work): Viridiana (Motion picture). film 1961 directed by Luis Buñuel (1900-1983).
The Spirit of the Beehive = El espíritu de la colmena by ISBN: 0948911123Analysis of Victor Enrice's "The Spirit of the Beehive" by Virginia Higginbotham, examining the work's debt to the horror genre, its critical and historical perspectives, narrative and metaphorical structure and stylistic influences.
Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown by ISBN: 0851705405Date: 1996-10-27Peter William Evans conducts a formidable analysis of Almodovar's insights into gender, sexuality and subjectivity, and discusses the film against the background of political and social changes in Spain since 1975.
- Life on Wheels: Disability, Democracy, and Political Inclusion in Live Flesh and The Sea Inside // by Julie Minich
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of literary & cultural disability studies, 2010, Vol.4 (1), p.17-32.
The article explores how the representation of disability in two Spanish films elucidates the connection between democracy and political inclusion. Pedro Almodóvar's Carne trémula (Live Flesh, 1997) depicts Spain's transition to democracy, while Alejandro Amenábar's Mar adentro (The Sea Inside, 2004) portrays the life of Ramón Sampedro, a quadriplegic pro-euthanasia activist. Both films treat disability as a minority identity from which critical scrutiny of the contemporary democratic state emerges; yet they offer very different assessments of the political value of that identity.
- Cinéaste Founded in 1967, Cineaste is one of America’s oldest film quarterlies and has long been regarded worldwide as one of America’s most important film magazines. The unique editorial focus on both the art and politics of the cinema distinguishes Cineaste from virtually every other contemporary film publication, an orientation complemented by the lengthier, in-depth nature of our articles, interviews, and reviews. Each issue strives for balanced coverage of both contemporary and classic American and foreign cinema, always emphasizing a popular, readable style displayed in a lavishly illustrated, full-color format. Each quarterly issue of Cineaste features exclusive interviews with world-famous and up-and-coming filmmakers, feature articles on topical and historical subjects, and separate sections of Film Reviews, DVD Reviews, and Book Reviews.
- This link opens in a new window
- Cinemanía With a history of over 25 years, it is the most highly-regarded magazine for cinema and television series in Spain. Cinemania has its own unique take on cinema and has pioneered the recognition of series as an audiovisual phenomenon of the 21st century.
- Cine-Mundial - via Archive.org Cine-Mundial, the Spanish-language version of Moving Picture World, was published between 1916 and 1948.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas (PRISMA)
- This link opens in a new window
- Variety International Film Guide 17 volumes : illustrations (some color) ; 21-25 cm. Another ed. is published 2005-2006 in London by Button under title: The Guardian international film guide.
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 09635769
- Digitalia Hispanica E-books This link opens in a new window Digitalia is a collection of ebooks from some of the major academic presses in Spain and Latin America, covering the social sciences and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- Internet Movie Database An online database of information related to movies, actors, television shows, production crew personnel, and video games
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Online access to over 2 million dissertations and master's theses, many of which are available in full text. Citations of abstracts are available for dissertations dating from 1861 and full text online from 1997. Searchable by university, department and adviser.
- This link opens in a new window
- Torrossa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online journals and books from Spanish, French, and Portuguese publishers.
- Filmotech.com An Internet portal that offers a wide-ranging catalog of Spanish cinema.
- ICAA: Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts The Institute of Cinematography and Audiovisual Arts (ICAA) is an autonomous body attached to the Ministry of Culture that plans support policies for the film sector and audiovisual production.
- La Federació de Productors Audiovisuals PROA is made up of 7 associations, 5 sectoral and 2 generalist . Among the sectors, the Federation has ProDocs (documentary) , ProAnimats (animation) , ProFiction (fiction) , ProTV (television) and Devicat (video games) . The two generalist associations are APAIB (Balearic Islands) and AVANT (Valencian Community) .
- Platino Educa Platino EDUCA is an educational tool and streaming platform for schools and universities in which cinema and audiovisuals are used as an instrument for transmitting ideas, concepts and knowledge
- Secuoya Studios Secuoya Studios is the audiovisual production company of Grupo Secuoya. Fiction, Cinema, Entertainment leading national and international projects.
Selected Spanish Films
Viridiana (dir. Luis Buñuel, 1961).
"Banned in Spain and denounced by the Vatican, Luis Buñuel’s irreverent vision of life as a beggar’s banquet is regarded by many as his masterpiece. In it, novice nun Viridiana does her utmost to maintain her Catholic principles, but her lecherous uncle and a motley assemblage of paupers force her to confront the limits of her idealism."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The Exterminating Angel (dir. Luis Buñuel, 1962)
"A group of high-society friends are invited to a mansion for dinner and inexplicably find themselves unable to leave."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The Spirit of the Beehive / El Espíritu de la Colmena (dir. Víctor Erice, 1973).
"In a small Castilian village in 1940, in the wake of the country's devastating civil war, six-year-old Ana attends a traveling movie show of Frankenstein and becomes possessed by the memory of it."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Cria Cuervos / Raise Ravens (dir. Carlos Saura, 1976).
"Ana Torrent portrays the disturbed eight-year-old Ana, living in Madrid with her two sisters and mourning the death of her mother, whom she conjures as a ghost."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Tie Me Up, Tie Me Down / Átame (dir. Pedro Almodóvar, 1990)
"Pedro Almodóvar’s colorful and controversial tribute to the pleasures and perils of Stockholm syndrome, TIE ME UP! TIE ME DOWN! is a rambunctious dark comedy starring Antonio Banderas as an unbalanced but alluring ex-mental-patient and Victoria Abril as the B-movie and former porn star he takes prisoner in the hopes of convincing her to marry him."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.