Caucasus Film Resources
Cinema of Armenia by ISBN: 9781568593029Date: 2016-05-01This book is the first English language study of Armenian cinema.
Coproducing Europe: An Ethnography of Film Markets, Creativity and Identity by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781800739857Date: 2023-05-12By focusing on regional film markets in Thessaloniki, Sarajevo and Tbilisi, this comparative ethnography looks beyond the economic nature of film coproductions to their role in Europeanization, memories of the Cold War and preconstructed political agendas.
Le Cinéma arménien by ISBN: 9782858507252Date: 1993Conceived for the occasion of the retrospective dedicated to Armenian cinema, presented by the Pompidou Centre from June to October 1993.
A Dictionary of Film Studies by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780199587261Date: 2012-09-08Includes entry on film in the Caucasus.
Atom Egoyan by ISBN: 9781604734867Date: 2010-05-30Four-time winner at the Cannes Film Festival, Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan (b. 1960) began his career while still an undergraduate at the University of Toronto. He learned his craft in his own independent films and by directing television episodes before attempting his first feature film, Next of Kin (1984). There he explored the themes of family and identity that continue to interest him today. He engages in open, forthright discussions of his work and those who have worked with him.- Atom Egoyan et la diaspora arménienne: génocide, identités, déplacements, survivances by ISBN: 9782343051130Date: 2015Eclectic, fragmentary and multi/intermediate, the film production of Atom Egoyan embodies the diasporic spirit par excellence. This book proposes to examine the surviving culture, in this case post-genocidal Armenian, through its discontinuous transmission that Egoyan shows. The author limits herself to the analysis of four feature films (Next of Kin, Family viewing, Calendar and Ararat) in which we find the various representations of the identities of the Armenian diaspora, but always in a multi/intercultural Canada.
The Cinema of Sergei Parajanov by ISBN: 9780299296544Date: 2013-10-30Sergei Parajanov (1924-90) flouted the rules of both filmmaking and society in the Soviet Union and paid a heavy personal price. An ethnic Armenian in the multicultural atmosphere of Tbilisi, Georgia, he was one of the most innovative directors of postwar Soviet cinema. Parajanov succeeded in creating a small but marvellous body of work whose style embraces such diverse influences as folk art, medieval miniature painting, early cinema, Russian and European art films, surrealism, and Armenian, Georgian, and Ukrainian cultural motifs.
Image and Territory by ISBN: 9780889204874Date: 2006-10-30In a culture that often understands formal experimentation or theoretical argument to be antithetical to pleasure, Atom Egoyan has nevertheless consistently appealed to wide audiences around the world. If films like The Adjuster, Calendar, Exotica, and The Sweet Hereafter have ensured him international cult status as one of the most revered of all contemporary directors, Egoyan's forays into installation art and opera have provided evidence of his versatility and confirmed his talents.
Mamoulian by ISBN: 9781844573530Date: 2010-11-15The great Armenian-American director Rouben Mamoulian (1897-1987) remains a favourite among film-makers, his films combining great technical originality with a uniquely poetic visual style.
Mayrig by ISBN: 9780934728522Date: 2005-10-01Henri Verneuil born Ashod Malakian to Armenian parents in Rodosto, East Thrace, Turkey. When Ashod was a little child his family moved to France and settled in Marseille. He later recounted his childhood experience in the novel Mayrig, which he dedicated to his mother and made into a 1991 film with the same name, which was followed by a sequel, 588 Rue Paradis, the following year.
Selected Major Caucasus Films — Online and Physical Viewing Options through UC Search
- Family Viewing (dir. Atom Egoyan, 1987)
- This link opens in a new window
Additional Resources on Selected Major Caucasus Films
- Ararat (2002): shooting script / screenplay by Atom Egoyan
- This link opens in a new window
- Repentance by Tengiz Abuladze's allegorical film, made in Georgia, is the best known film of the perestroika and glasnost years. With its outspoken and controversial reference to the Stalin era and Stalin's place in the Soviet psyche, 'Repentance' was originally shelved but ultimately released in 1986 to widespread popular and critical acclaim.ISBN: 9781860643958Date: 2001-08-24
- Rouben Mamoulian's Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Starring Fredric March by The film was based on the story of Dr. Jekyll, a famous young doctor, who experiments upon himself and, by drinking a potion, becomes an evil embodiment of himself. After a time, he realizes that his evil self, Mr. Hyde, returns automatically without the aid of the drug. After murdering a man, Dr. Jekyll fights to remain the good doctor, rather than the evil Mr. Hyde, and ends by killing himself with poison.ISBN: 9780876632581Date: 1975-01-01
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
- This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. Full-Text Journals, johns hopkins university, milton s. eisenhower library, Project MIse, project mus, projectmuse, moose, project moose
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Index to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- This link opens in a new window
- Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. East View
- This link opens in a new window
- The Klassiki Journal Klassiki is the only place in the world where you can stream classic film from Eastern Europe, the Caucasus and Central Asia. Each of our films are accompanied by programme notes, journal essays, newly commissioned subtitles and online interviews with the best filmmakers from the region.
- Parajanov-Vartanov Institute The Parajanov-Vartanov Institute is an American film organization based in Los Angeles, California, that works to study, preserve and promote the legacy of filmmakers Sergei Parajanov and Mikhail Vartanov.
Selected Films from the Caucasus
The Color of Pomegranates (dir. Sergei Parajanov, 1968).
"A surreal biopic of Armenian poet Sayat Nova, told via non-narrative amalgamations of images, hailed as revolutionary by Mikhail Vartanov."
Life Triumphs / Nahapet (dir. Henrik Malyan, 1977).
"This story of a strong-willed man, Nahapet, who lost his family during the Armenian Genocide in 1915, is an eternal story of resurrection."
Next of Kin (dir. Atom Egoyan, 1984).
"Peter, catatonically unhappy with his family life and in video therapy with his parents. One day he views the tapes of an Armenian family who years ago guiltily put their infant son up for adoption. Peter decides to present himself to them as their lost son, to act out a role different than the one assigned to him in his own miserable existence."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Repentance (dir. Tengiz Abuladze, 1984/1987)
Filmed in Georgia and produced in 1984, then banned in the Soviet Union for its critique of Stalinism, Repentance first premiered at festivals in 1987. Varlam, the despotic mayor of a small town, dies. After his funeral, his body is repeatedly unearthed and buried again. Through flashbacks and dreamlike scenes, we witness his rise, power and ambiguities.
Mayrig (dir. Henri Verneuil, 1991).
"The saga of an Armenian family that immigrated to France after the break-up of the oppressive Ottoman Empire."
And Then We Danced (dir. Levan Akin, 2019).
"AND THEN WE DANCED follows Merab, a devoted dancer who has been training for years with his partner Mary for a spot in the National Georgian Ensemble. The arrival of another male dancer, Irakli—gifted with perfect form and equipped with a rebellious streak—throws Merab off balance, sparking both an intense rivalry and romantic desire that may cause him to risk his future in dance as well as his relationships with Mary and his family."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.