Online Portals
Online collection portals usually contain a mix of digitized archival content from different institutions such as libraries and museums, and can include books and multimedia elements. Some of these do not show up readily in library catalogs such as WorldCat, and it can be valuable for researchers to search them separately.
- EuropeanaIncludes digitized books, paintings, photographs, recordings and films from over 2,200 contributing cultural heritage organisations across Europe.
- Cross-search DPLA and EuropeanaOnline app that allows users to simultaneously search the digital collections in the Digital Public Library of America and Europeana.
- Digital Handbook for Research on Soviet HistoryA bibliographic guide to primary source materials for the study of Soviet history, developed by Harvard University. Includes a database of hundreds of collected primary sources.
- Domitor Journals ProjectFreely available digitized periodicals of interest for early cinema studies, representing 20 countries.
- European Film GatewayGateway to films, photographs, and ephemera from European film archives and cinémathèques.
- EUscreenEUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s until today.
- Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France)More than one million digitized documents (books, periodicals, manuscripts, maps, images, scores, sound recordings, etc.) at the French National Library.
- Getty Research PortalOnline search platform with access to digitized art history texts in the public domain (including art, architecture, material culture, and related fields).
- Internet ArchiveLarge open access repository of digitized texts, video, and audio.
- Margaret Herrick Library Digital CollectionsFrom the Academy, this series of collections includes personal papers, the Academy Awards collection, photographs, periodicals, sheet music, and more.
- Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFreely available online portal, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
- Museo Nazionale del Cinema: Digital CollectionsOnline catalog with some digitized materials (Italian language).
- Online Silent Film Periodicals (Bioscope)List of international silent film periodicals that are available online via different European projects.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- UCLA Library International Digital Ephemera Project This link opens in a new windowAn initiative to digitize, preserve and provide broad public access to print, images, multimedia, and social networking resources produced worldwide. This UCLA Library project captures ephemeral content in collaboration with global partners.
- USC Libraries Digital CollectionsOnline collections from the University of Southern California, including digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and audio and video recordings.