Librarian
History Databases to Start With
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine.
Interdisciplinary Databases Covering Historical Research
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Guides by Region
For more detail, including primary sources, consult the guides for specific countries or regions.