Skip to main content

Southeast Asian Studies

Guide to researching Southeast Asia in the UCLA Library

Access to Print Resources (as of 3/20/20)

 

As part of UCLA's transition to remote instruction, and the Library's necessary decision to close all Library locations, access to print resources and special collections is not available. Please take advantage of electronic resources such as ebooks and article databases. The UCLA community can connect to these online resources off-campus via the VPN or proxy server. Interlibrary loan is still available for electronic journal articles; however, ebooks cannot be borrowed on interlibrary loan.

For help with any of our resources, please schedule an appointment with a librarian (audio/video Zoom appointments available), contact your subject librarian directly, or use our 24/7 chat service.    

    

Researching Southeast Asia in the UCLA Library

The UCLA Library has an extensive collection of materials on Southeast Asia, including current and retrospective materials in both Western and vernacular languages. These resources cover Southeast Asia as a region, as well as individual countries. All eleven countries—Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam—are represented.

sunrise at Angkor WatThis guide serves as a starting point for researchers and students interested in Southeast Asia. It contains information on selected resources from the UCLA collections, as well as provides links to materials that are freely accessible elsewhere. This guide provides information on both print and electronic resources, as well as materials in other formats. (Please note that off-campus access to licensed resources requires user authentication through the proxy server.)

This guide mostly contains resources on Southeast Asia as a region. Eventually, there will be separate subject guides for each Southeast Asian country.

Note: If you have any suggestions or recommendations for this guide, please email the subject librarian or leave comments.

UCLA Links