Subject Librarian
UCLA Links
-
UCLA Asian American Studies Center Library/Reading Room Information and resources specifically on Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. Materials do not circulate. Hours are limited, so check the website for location and service information.
-
UCLA Department of Asian American Studies The Asian American Studies Department offers courses that contextualize the social, cultural, political, and economic experiences of Asians and Pacific Islanders who settled in the United States. Foci of inquiry include the legacies of colonialism and war, immigration, social marginalization, and institutionalized discrimination, as well as reinterpreted understandings of race, gender, and socioeconomic class. The department seeks to publicize research results using new media to increase the visibility of these remarkable hidden histories.
-
UCLA Asian American Studies Center Founded in 1969, the Asian American Studies Center has played a critical role in developing Southern California’s infrastructure of social service agencies, civil rights organizations, museums, historical societies, media and cultural groups, and business associations that serve and represent the Asian American and Pacific Islander population. The Center founded the UCLA Asian American Studies Department (the largest such department in the nation), established an outstanding research library, and published the country's leading research journal as well as hundreds of scholarly monographs.
-
UCLA Institute of American Cultures Central hub for the four ethnic studies centers at UCLA.
-
UCLA Asian Languages and Cultures Department The Asian Languages and Cultures Department offers courses in the languages, literatures, linguistics, history, religion, and intellectual life of East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia.
-
UCLA International Institute The central hub for global and area studies on campus, the institute currently houses 22 research centers and programs, three outreach programs, and eight interdisciplinary degree programs that offer six majors, 10 minors and three M.A. degrees.
Welcome to the Asian American Studies Research Guide
This guide serves as a starting point for students and researchers interested in Asian American Studies. It contains information on selected materials, including print and electronic resources, from the UCLA Library collections and beyond. Browse the various tabs in this guide to find books, articles, websites, and other resources for your research.(Please note that off-campus access to licensed electronic resources requires user authentication through VPN or proxy server.)
Related Research Guides
-
Pacific Islands StudiesA guide to doing Pacific Islands Studies research, including information on selected resources from the UCLA Library and beyond.
-
Asian and Asian American Studies in Library Special CollectionsProvides links to some of the collections ion Philippine/Filipinx American Studies, Japanese and Japanese American Studies, Korean and Korean American Studies, and Chinese and Chinese American Studies in Library Special Collections.
-
Asian American and Pacific Islander (AAPI) Film and TelevisionA guide to major books, articles, moving images, and other resources related to Asian American and Pacific Islander film and television at the UCLA Library and beyond.
-
Arab American Film and TelevisionA guide to major resources on Arab American film and television at the UCLA Library and beyond.
UCLA Library Quick Links
-
UCLA LibraryUCLA Library home page. Access to the catalog, databases, research guides, digital collections, and information about services and events.
-
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
-
Research HelpLinks to a variety of services, tools, and resources to help you with your research, such as: scheduling a research consultation, accessing research guides, and learning about data services.
-
CLICC (Campus Library Instructional Computing Commons)CLICC offers technology and support for UCLA students, faculty, and staff--such as laptop/iPad lending, study room and library classroom reservations, computer stations, and a wide variety of instructional software through the CLICC Virtual Desktop.
-
Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesInstructions on setting up your computers to access licensed electronic content from off-campus.