Librarian/Curator for Slavic, Eastern European and Eurasian Studies
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Ukrainian History and Culture
Image: Hanna Oliynyk, “Untitled” (2018), acrylic, 24 x 18 inches.
This guide serves as a portal for electronic resources relating to Ukraine. It contains links to various scholarly e-resources, including reference sources like online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and bibliographies; databases and indexes; e-book and journal collections; and online archives, image repositories, and maps. Please note that while some resources are freely available, others are subscription services provided by the UCLA Library, so remote access may be necessary when accessing from off-campus.
Country Facts
Europe's second largest country, Ukraine is a land of wide, fertile agricultural plains, with large pockets of heavy industry in the east. Ukraine gained independence after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. While Ukraine and Russia share common historical origins, the west of the country has closer ties with its European neighbours, particularly Poland, and nationalist sentiment has been strongest there.
-
Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics OnlineThe Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics offers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the Slavic language family from its Indo-European origins to the present day, as well as consideration of interaction of Slavic with other languages.
-
Library of Congress: Russia's Invasion of UkraineLibrary of Congress Chair in U.S.-Russia Relations Andrew Weiss discusses the sequence of events leading to the Russian invasion of Ukraine and the current geo-strategic picture. He will also draw on colleagues to discuss the military situation on the ground and how the next phase of the war might play out.
Official Sources and Statistics
-
Constitutional Court of UkraineThe Constitutional Court of Ukraine is a body of constitutional jurisdiction, which ensures the supremacy of the Constitution of Ukraine, decides on conformity of laws of Ukraine to the Constitution of Ukraine and other acts in the cases provided for by the Constitution of Ukraine, provides official interpretation of the Constitution of Ukraine, as well as exercises other powers under the Constitution of Ukraine.
-
President of UkraineOfficial website of the president of Ukraine.
-
Rada Verkhovna OnlineOfficial web portal of the Parliament of Ukraine
-
State Statistics Service in UkraineContains a comprehensive set of information about Ukraine
Maps of Ukraine
-
Harvard Digital Atlas of UkraineThe MAPA program aims to advance Ukrainian studies using Geographic Information System
-
Historical Maps of Galicia (1775-1918)Historical maps of the region of Galicia, shared between Western Ukraine and Eastern Poland
-
Old Maps OnlineProvides easy access to digitized historical maps from libraries around the world
-
Ukraine's Geopolitical History in 10 Old MapsAlthough not exhaustive, this selection illustrates some of the Ukraine's politically significant dates and offers a glimpse of the region’s complex past as a borderland.
-
Wikimedia Commons Atlas of UkraineThe Wikimedia Atlas of Ukraine is an organized and commented collection of geographical, political and historical maps available at Wikimedia Commons