Online Archive of California (OAC)
Keyword search for primary source materials in UCLA's online finding aids:
Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections
LSC is committed to remediating harmful description by creating and implementing an anti-oppressive approach to discovery and access. We aim to:
- Be clear about what we know, how we know it, and what we don't know
- Embrace baseline description as a tool to improve the discoverability of all our materials
- Demonstrate an understanding that description is a continuous and necessarily iterative endeavor
Read more about our past and current approaches to description in Toward Ethical and Inclusive Descriptive Practices in UCLA Library Special Collections.
UCLA History Gallery
UCLA History
Campus at sunset, c.1930
UCLA History
Distant view of campus with Gayley Avenue in foreground, 1937
UCLA History
Football game, 1931
UCLA History
George Gershwin and students singing at the piano, 1937
UCLA HIstory
Registration - Students walking through Royce Hall colonnade, 1930
UCLA History
Basketball NCAA Championship UCLA v. Duke, 1964
UCLA History
Powell Library domes under construction, 1928
UCLA University History
University Archives houses materials relating to the history and administration of UCLA dating from its founding in 1919 to the present. University Archives also houses records for the Los Angeles State Normal School, the precursor to UCLA, dating from its founding in 1882.
Quick Tips
- For general introductions, overviews, or departmental histories, look for published histories listed in the UCLA Library Catalog. (See these sources for search strategies.)
- See UCLA History for a quick introduction to UCLA and campus life (maintained by UCLA Alumni Affairs).
- Many UCLA Archives collections, as well as UCLA faculty collections, are described in finding aids available online at the Online Archive of California (OAC).