Chinese Studies

Online database from Taiwan that includes electronical books and TEPS (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services), the largest online database that provides journal articles.

The database includes five subdatabases: (1) About 10,000 titles of e-books; (2) 26 major newspapers; (3) More than 900 titles of reference; (4) Chinese arts and images; and (5) Some major statistical yearbooks about national economic and social statistics. All the resources are full-text searchable.

This database is back files of Central Daily News, the official newspaper of the Nationalist Party of China (KMT), one of the major parties in Taiwan. This is an important research resource for China/Taiwan studies.

Searchable full-text database focusing on pre-600 AD traditional and excavated Chinese texts. Can be accessed via UCLA campus networks or the Bruin-Online connection from home. Chinese input software required to search.

A searchable database of China's census data, essentially for the six census in 2010. UCLA also has access to some earlier census data.

The database include sub-databases on Chinese Cultural Revolution, Chinese Anti-Rightists Campaign, Chinese Great Leap-Forward & Great Famine, and Chinese Political Campaigns in the 1950s: from Land Reform to the State-Private Partnership.

An English-Chinese bilingual database of China's census and statistical data, essential to the studies of China's population, socio-economy and local society.

Pishu, which literally means “cover-books,” are high-value analytical reports intended to guide policymaking in the People’s Republic of China. Pishu are published by the prestigious Social Sciences Academic Press, a branch of the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. These reports feature exclusive research and analysis by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences and authors from similar institutions, and present objective analysis versus official government messaging on strategic issues. In China, Pishu are consumed by think tanks and top policymakers. Covered topics include a variety of issues of importance to China's government and research community, including international relations, agricultural policy, and industry competitiveness. They may be considered somewhat analogous to United States Congressional Research Service reports and analysis reports published by the RAND Corporation.

Chinamaxx Digital Library, powered by Superstar, is one of the largest digital libraries for Chinese electronic books. Superstar provides two methods to find out the books. You can input the title of the book, the author, ISBN, and so directly in the search bar. Or, you may browse the subject categories for books related your research or interest of reading.

Full-text searchable database for Chinese classics and classic local gazetteers.

CNBKSY is a full-text online database of periodicals of the Republican period from 1911- 1949. NICNP is an online index to newspapers and periodicals published in China, covering sciences, humanities, and social sciences. Full-text articles are available through document delivery.

Dacheng Data collects journal articles from the late Qing period, as the starting time of Chinese journals, down to 1949. The database includes over 180 million articles from 13 million issues of over 7,000 journals published in China during the period. It provides comprehensive and unique research resources to humanities, social sciences and other academic fields.

A searchable database of 1,000 electronic journals/magazines in the original printed looking, with full color images and searchable function. Its full-color images provide significant added value especially for the titles in archeology, art and films. Meanwhile, the database always make the newest issue available to the users, almost at the same time as the most current printed issue coming to market.

A powerful database for searching Chinese publications published in mainland China.

As one of the largest and most important academic collections compiled in Taiwan, the Series includes 309 titles (595 volumes) of Chinese classics related to Taiwanese studies.

The CNPeReading Platform brings you all-new information search and reading experiences and helps you do your professional work better. The Chinese interface of the CNPeReading Platform is easy to use. The quick and convenient search function of the Chinese Library Classification can help you to get the electronic resource you need in the shortest time. The personalized reading tool provides user-friendly guidance. Its recommendation function builds the channel to communicate with the librarians so that your needs can be known very quickly.

Gujin Tushu Jicheng, compiled in the Kangxi years of the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), is a major classic series title classified by subjects (lei shu). It covers a wide range of subject fields, including many rare classic titles that were not available in other places. The series certainly fills some gaps as research resources. With full-text searching capacity of the online database, the classic series can be much easier to access to in comparing with the printed version.

An online index to over 150 periodicals published in Hong Kong since 1990, with some titles as early as 1950s. It includes only the articles related to social, economic, political, and current events, as well as social sciences.

With a current circulation of 3 million, People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. Created in May 1946, People's Daily carries the latest news dispatches of policy information and resolutions of the Chinese Government and major domestic news and international news releases from China. UCLA has acquired access to its complete full-text content of 1946-2005. A separate database covering 1995-present is freely available to the public.
It is searchable by date, author, title, column, page, section, and keyword. It also can be browsed by date. All articles can be displayed and printed in full text.

Post-1949 Chinese Local Gazetteers is one of our strength in collection for many years. The subscription to this full-text searchable database is further strengthening this specialized collection, and filling some gaps in our printed collection.

Full-text database for hundreds of works in classics; history, including the history of Taiwan; law; literature; medicine; and religion.

Shen Bao was the most important Chinese newspaper in late Qing and Republican China, comprehensively covering all the aspects in politics, economy, culture, society, literature and academic studies during the period. With the full-text searchable function, the database comes with added value to the scholars in the fields of modern Chinese history, modern Chinese literature and culture, as well as sociology, anthropology and geographic/demographic studies.

The electronic Sibu Congkan is a fully searchable collection of the authoritative editions of the 504 original and historical monographs (3,134 volumes) published by the Commercial Press in 1919-1936. Holdings span Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties including early manuscripts and rare prints (antiquarian, out-of-print books). Original collection used photolithography, which resulted in better editions than any then-available typeset editions.

TBRC holds the largest and most complete collection of Tibetan texts in the world. Its offices are currently housed at the Rubin Museum of Art in New York City, and the scanning of its texts is ongoing at several sites worldwide.

UDNDATA is a newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. UDNDATA covers seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan, Europe and North America: Lian He Bao (聯合報), Jing Ji Ri Bao (經濟日報), Min Sheng Bao (民生報), Lian He Wan Bao (聯合晚報), Xing Bao (星報) in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao (歐洲日報) in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri Bao (美洲世界日報) in North America. This online database provides current and searchable full-text articles, as well as searchable images, published on the above seven newspapers. It is not only a major information source on Taiwan, but also an important information source on overseas Chinese in Europe and North America.

An affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology and the leading information provider in China since the 1950s; includes five databases: China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, and Policies and Laws of China.

Full text for the entire set of Siku Quanshu; results can be viewed as text or images.

WiseNews is a newspaper database based in Taiwan, which provides hundreds of newspapers published in Taiwan, Hong Kong, mainland China and some other parts of the world.

Provides full-text searching capability for the authoritative versions of Chinese classics published by Zhonghua Shuju.

The China Historical Geographic Information System, CHGIS, project was launched in January 2001 to establish a database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 222 BCE and 1911 CE. CHGIS provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis, temporal statistical modeling, and representation of selected historical units as digital maps.