Welcome to the US History Guide!
This research guide was created to support the study of the US history at UCLA. Content in this guide was split out from my former research guide for History. Please let me know what you think by clicking on the Contact Info link on the right. If there is something that you were looking for and didn't find here, let me know that, too.
Frequently Used Resources
What do you use most often to do research in US history? Let me know what it is and I will add it here. My contact information is in the box to the left.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals in many disciplines. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Research Help
- Questions? Ask us!Get help from a librarian, 24/7!
- Research Workshops at UCLA LibraryCheck back regularly for an updated workshop schedule. Most workshops offered quarterly.
- UCLA Undergraduate Writing CenterAs part of UCLA Writing Programs, the Undergraduate Writing Center’s mission is to enrich the education of undergraduate students in all disciplines through individualized consultations on writing. Our goal is not only to help students with a particular writing assignment, but also to help them become more effective and confident writers. Make an appointment or drop in to get help with your scholarly writing. For registered UCLA undergraduates only.
- UCLA Graduate Writing CenterThe Graduate Writing Center offers individual consultations and group workshops, including dissertation and master's thesis "boot camps," to all registered UCLA graduate and professional school students.
- Research Paper PlannerTired of writing your paper the night before it's due? This Research Paper Planner will help you break down your assignment into manageable deadlines, track your progress, and connect with campus resources.
- How to use the UCLA Online Library Catalog VideoInstructions on searching for books using the online catalog.
- How to Evaluate SourcesThis link to the Colorado State University Libraries gives information for evaluating the usefulness of sources. Included are links on evaluating books, journals and magazines, and web pages.
Style Manuals and Guides
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate Turabian (9th ed)Student-friendly print guide to Chicago Style. Older editions available for loan.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The complete 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.
- Bruin Success with Less StressEverything you need to know about citing sources and avoiding plagiarism in the course of your research.
Copyright, Publishing and Intellectual Property Resources
UCLA Library offers a wide range of scholarly communication resources and services to UCLA faculty, students, and staff. For more information, feel free to contact me or email our Scholarly Communication and Licensing staff directly.
Quick Links
- Other Collections at UCLAThese are collections located within departments and research units outside of the official UCLA Library system.
- Off-Campus (VPN or Proxy Server) Access to Library eResourcesHow to access licensed online content from off-campus.
- UCLA Department of HistoryWebsite of the Department of History at UCLA.
- UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) This link opens in a new windowCOHR conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. Over 2000 interviews document a wide range of areas related to Southern California history, including the histories of Black, indigenous, people of color and immigrant communities, the arts, political activism, politics and government, and UCLA history. Transcripts available in Library Special Collections (YRL).
