Librarian/Curator for Latin American and Iberian Studies
Featured Resource
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Cross-searches collections from the U.S. and Canada, including manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages. Covers17th-20th centuries.
Welcome to the American Indian Studies Research Guide
Browse each tab to find book, articles, websites and other resources for your research.
Getting Started:
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Manuscripts, newspapers, diaries, maps, artwork, photographs, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-20th century. Cross-searchable with The American West database. This database was previously titled American Indian Histories and Cultures. - American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital collection exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. Contains more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images from pre-contact to the present day. - Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. Previously titled American Indian Newspapers. - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, essays, journal articles, US and Canadian government documents, and other publications concerning the history, life, and culture of native North Americans from the 16th century to the present. Contains the citations from the eight volumes of the Ethnographic Bibliography of North America as well as additional new citations.
- Digital Atlas of California Native AmericansAcollection of map layers related to the history and cultural heritage of Native Americans in California.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides complete text of ethnographic resources (mainly books, also articles and manuscripts) on cultures from around the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject in a unique scheme. The electronic version of the Human Relations Area File. - Indigenous Peoples of North America (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches collections from the U.S. and Canada, including manuscripts, book collections, newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations, materials such as Bibles, dictionaries and primers in Indigenous languages. Covers 17th-20th centuries. UCLA provides access to Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part I and Indigenous Peoples of North America, Part II: The Indian Rights Association, 1882-1986. - Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of non-fiction published prose and oratory by leading African Americans. Writing is focused on research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art.
General Article Databases
These key databases will give you broad access to journal articles and citations across a number of fields.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.