Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
New Database!
- Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online collection for the study of dress and costume history, film and theatre costume, and costume design and construction. Contains e-books, reference works, and more. Includes The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Film and Television Costume Design. Part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
Fashion and Costume
Introduction
This Library Research Guide is intended as a starting place for UCLA researchers, pointing to resources and strategies for finding information about fashion, costume, and related topics.
This guide was updated in 2023 with contributions by UCLA Arts Library Student Research Assistant Marie Fucile.
Getting Started: Major Online Resources
- A&AePortal (Electronic Art and Architecture) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Yale Art & Architecture ePortal is an authoritative e-book resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Asian Fashion ArchiveA digital resource project highlighting Asian fashion, culture, and history. Includes museums and exhibitions, film clips, recommended publications, and more.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. - Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection for the study of dress and costume history, film and theatre costume, and costume design and construction. Contains e-books, reference works, and more. Includes The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Film and Television Costume Design. Part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Disciplines include ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
- Digital Theatre+
- This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays and performances produced on the contemporary British stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production. - Europeana FashionOnline access to digitized fashion content from Europe’s leading museums and archives.
- Fashion Calendar: 70 Years of Fashion HistoryOver 39,000 pages from three periodicals published by Ruth Finley, digitized and made available online for browsing: Fashion Calendar (1941-2014), Home Furnishings Calendar (1947-1951), and Fashion International (1972-2008).
- We Wear Culture: The Stories Behind What We WearFrom Google Arts & Culture
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
WorldCat
To search for materials beyond the UC libraries, WorldCat is often the best choice to get started. There is a licensed version from FirstSearch that has more advanced search options, and a freely available web version.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OCLC FirstSearch catalog includes citations for books, journals, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, computer files, newspapers, slides, videotapes, archival material, etc., in libraries around the world.
- WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Freely available version of the OCLC combined catalog of books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide.
Fashion and Costume News
Check out this TED Talk: "Johanna Blakley: Lessons from fashion's free culture" (on the lack of copyright in the fashion industry)
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies