Costume Design
Selected Costume Resources
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowOnline portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
- Bloomsbury Dress and Costume Library This link opens in a new window
Online collection for the study of dress and costume history, film and theatre costume, and costume design and construction. Contains e-books, reference works, and more. Includes The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Film and Television Costume Design. Part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays, dance, and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
- Europeana FashionOnline access to digitized fashion content from Europe’s leading museums and archives.
- Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new windowCovers study of domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 via highly illustrated trade catalogues. Topics include various aspects of design, fashion, gender studies, food and drink, and more.
- Vintage Fashion GuildHandy resources include a Vintage Fabric identification resource and a Designer Label collection (both under VFG Resources tab).
- We Wear Culture: The Stories Behind What We WearFrom Google Arts & Culture
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowOnline portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central.
Use call numbers to search for costume resources in UC Library Search and on the shelves of the Arts Library and Charles E. Young Research Library.
“Clothing and dress” - GN 418-419
“Costume. Dress. Fashion” - GT 500-2370
“Costume - History - To 500” - GT 530-GT560
“Costume - History - Medieval, 500-1500” - GT 575
“Costume - History - 16th-18th century” - GT 585
“Costume - History - 19th century” - GT 595
“Costume - History - 20th century” - GT 596
“Costume design” - TT 507
“Costume in art” - N 8217.C63
A list of suggested subject headings to search for resources on costume in UC Library Search.
Children's costumes
Clothing and dress
Clothing and dress - country name
Clothing and dress - history
Clothing and dress - pictorial works
Costume
Costume - bibliography
Costume - history
Costume - pictorial works
Costume - social aspects
Costume - country name
Costume and civilization
Costume design
Costume designers
Costume design - history
Costume design - pictorial works
Costume history - 19th century
Costume history - 20th century
Costume in art
Costume in literature
Dressmaking
Dressmaking - Patterns
Dance costume
Dress accessories
Face painting
Fashion in motion pictures
Film makeup
Jewelry
Masks
Motion picture actors and actresses - Clothing
Pattern books
Television makeup
Textiles
Theatrical makeup
Theatrical prosthetic makeup