Archive & Library Quick Links
- UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive CatalogFounded in 1961, the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive holds over 150,000 recordings. Collections include non-commercial field recordings and commercially produced recordings of traditional, folk, popular, and art musics from Africa, Asia, Australia and the Pacific islands, Europe, the Middle East, and the Americas on a variety of audiovisual formats.
- UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive on the Online Archive of California (OAC)Collection guides to field recordings in the Ethnomusicology Archive.
- UCLA Library CatalogBooks and journals on Ethnomusicology.
- WorldCat: The World's Largest Library CatalogWorldCat.org lets you search1.5 billion items available through the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
- WorldCat Local -- UCLA
- UCLA Instructional Media Library CatalogOne of UCLA's central resources for the collection and maintenance of instructional media (film, video, DVD).
How to Access Licensed Resources
Many items in this guide are links to UC or UCLA licensed database resources. These resources are available from all public computers in the library or via UCLA's wireless network. However, when using these materials from off-campus, UCLA Students, Staff, and Faculty will need to use either the UCLA VPN (Virtual Private Network) or the BOL Proxy Server to gain access.
Mantle Hood and Gamelan Khjai Mendung
Tsun-Yuen Lui Playing Qin
Manoochehr Sadeghi Playing Santur
Mantle Hood filming Atumpan in Ghana
Welcome
This guide is intended to assist UCLA students, staff, and faculty interested in Ethnomusicology. You will find information here on both print and electronic resources. If you have any suggestions for what you would like to see included, please email me.
Remember, there are countless resources available. If you need more information or assistance, ASK A LIBRARIAN!
Ethnomusicology
Ethnomusicology (journal) on JSTOR
The official journal of the Society for Ethnomusicology. Its scholarly articles represent current theoretical perspectives and research in ethnomusicology and related fields, while playing a central role in expanding the discipline in the United States and abroad. Aimed at a diverse audience of musicologists, anthropologists, folklorists, cultural studies scholars, musicians, and others, this inclusive journal also features book, recording, film, video, and multimedia reviews. Peer-reviewed by the Society's international membership, Ethnomusicology has been published three times a year since the 1950s.
Fieldwork
FOLKLIFE AND FIELDWORK: An Introduction to Field Techniques from the American Folklife Center (online resource).
Field Manual for Ethnomusicology by Marcia Herndon and Norma McLeod. Norwood, PA: Norwood Editions, 1983. In the MUSIC LIBRARY: ML3798 .H45 1983
A Manual for Documentation Fieldwork & Preservation for Ethnomusicologists by Jennifer C. Post, Mary Russell Bucknum, Laurel Sercombe. Bloomington, IN: Society for Ethnomusicology, Indiana University, c1994. In the MUSIC LIBRARY: ML3798 .M3 1994
Depositing Your Fieldwork in an Archive:
Ethical Principles for Sound and Audiovisual Archives (IASA Special Publication No. 6)
I Gde Manik playing kendang -- silent film recorded in Bali by Colin McPhee in the 1930s
What is American Folk Music? with Professors Anthony Seeger and Jacqueline DjeDje
Music of Brazil Ensemble
Subject Guide |
Contact Info UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive 1630 Schoenberg Music Building Los Angeles, CA 90095-1657 Phone: 310-825-1695 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |















Loading...
