Images: Folk and Ethnic Clothing and Dress
Panama
Tripoli, Libya
Muscat, Oman
Albania
Oaxaca, Mexico
Chechnya
Sardinia, Italy
Casablanca, Morocco
India
Mombasa, Kenya
Lower Saxony, Germany
Hungary
Mahdia, Tunisia
Mali, Africa
General Books & Region Specific Dress Resources
-
Consuming Fashion: Adorning the Transnational Body
by
ISBN: 1859739695Date: 1998-09-01Drawing on ethnographic knowledge to connect theory and practice, authors reveal links between material culture, social and economic forces and personal performance -- from trade beads to Barbie, and from Taiwanese producer to Nike consumer -- to explain clothing choices through time and across cultures. Conventional understandings of the self, subject and society are shown to be inadequate when examining the interconnections of cultural and transnational economic systems of production and consumption that have a profound effect on human choice. This interdisciplinary book represents an important contribution to a fascinating and contested realm of human experience, and will be indispensable for anyone interested in the sociology, anthropology and psychology of fashion, cultural studies or the fashion industry. -
Dress and Ethnicity
by
ISBN: 1859730035Date: 1999-02-01From African-American women's headwraps to beauty pageants in Swaziland, this absorbing book explores ethnicity through the frequently noticed but less often analyzed human phenomenon of dress. The authors -- ethnographers, folklorists, and textile scholars -- present case studies from around the world to illustrate their different theoretical frameworks and assumptions. In considering how the body is modified and supplemented they discuss not only garments and accessories but also hairstyles and cosmetics. -
Essentials of Period Style
by
ISBN: 9780415710053Date: 2015-11-23Essentials of Period Style: A Sourcebook for Stage and Production Designers covers the visual, social, and political dynamics of multiple epochs and cultures and discusses how these trends affect the design of the architecture, costumes, and furnishings of the time. -
Ethnic Costume
by
ISBN: 0442267819Date: 1979-09-01Throughout history people have adapted their clothing to their respective lifestyles and geographic locations. This continuing evolution has led to a wide variety of distinctive garments from all corners of the globe--a variety that displays an ongoing concern for both beauty and utility. -
Ethnic Dress in the United States: A Cultural Encyclopedia
by
ISBN: 9780759121485Date: 2014-10-30This concise A-to-Z encyclopedia explores 150 different and distinct items of ethnic dress, their history, and their cultural significance within the United States. The clothing artifacts documented here have been or are now regularly worn by Americans as everyday clothing, fashion, ethnic or religious identifiers, or style statements. -
Ethnic Fashion
by
ISBN: 9789811007651Date: 2016-04-08This is the first book to introduce readers to the crux of ethnic fashion. Covering all aspects, it addresses the significance of sustainability (including culture) and ethnic fashion in the apparel industry. -
Folk and Festival Costume of the World
by
ISBN: 0684153793Date: 1977-10-01Illustrates and describes the traditional dress of countries, major geographic regions, and ethnic groups. -
Hats and Headwear Around the World: A Cultural Encyclopedia
by
ISBN: 9781610690638Date: 2013-10-03This concise encyclopedia examines headwear around the world, from ancient times to the modern era, comprising entries that address cultural significance, religion, historical events, geography, demographic and ethnic issues, fashion, and contemporary trends. -
A Red Like No Other: How Cochineal Colored the World: An Epic Story of Art, Culture, Science, and Trade
by
ISBN: 9780847846436Date: 2015-09-01A Red Like No Other translates the cochineal story into three dimensions, following the precious bug juice from Mexico to Europe and beyond as it insinuated itself into all forms of art, politics, and commerce. The images show how the colourant's cross-cultural appeal touched everyone from pre-Columbian weavers, to the Navajo weavers of the 18th- and 19th-century American Southwest. El Greco, Tintoretto, Vermeer, and Van Gogh used it, as did Spanish fashion icon Mariano Fortuny. Running throughout are essays from an international team of more than 20 consulting scholars and other experts whose work in art, history, economics, conservation and beyond is at once diverse, focused and far-reaching. These experts will bring to the Red book a wide spectrum of original research and innovative perspectives. -
Regional Dress: Between Tradition and Modernity
by
ISBN: 1350147982Date: 2022-07-14To better understand how traditional dress evolved in France and Germany from the 19th to 21st centuries, this book takes Alsace as its case study and in doing so illuminates broad experiences of modernity across rural Europe and answers overarching questions about regionalism and nationalism. -
Textiles
by
ISBN: 1423606507Date: 2010-03-10Textiles explores the cultural meaning and exquisite workmanship found in the Museum of International Folk Art's vast collection that spans centuries and includes pieces from seventy countries around the world. Handcrafted work in beautiful, vivid colors typifies the clothing, hats, robes, bedding, and shoes that represent the lives and passions of the people who created and used them. -
What People Wore When
by
ISBN: 9780312383213Date: 2008-07-08What People Wore When combines the studies of two classic nineteenth-century illustrators Auguste Racinet and Friedrich Hottenroth for the first time. Their works are presented first by chronology and then by subject, so that illustrators, historians, and students alike can choose to follow the path of fashion through the centuries, or study in detail the contrasting styles of individual clothing and accessories. Silhouettes reveal the shape of style through the ages, detailed cross-references draw attention to recurring motifs, and navigation bars help the researcher to travel the complex chronology of costume. -
The Worldwide History of Dress
by
ISBN: 9780500513637Date: 2007-11-30From Neolithic plant-fiber skirts, Ancient Egyptian linen shifts, and Classical togas through Mongolian shamanic robes, Japanese kimonos, and Indian saris to nineteenth-century Tyrolean dirndls, contemporary African ceremonial attire, and today's Middle Eastern burqas, every notable geographical region, historical period, and style of dress is covered here. All aspects of dress and accessories are discussed: basic men's and women's clothing, footwear, outerwear, hairstyles, headgear, jewelry, armor, special costumes, garment decoration, and face and body modification.
-
Africa Adorned
by
ISBN: 0810918234Date: 1984-09-30Shows hairstyles, jewelry, clothing, and body art used in each region of Africa and discusses the religious and cultural significance of African ornament. -
African Dress: Fashion, Agency, Performance
by
ISBN: 9780857853806Date: 2013-02-28Dress and fashion practices in Africa and the diaspora are dynamic and diverse, whether on the street or on the fashion runway. Focusing on the dressed body as a performance site, African Dress explores how ideas and practices of dress contest or legitimize existing power structures through expressions of individual identity and the cultural and political order. Drawing on innovative, interdisciplinary research by established and up and coming scholars, the book examines real life projects and social transformations that are deeply political, revolving around individual and public goals of dignity, respect, status, and morality. -
African dress fashion, agency, performance byISBN: 9781474280068Dress and fashion practices in Africa and the diaspora are dynamic and diverse, whether on the street or on the fashion runway. Focusing on the dressed body as a performance site, 'African Dress' explores how ideas and practices of dress contest or legitimise existing power structures through expressions of individual identity and the cultural and political order.
-
Aso Ebi: Dress, Fashion, Visual Culture, and Urban Cosmopolitanism in West Africa
by
ISBN: 9780472074808Date: 2021-05-24The Nigerian and West African practice of aso ebi fashion invokes notions of wealth and group dynamics in social gatherings. Okechukwu Nwafor's volume Aso ebi investigates the practice in the cosmopolitan urban setting of Lagos, and argues that the visual and consumerist hype typical of the late capitalist system feeds this unique fashion practice. The book suggests that dress, fashion, aso ebi, and photography engender a new visual culture that largely reflects the economics of mundane living. Nwafor examines the practice's societal dilemma, whereby the solidarity of aso ebi is dismissed by many as an ephemeral transaction. -
-
Clothing and Difference: Embodied Identities in Colonial and Post-Colonial Africa
by
ISBN: 9780822317913Date: 1996-06-10This volume examines the dynamic relationship between the body, clothing, and identity in sub-Saharan Africa and raises questions that have previously been directed almost exclusively to a Western and urban context. Unusual in its treatment of the body surface as a critical frontier in the production and authentification of identity, Clothing and Difference shows how the body and its adornment have been used to construct and contest social and individual identities in Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Kenya, and other African societies during both colonial and post-colonial times. -
Conflict and Costume: The Herero Tribe of Namibia
by
ISBN: 9781858946009Date: 2013-02-19In Conflict and Costume, acclaimed photographer Jim Naughten captures the colorful Herero attire in a series of spectacular portraits. Set against the Namibian landscape, these dramatic images show the striking costumes and their proud owners to full effect: men in elaborate, home-made paramilitary uniforms, and women in spectacular floor-length frocks with matching horns. Dr Lutz Marten contributes an insightful text that places the dress in its historical context.
-
Art Kimono: Aesthetic Revelations of Japan 1905-1960
by
ISBN: 1738760901Date: 2023Experience the rich and vibrant history of this simple yet sophisticated garment and the skill, tradition, symbolism, and art it represents through over 600 images. Displayed on over 100 full-page color images are supreme examples of the kimono, representing the best from the world's private and museum collections. -
The Book of Kimono
by
ISBN: 0870115006Date: 1982-11-01A practical guide to selecting, wearing and choosing accessories for a kimono, with tips on care and preservation, and a brief history of Japan's traditional garment. This practical and attractive book makes available for the first time the basic knowledge and vocabulary needed to select and put on a kimono and obi. Whether for women or men, all kimono are cut and sewn essentially form a single pattern, but a number of variations must be considered, depending on the occasion. -
Chinese Dress
by
ISBN: 9780804836630Date: 2008-01-15Featuring over 450 archival photographs and line drawings, Chinese Dress traces the evolution of Chinese clothing from court and formal costumes to the fashions of modern China. A comprehensive and sumptuously illustrated book, Chinese Dress is the essential reference for costume historians, fashion designers and collectors, as well as lovers of beautiful clothes everywhere. -
Chinese Dress in Detail
by
ISBN: 9780500480939Date: 2023-11-28A head-to-toe exploration of Chinese dress through sumptuous, detailed photography of some of the most fascinating historic and contemporary pieces in the V&A's outstanding collection. -
Couture Korea
by
ISBN: 9780939117826Date: 2017-11-30Couture Korea highlights traditional ways of dressing and shows how contemporary haute couture is rooted in Korean tradition. Through garments including baeja (woman's vest), po (man's outerwear), and baegilbok (child's costume for the 100th-day celebration), this Korean fashion book explores how each gender dresses during different seasons, on special occasions, and according to social status. Interviews with contemporary fashion designers Jin Teok and Karl Lagerfeld and historians Minjee Kim and Cho Hyo Sook examine how historical and modern clothing design reinvigorates Korean cultural identity. -
Fashionable Traditions: Asian Handmade Textiles in Motion
by
ISBN: 9781498586504Date: 2020Textiles play a decisive role in history: attire not only indicates status, gender, ethnicity, and religion but illustrates how such boundaries are continuously being negotiated, shifted, and recreated. Fashionable Traditions captures the complex reality of Asian handmade textile production and consumption. From traditionalist discourse and cultural authenticity to fashion and market trends, the contributors to this collection demonstrate the multilayered influence of often contradictory forces. In-depth, ethnographic case studies reveal the entangled relationships between local artisans, external interventions, and consumers, while acknowledging the broader frameworks in which such relationships are situated. -
Hanbok
by
ISBN: 9788997639410Date: 2013-12-16Hanbok embodies many of the social and aesthetic values of the Korean people. In accordance with the emphasis on social harmony found in Confucian philosophy, the choice of hanbok varied depending on one's position in society. Its beautifully flowing lines and harmonious color schemes are important aesthetic values found in Korean art. This book will examine the origins, history, and the unique characteristics of hanbok and its contemporary standing. -
India in Fashion: The Impact of Indian Dress and Textiles on the Fashionable Imagination
by
ISBN: 9780847871100Date: 2023-03-21India in Fashion explores the beautiful and sophisticated history and aesthetics of traditional Indian fashion, dress, and textiles and their profound impact on European and American fashion from the eighteenth century to today. -
Indian Textiles
by
ISBN: 9783791349312Date: 2014-06-28This dazzling array of Indian textiles from one of the world's most important and eclectic private collections contains many images never before published. A treasure trove of Indian textiles, this book ranges from 14th century trade cloths found as far away as Central Asia, Japan, Bhutan, and Afghanistan to Indian folk textiles and costumes. -
The Offbeat Sari
by
ISBN: 9781872005645Date: 2023-08-01The Offbeat Sari will explore how the sari has become a site for design innovation, an expression of identity, a form of resistance, and a crafted object carrying layers of cultural meanings. -
Sarong Kebaya: Peranakan Fashion in an Interconnected World, 1500-1950
by
ISBN: 9789810901462Date: 2015-07-31This book traces the history of the costume of Peranakan women; specifically, the sarong, kebaya, and baju panjang. -
Textiles of the Middle East and Central Asia: The Fabric of Life
by
ISBN: 9780500519912Date: 2017-11-28Textiles of the Middle East and Central Asia explores the significance and beauty of textiles from across the Middle East, Turkey, and Central Asia. This vast region has been the focus of population movements, exploration, and trade for thousands of years and is home to a wealth of textile traditions. From the intricate embroidery on a Palestinian wedding dress to the complex iconography on an Afghan war rug, textiles reflect the beliefs, practices, and experiences of people from these lands. -
Theatricality of the Closet: Fashion, Performance, and Subjectivity between Victorian Britain and Meiji Japan
by
ISBN: 9780810145900Date: 2023-09-15Examines fashion and clothing controversies of the nineteenth century, drawing on performance theory to reveal how the apparently superficial or frivolous deeply affects the creation of identity. By interrogating a set of seemingly disparate examples from the same period but widely distant settings--Victorian Britain and Meiji-era Japan--Carriger disentangles how small, local, ordinary practices became enmeshed in a global fabric of cultural and material surfaces following the opening of trade between these nations in 1850.
-
Brilliant Bodies: Fashioning Courtly Men in Early Renaissance Italy
by
ISBN: 9780271090603Date: 2022-02-21Interpreting surviving objects, visual representations in a wide range of media, and a diverse array of primary textual sources, McCall argues that Renaissance masculine dress was a political phenomenon that fashioned power and patriarchal authority. -
Designed in the USSR: 1950-1989
by
ISBN: 9780714875576Date: 2018-04-13A fascinating glimpse into design behind the Iron Curtain, revealed through the products and graphics of everyday Soviet life. This survey of Soviet design from 1950 to 1989 features more than 350 items from the Moscow Design Museum's unique collection. -
Dressing Up: A History of Fancy Dress in Britain
by
ISBN: 9781789145298Date: 2022-10-18Covers the colorful story of dressing up, from the accession of Queen Victoria to the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II. During this time, fancy dress became a regular part of people's social lives, and the craze for it spread across Britain and the Empire, reaching every level of society. Spectacular and witty costumes appeared at suburban street carnivals, victory celebrations, fire festivals, missionary bazaars, and the extravagant balls of the wealthy. -
European Folk Dress Bibliography
by
ISBN: 0903407043Date: 1973A guide to 555 books and other sources of illustrations and information. -
Everyday Fashion: Interpreting British Clothing Since 1600
by
ISBN: 9781350232457Date: 2023-12-28Beginning at 1550 - the start of an era during which the word 'fashion' came to mean stylistic change rather than the act of making - each chapter explores the definition of everyday fashion and how this has changed over time, demonstrating innovative methodologies for researching the everyday. The variety and significance of everyday fashion cultures are further highlighted by a series of illustrated object biographies written by Britain's leading fashion curators, showcasing the rich diversity of everyday fashion in British museum collections. -
Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915
by
ISBN: 9783791350622Date: 2010-12-15Luxurious textiles, exacting tailoring, and lush trimmings abound in this glorious volume that celebrates the evolution of European dress through two centuries. Fashion is in the details. The textiles, tailoring, and trimmings all work together in the creation of the finest pieces. Drawing on the Los Angeles County Museum of Art's internationally known fashion collection, this gorgeous book tells the story--in words and beautiful pictures--of fashion's aesthetic and technical development from the Age of Enlightenment to World War I, a period when fashionable dress underwent sweeping changes. -
Folk Costume of Eastern Europe
by
ISBN: 0823802132Date: 1977-11-01Examines the characteristics of representative costumes from the various countries and regions of Eastern Europe and how they are influenced by climate, geography, and historical events. -
Folk Costume of Southern Europe
by
ISBN: 0823800881Date: 1972-10-01Describes the regional costumes of Italy, Switzerland, Spain, Portugal, and Mediterranean ports and islands, and the influence on them of climate, geography, and historical events. -
Folk Costume of Western Europe
by
ISBN: 0823800873Date: 1971-02-01Describes the national and regional costumes of ten Western European countries. -
Folk Dress in Europe and Anatolia
by
ISBN: 1859732828Date: 1999-11-01This absorbing and interdisciplinary book examines dress in a broad range of folk cultures - from Turkey, Greece, and Slovakia to Norway, Latvia, and Lithuania, to name but a few. Authors reveal the connection between folk dress and ancient myths, cults and rituals, as well as the communicative aspects of folk dress. -
From Traditional Attire to Modern Dress: Modes of Identification, Modes of Recognition in the Balkans
by
ISBN: 1443831867Date: 2011-09-01The essays in this volume discuss the visible elements, such as clothing, jewellery, the opulence of the elite, fashion and styles, but they also inform the reader about the manner in which these were connected to political and social developments. The articles in this volume highlight important themes regarding the history of textiles, the shifting of trading and manufacturing centres, the professionalization of the various fields in the history of fashion, and the connection with the introduction and proliferation of steam-powered machines and later of electrical equipment. -
Medieval Clothing and Textiles 13
by
ISBN: 9781783272150Date: 2017-06-16The best new research on medieval clothing and textiles, drawing from a range of disciplines. Three of the essays in this collection focus on Italy, with contributions on footwear in Lucca based on documentary evidence of the fourteenth century; aristocratic furnishings as described in a royal letter of the fifteenth century, along with its first translation into English; and Boccaccio's treatment of disguise involving Christian/Islamic identity shifts in his Decameron. The Bayeux Tapestry is discussed as a narrative artwork that adopts various costumes for semiotic purposes. -
Mourning Dress
by
ISBN: 9780047460166Date: 1983-07-01The function and ritual of European funerals -- The social status of widows -- The origins of fashionable mourning dress up to 1600 -- Mourning dress, 1600-1700 -- Mourning dress, 1700-1800 -- Mourning dress, 1800-1910 -- Children and mourning -- The mourning dress and textile industries -- Mourning jewellry -- The colours of mourning -- The breakdown of mourning traditions : mourning dress from 1910. -
Möte Med Mode : Folkliga Kläder 1750-1900 i Nordiska Museet
by
ISBN: 9171085688Date: 2014Catalog from the exhibition "Möte Med Mode" which highlighted the "peasant" or folk dress and formal wear as opposed to clothing choices of the "gentry" in Northern Europe. -
Silk for the Vikings
by
ISBN: 9781782972181Date: 2014-05-30Beginning with a presentation of the silk finds in the Oseberg burial, the richest Viking burial find ever discovered, the other silk finds from high status graves in Scandinavia are discussed along with an introduction to the techniques used to produce raw silk and fabrics. Later chapters concentrate on trade and exchange, considering the role of silk items both as trade objects and precious gifts, and in the light of coin finds. -
Theatricality of the Closet: Fashion, Performance, and Subjectivity between Victorian Britain and Meiji Japan
by
ISBN: 9780810145900Date: 2023-09-15Examines fashion and clothing controversies of the nineteenth century, drawing on performance theory to reveal how the apparently superficial or frivolous deeply affects the creation of identity. By interrogating a set of seemingly disparate examples from the same period but widely distant settings--Victorian Britain and Meiji-era Japan--Carriger disentangles how small, local, ordinary practices became enmeshed in a global fabric of cultural and material surfaces following the opening of trade between these nations in 1850.
-
Women's Work: To Hold Your Heart in Your Teeth: The Visual Language of the Romanian Blouse
by
ISBN: 9789083350165Date: 2024-06-25Made by generations of women, the folk garment of the Romanian blouse secured its language despite eons of fierce changes. Author Simona Bortis-Schultz creates a cultural-historical biography of the blouse, from Neolithic beginnings in northeastern Romania and western Ukraine, through the period of folk revival, the Communist era and the post-Communist emigration out of the region.
-
Covering the Moon: An Introduction to Middle Eastern Face Veils
by
ISBN: 9789042919907Date: 2008-12-31This book describes and illustrates the history of face veils, from its pre-Islamic origins to the present day. It tells about the many regional variations, from Morocco in the far west to Central Asia in the northeast. It emphasizes the role of face veils as a form of dress and identity, rather than a garment that conceals an individual's persona. Gillian Vogelsang-Eastwood (Ph.D. Manchester, 1989) is director of the Textile Research Centre, Leiden, the Netherlands. She is a textile and dress historian specializing in the Middle Eastern dress, notably archaeological items from ancient and medieval Egypt. She has been working in the field of veils and veiling since the early 1980s. -
Dressed with Distinction: Garments from Ottoman Syria
by
ISBN: 9780990762690Date: 2019-04-01Dressed with Distinction offers a window onto the history of textile production in the Middle East during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, until political and social changes led to the dominance of Western-style commercially manufactured attire. In addition to articulating the social and seasonal contexts in which the garments were worn, this book examines the styles of dress of women, men, and children in Ottoman Syria, including cloaks (abaya), head coverings (hatta), women?s body coverings (carsaf), and jackets (qumbas). -
Fashioning the modern Middle East: Gender, Body, and Nation
by
ISBN: 1350135240Explores the role of the dressed and undressed body in the making of the modern Middle East, from perspectives such as nation, gender, post-colonialism and historiography. -
Textiles of the Islamic World
by
ISBN: 9780500515273Date: 2010-10-31This book surveys the wide array of textiles made, worn, used, and displayed throughout the Islamic world, from the glorious fabrics of the past to those produced today. Hundreds of illustrations feature examples from around the globe, including embroidered Persian prayer cloths, Anatolian ikat coats, Ottoman beaded purses, Caucasian striped silk bags, Berber women's shawls, Arab tent decorations, Yemeni indigo robes, Indonesian batik sarongs, and West African strip-woven cloths. Region by region, the book provides details of local history, particular textile traditions, materials, dyes, special forms of decoration, and information on current practice. -
Textiles of the Middle East and Central Asia: The Fabric of Life
by
ISBN: 9780500519912Date: 2017-11-28Textiles of the Middle East and Central Asia explores the significance and beauty of textiles from across the Middle East, Turkey, and Central Asia. This vast region has been the focus of population movements, exploration, and trade for thousands of years and is home to a wealth of textile traditions. From the intricate embroidery on a Palestinian wedding dress to the complex iconography on an Afghan war rug, textiles reflect the beliefs, practices, and experiences of people from these lands.
-
Traditional Palestinian Costume: Origins and Evolution
by
ISBN: 9781566568258Date: 2011-05-17Based on over twenty-five years of extensive field research and the culling of museum resources and publications from around the world, this book presents the most exhaustive and up-to-date study of the origins of Palestinian embroidery and costume--from antiquity through medieval Arab textile arts to the present. It documents region by region the evolution of costume and the textile arts in Palestine in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
-
Beauty, Honor, and Tradition: The Legacy of Plains Indian Shirts
by
ISBN: 0816639477Date: 2001-03-29"Beauty, Honor, and Tradition: The Legacy of Plains Indian Shirts represents a powerful collaboration between two great museums - the National Museum of the American Indian/Smithsonian Institution, and The Minneapolis Institute of Arts - and two curators, father and son members of the A'aninin Indian Tribe of Montana. George P. Horse Capture, and his son, Joseph D. Horse Capture, bring different insights to this project as they explore new relationships among the shirts, the shirtmakers, the historians and scholars, and the audience of Indians and non-Indians alike." -
Denim: The Fabric That Built America, 1935-1944
by
ISBN: 9781909526976Date: 2024-10-29The photographs in this coffee table volume are from the archive of the Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information. photographs were taken between 1939 and 1945 by some of America's most accomplished photographers, including Dorothea Lange, Arthur Rothstein, Russell Lee and Gordon Park. Subjects were were, by necessity, wearing the toughest utility fabric available to them - denim. Levi's, Lee, Carhartt, OshKosh - all the iconic American brands and more are here on workwear overalls, jeans, jackets and shirts. -
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume
by
ISBN: 0874366852Date: 1994-06-30A beautifully produced and illustrated (b & w) reference that offers complete descriptions and cultural contexts of the dress and ornamentation of the North American Indian tribes. The volume is divided into ten cultural regions, with each chapter giving an overview of the regional clothing. Individual tribes of the area follow in alphabetical order. Tribal information includes men's basic dress, women's basic dress, footwear, outer wear, hair styles, headgear, accessories, jewelry, armor, special costumes, garment decoration, face and body embellishment, transitional dress after European contact, and bibliographic references. Appendices include a description of clothing arts and a glossary. -
Ethnic Dress in the United States
by
Call Number: GT605 .E35 2015ISBN: 0759121486Date: 2014-10-30The clothes we wear tell stories about us--and are often imbued with cultural meanings specific to our ethnic heritage. This concise A-to-Z encyclopedia explores 150 different and distinct items of ethnic dress, their history, and their cultural significance within the United States. The clothing artifacts documented here have been or are now regularly worn by Americans as everyday clothing, fashion, ethnic or religious identifiers, or style statements. They embody the cultural history of the United States and its peoples, from Native Americans, white Anglo colonists, and forcibly relocated black slaves to the influx of immigrants from around the world. Entries consider how dress items may serve as symbolic linkages to home country and family or worn as visible forms of opposition to dominant cultural norms. Taken together, they offer insight into the ethnic-based core ideologies, myths, and cultural codes that have played a role in the formation and continued story of the United States. -
Real Clothes, Real Lives: 200 Years of What Women Wore
by
ISBN: 9780847873135Date: 2023-09-05Groundbreaking in its focus on the everyday clothing of ordinary American women--a subject neglected in most fashion histories--Real Clothes, Real Lives highlights over 300 garments and accessories from the Smith College Historic Clothing Collection. This unique survey honors countless lives, tracing through the lens of dress how women's roles have changed over the decades. -
Spanish Thread on Indian Looms: Mexican Folk Costume
by
ISBN: 0945486049Date: 1988-05-01Land, people and costume in prehispanic Mexico -- The emergence of folk costume in Mexico -- Twentieth-century Mexican folk costume. -
Textile Traditions of Mesoamerica and the Andes
by
ISBN: 9780292777149Date: 1996-10-01In this volume, anthropologists, art historians, fiber artists, and technologists come together to explore the meanings, uses, and fabrication of textiles in Mexico, Guatemala, Ecuador, Peru, and Bolivia from Precolumbian times to the present. Originally published in 1991 by Garland Publishing, the book grew out of a 1987 symposium held in conjunction with the exhibit "Costume as Communication: Ethnographic Costumes and Textiles from Middle America and the Central Andes of South America" at the Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology, Brown University. -
Weaving Identities: Construction of Dress and Self in a Highland Guatemala Town
by
ISBN: 9780292730991Date: 1995-01-01Traje, the brightly colored traditional dress of the highland Maya, is the principal visual expression of indigenous identity in Guatemala today. Whether worn in beauty pageants, made for religious celebrations, or sold in tourist markets, traje is more than "mere cloth"--it plays an active role in the construction and expression of ethnicity, gender, education, politics, wealth, and nationality for Maya and non-Maya alike. Carol Hendrickson presents an ethnography of clothing focused on the traje--particularly women's traje--of Tecpan, Guatemala, a bi-ethnic community in the central highlands. She covers the period from 1980, when the recent round of violence began, to the early 1990s, when Maya revitalization efforts emerged. -
Zoot Suit: The Enigmatic Career of an Extreme Style
by
ISBN: 9780812223033Date: 2014-03-05Before the fashion statements of hippies, punks, or hip-hop, there was the zoot suit, a striking urban look of the World War II era that captivated the imagination. Created by poor African American men and obscure tailors, the "drape shape" was embraced by Mexican American pachucos, working-class youth, entertainers, and swing dancers, yet condemned by the U.S. government as wasteful and unpatriotic in a time of war. The fashion became notorious when it appeared to trigger violence and disorder in Los Angeles in 1943--events forever known as the "zoot suit riot." In its wake, social scientists, psychiatrists, journalists, and politicians all tried to explain the riddle of the zoot suit, transforming it into a multifaceted symbol: to some, a sign of social deviance and psychological disturbance, to others, a gesture of resistance against racial prejudice and discrimination. As controversy swirled at home, young men in other places--French zazous, South African tsotsi, Trinidadian saga boys, and Russian stiliagi--made the American zoot suit their own.
-
Art in Oceania: A New History
by
ISBN: 9780500239018Masks and figural sculptures are the most familiar examples of the visual culture of Oceania, yet they provide only a glimpse of the fascinating art of this expansive and diverse region. The artisans of the Pacific Islands have produced objects ranging from stained and beaten fabric, rock engravings, and woven containers to tattooed and painted bodies, drawings on sand and paper, and contemporary installation art. This sweeping survey looks at the full range of objects created over several millennia, spanning the settlement of Oceania in the prehistoric period to the present day. -
Clothing the Pacific
by
ISBN: 9781859736661Date: 2003-06-01During the colonial period, Pacific Islanders acceptance of clothing was seen by Europeans as a civilizing sign. In reality, Islanders use of foreign cloth and clothing generally involved translating indigenous preoccupations into new forms of dress. Today, both imported and indigenous cloth feature prominently in Pacific Island exchange, religious practice, clothing, domestic space, public political activity, festivals, and the art and tourist markets. This book sets out to examine the multiple histories of cloth and clothing in the Pacific and to investigate its role in social innovation and resistance from the period of contact to the present day. -
Material Approaches to Polynesian Barkcloth
by
ISBN: 9789088909719Date: 2020-12-17Barkcloth or tapa, a cloth made from the inner bark of trees, was widely used in place of woven cloth in the Pacific islands until the 19th century. A ubiquitous material, it was integral to the lives of islanders and used for clothing, furnishings and ritual artefacts. Material Approaches to Polynesian Barkcloth takes a new approach to the study of the history of this region through its barkcloth heritage, focusing on the plants themselves and surviving objects in historic collections. This object-focused approach has filled gaps in our understanding of the production and use of this material through an investigation of this unique fabric's physical properties, transformation during manufacture and the regional history of its development in the 18th and 19th centuries.
Selected Online Regional Clothing and Dress Resources
-
Asian Fashion ArchiveA digital resource project highlighting Asian fashion, culture, and history. Includes museums and exhibitions, film clips, recommended publications, and more.
-
Folk Costume BlogA blog devoted to the knowledge of traditional folk clothing and embroidery.
-
Library of Congress, American Folk Life Center: Folk Life ProjectsCollections based on survey's conducted in 1970's by the American Folklife Center to assess and document the status of ethnic art traditions in Chicago, Rhode Island, Colorado, Maine, Montana, Blue Ridge Parkway and Lowell.
-
Metropolitan Museum of Art - Costume Institute CollectionsThe MET: Watson Library Digital Collections
Costume Institute Collections - includes documents on exhibitions, sketches, and more.
-
Folk Dances Around the WorldTraditional folk dances. The videos are classified in playlists according to cultural regions
-
Folklórico! (1987)This educational video from 1987 takes a closer look at the development and purpose of folklórico, or traditional Mexican dance, in the United States. Focusing on dancers from the Ballet Folklórico de San Antonio, the video looks back at the emergence of folklórico stage performances during the Mexican Revolution and its importance during the Chicano movement of the 1960s and 1970s. It also surveys the many reasons why Mexican-American dancers choose to participate in folklórico, from connecting to and learning about one's cultural heritage to preserving ethnic identity. At the conclusion of the film, the dancers perform at the San Antonio River Walk. This video was written and produced by donor Felicia Kongable.
-
Texas Archive of the Moving Image: Folk DanceFounded in 2002, the Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization working to discover, preserve, provide access to, and educate the community about Texas’ film heritage.
-
University of Southern California, Dance Heritage Video Archive: Folk DanceDevoted to preserving culturally significant recordings that document global and U.S. dance traditions, creative work by outstanding choreographers and performers, and performances that helped to advance the art form.
-
Above the Rest: Chopines As Trans-Mediterranean FashionThis essay traces the history of the chopine from antiquity to its dissemination across the Iberian Peninsula under Roman rule and then its transformation by the Moors into an unrivaled feature of upper-class women's dress in both Christian Spain and Italy. A detailed comparison between the late sixteenth-century luxury tapins of Valencia and the exceptionally high calcagnetti of Venice illuminates the regional difference in the ways in which chopines were made, how they were worn and how they came to be a paramount accessory of women's dress in Spain and Italy.
-
Building a New "World Fashion": Islamic Dress in the Twenty-First CenturyThis article critiques the concepts of "ethnic dress" and "world fashion" along with the common perception that there is only one world fashion system dominated by the West. A new framework-based on microcultures, cultures, and macrocultures-can allow us to recognize non-Western fashion systems that have a global reach.
-
A Comparative Analysis of the Characteristics and Images of Costume Colors in the Traditional Plays of Korea, China, and JapanThe purpose of this study was to analyze quantitatively the characteristics and images of costume colors in the traditional plays of Korea, China, and Japan.
-
The Day of the Dead: One Ritual, New Folk Costumes, and Old IdentitiesThe article provides an analysis of the role of the folk costumes in the attempts to revitalize an authentic cultural identity within a geographical region and to oppose the effects of external cultural influence.
-
Fashioning Heritage: Regional Costume and Tourism in Brittany, 1890-1937This article analyzes the conversion of peasant cultures into patrimony and "heritage" in early twentieth century France. It recounts more particularly how a seeming retreat from the wearing of traditional regional costume by the population of France's westernmost region of Brittany prompted new initiatives by regionalist and tourist advocates to safeguard it.
-
FashioNordic: Folk Costume as Performance of Genealogy and PlaceThis article elaborates on the embodiment of heritage via dressing practices in several rural and urban Nordic communities in the United States. Getting dressed is a shared human practice that we engage in and repeat most days, and for special occasions, traditional dress, or folk costume, comes into particular focus.
-
Foggie Diverse di Vestire de' Turchi: Turkish Costume Illustration and Cultural TranslationWilson explores how European perceptions of the Ottoman Turks were filtered through texts and images, particularly through Western costume books and portrait books. She argues that the visual images presented an interpretation of Ottoman society according to Western standards of status, profession and sexuality.
-
How Folk is Folk Costume?This article questions the general term "folk costume", a neologism introduced in the Croatian language in the 19th century. The romanticist invention of this term was precedeed by the establishment of the notion of a true and correct costume that has, since the Renaissance period, been upgraded on earlier allegorical representations. The author analyses the related folk terminology and its meanings in the wider Croatian and narrower North Dalmatian framework. The article outlines the local disciplinary usage of the term, as well as the global terminological situation today. It ends with the propositon for a teminological rehabilitation that legitimizes the refreshed methodological possibilites already widely used in many works.
-
Investigating the Blusa: The Cultural and Sartorial Biography of an Algerian DressThis essay describes the evolution of the garment known as a blusa , worn by urban women in north-western Algeria.
-
National Clothes as a Factor of the Ukrainian Ethnic Culture in the Context of Ethnic DesignPurpose of this research is to explore the use of folk costumes from Ukraine in the practice of contemporary professional artists and designers.
-
Weaving the Past in a Fabric: Old Believers’ Traditional CostumeCostume plays an important part in expressing ethnic identity. This article develops an analysis of the Old Believers’ traditional costume in its current usage. To differentiate between various uses for such material items, the article considers their active use, embedded in rituals and ceremonial life, and a passive use, as exhibits in a museum.
-
Appearance, Citizenship and Clothing Controls in Britain, 1939-1951 / By Tali Kot-OfekDissertation--Ph.D; The University of York (United Kingdom), 2021
-
The emperor's new clothes: a political economy study of the south african textiles and clothing industry / By H Lotta Takala-GreenishDissertation; University of London, 2015
-
Hanbok : a symbolic expression of Korean American identity, gender roles and culture : a study of Korean Americans at Duke University, Durham, North Carolina and University of California, Los Angeles / by Susie Ann Han.Dissertation; M.A. University of California, Los Angeles 2003
-
Remember Me This Way: the Role of Clothing in Contemporary British Death Practice / By Judith Mary SimpsonDissertation--Ph.D; University of Leeds, 2020
-
Revealing and concealing : official made dress in early moden Venice, 1520-1610 / By Jola PellumbiDissertation--Ph.D.; University of London, King's College (United Kingdom), 2017
-
The significance of black and white in individual, cultural and psychological mourning / By Antigoni VlachoyannisDissertation--Ed.D;Teachers College, Columbia University, 1994.