Local Collections
This is a list of local museums and institutions that have fashion and costume related collections or exhibits. Not all of these repositories have their collections available online, but most of them offer a searchable database to find descriptive information.
- The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and SciencesCheck out their Teacher's Guides (which includes a Costume and Makeup Guide and more!)
- Production Art Database (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences)Include costume design and production design drawings, animation art, storyboards and paintings.
- Undertaking the Making: LACMA Costume and Textiles Pattern ProjectIncludes free downloadable garment patterns of historic dress in the permanent collection.
Research Guides
Additional Fashion and Costume research guides at other institutions:
Looking for E-Books?
- E-books at UCLAA research guide to help you find the 1000s of e-books available in the UCLA Library.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online portal with access to e-books, reference works, images, and more on world dress and fashion throughout history. UCLA subscribes to this one module of Bloomsbury Fashion Central. - Design Library - Bloomsbury This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library gives comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day. - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UCLA. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires.
- Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsScanned public domain books from numerous research libraries, including some from the UC system.