Selected Resources
The Book of Printed Fabrics: From the 16th Century until Today by ISBN: 9783836562768Date: 2024-07-29Dedicated to the collections of the Musée de l'Impression sur Étoffes, a museum dedicated entirely to the history of fabric printing from the 17th century right up to the present day. Across two volumes, you'll discover nine illustrated chapters that being to glorious life a chronological and thematic overview of the Musée's unprecedented retrospective of the art of printed fabrics.
Ceremonial Textiles of Japan: 18th to 20th Centuries by ISBN: 9781738760916Date: 2024Showcases numerous color images featuring over one hundred of the rarest and most exquisite Japanese ceremonial textiles. The book includes over a hundred close-up shots to highlight the extraordinary craftsmanship behind these textiles.
Color in Knitting: By Designers, For Designers by ISBN: 9783897907027Date: 2023-09-25The book begins with a colour journey of fascinating patterns, designed and implemented by Stoll from both past decades and recent collections, which illustrate the different colour effects of multicolour knitting. In the second part of the book, the authors provide insight into the specific structures and techniques used to create these patterns; the section also includes stitch diagrams written using basic knitting symbol to further elucidate the construction of a knit.
Crafting textiles: Tablet Weaving, Sprang, Lace and Other Techniques from the Bronze Age to the Early 17th Century by ISBN: 9781789257625Date: 2021New research into the techniques of tablet weaving, sprang, braiding, knotting and lace is presented in this lavishly illustrated volume written by leading specialists from Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and USA. Drawing inspiration from the pioneering work of Peter Collingwood, this publication explores aspects of these craft skills in the prehistoric, Roman and medieval world through scientific, object-based analysis and 'research through making'.
Electronic Textiles: Smart Fabrics and Wearable Technology by ISBN: 0081002238Date: 2015-04-28The integration of electronics into textiles and clothing has opened up an array of functions beyond those of conventional textiles. These novel materials are beginning to find applications in commercial products, in fields such as communication, healthcare, protection and wearable technology.
Fabric for Fashion: The Complete Guide by ISBN: 9781913947934Date: 2022-03-01This book offers guidance by providing a mix of practical information, including industry vocabulary, and a wealth of stunning visual examples showing how designers, both past and present, have worked with textiles. Highlights of this new edition include additional chapters on: - Sustainable fabrics and fashion - Smart fabrics - Product development - Biosynthetic fibres.
The Fabric of Civilization: How Textiles Made the World by ISBN: 9781541617629Date: 2021-12-07The story of humanity is the story of textiles-as old as civilization itself. Textiles created empires and powered invention. They established trade routes and drew nations' borders. Since the first thread was spun, fabric has driven technology, business, politics, and culture. In The Fabric of Civilization, Virginia Postrel traces this surprising history, exposing the hidden ways textiles have made our world. Synthesizing groundbreaking research from economics, archaeology, and anthropology, Postrel weaves a rich tapestry of human cultural development.
Fabrics in Fashion Design: The Complete Textile Guide by ISBN: 9788417656966Date: 2023-08-08Intended for fashion students and fashion designers, this fabric book is indispensable for sourcing and selecting textiles for fashion. It will guide you to the perfect fabric for every design, helping you find the ideal material to achieve the desired effect and recommending different ways to use it.
Fabric: The Hidden History of the Material World by ISBN: 9781639361632Date: 2022-06-07In this book, bestselling author Victoria Finlay spins us round the globe, weaving stories of our relationship with cloth and asking how and why people through the ages have made it, worn it, invented it, and made symbols out of it. And sometimes why they have fought for it.
First Textiles: the beginnings of textile manufacture in Europe and the Mediterranean by ISBN: 9781785707988Date: 2019-01-25This book is devoted to the early textile production in Europe and the Mediterranean and aims to collect and investigate the combined evidence of textile and leather remains, tools, workplaces and textile iconography. The chapters discuss the recent achievements in the research of ancient textiles and textile production, textile techniques such as spinning, fabric and skin manufacture, use of textile tools and experimental textile archaeology.
Indian Textiles by ISBN: 9780500514320Date: 2008-11-24The interaction of peoples--indigenous tribes, invaders, traders, explorers--throughout India's history has built a culture legendary for its variety and color. From the Rann of Kutch to the Coromandel coast, from city to village, handloom weavers, block printers, textile painters, dyers, and embroiderers continue India's flourishing textile traditions. The authors have traveled thousands of miles in a country they know intimately to gather information and photographs of tribal and folk textiles woven for use within the family, as well as of workshop production in villages and towns. They first examine the cultural background to the textiles: the history, from the earliest civilizations to Post-Independence; the materials, including silks, cottons, and wool; and the techniques of weaving, printing, painting, and tie-dye.
Marimekko: Fabrics Fashion Architecture by ISBN: 9780300101836Date: 2003-11-10Founded in 1951 by visionary textile designer Armi Ratia and her husband, Viljo, the Marimekko Corporation in Finland not only sparked a revolution in pattern making but also pioneered a new definition of fashion that embraced the entire home environment. This book, a comprehensive study of Marimekko designs, presents more than 100 examples of the exuberant Marimekko fashions and home furnishings that gave the company a definitive presence on the world design stage. and examines Marimekko's impact on design in Finland and around the world. The company's most important designers, including Maija Isola and Vuokko Eskolin-Nurmesniemi, their contributions, and their stylistic development are also discussed.
Techno Textiles 2 by ISBN: 0500512450Date: 2006-03-17Following on the success of the first edition of Techno Textiles, the updated Techno Textiles 2 is completely revised and incorporates over 200 new illustrations, all in color. Textile technology has radically evolved in recent years, and many of the ideas mentioned in the first edition have now become reality, while countless new ones have been conceived.Techno Textiles 2 highlights advanced textiles in production and available to the designer, artist, architect, and consumer today. here are textiles for a new world: fabrics that shrink or expand to the desired size; textiles developed from carbon, steel, glass, and ceramics; materials that protect the wearer from environmental extremes on earth and in space.
Textile Design Theory in the Making by ISBN: 9781350061569Date: 2021-08-12Positioning textiles within contemporary design research, Textile Design Theory in the Making reveals how the theory and practice of textile design exist in a synergistic, creative relationship.Drawing on qualitative research methods, including auto-ethnography and feminist critique, the book provides a theoretical underpinning for textile designers working in interdisciplinary scenarios, uniting theory and texts from the fields of anthropology, philosophy, literature and material design.
Textiles and Fashion by ISBN: 9781845699314Date: 2014-11-12This major textbook is designed for students studying textiles and fashion at higher and undergraduate level, as well as those needing a comprehensive and authoritative overview of textile materials and processes. The first part of the book reviews the main types of natural and synthetic fibres and their properties.
Textiles and Fashion: Exploring Printed Textiles, Knitwear, Embroidery, Menswear and Womenswear by ISBN: 9782940496006Date: 2014-03-27Textiles and Fashion explores the integration of textile design with fashion. It begins with a brief history of textiles, showing the links with technical innovation and social developments. It then focuses on the processes of textile design, including the ethical and sustainable issues around textiles today.
Textiles and Textile Production in Europe by ISBN: 9781842174630Date: 2012-02-28Twenty-three chapters collect and systematise essential information on textiles and textile production from sixteen European countries, resulting in an up-to-date and detailed sourcebook and an easily accessible overview of the development of European textile technology and economy from prehistory to AD 400.
Textiles on Film by ISBN: 9781350026551Date: 2024-03-07The imagined worlds of the cinematic mise-en-scène are rich with textiles: fabrics drape over sets, serve as props, and develop mood and character as dress and décor. A much-needed examination of the cultural and emotional impact of textiles as mediated through cinematic technology, Textiles on Film broadens our understanding of the dynamic relationship between fabric and film.
Textiles Through the Ages by ISBN: 1854441841Date: 2006-12-31This booklet is intended to illustrate the history of textiles and weaving through the centuries by bringing together some key objects from the Ashmolean Museum's many collections. The oldest objects tell us about the early history of the fibres used by weavers and how different textile techniques developed and spread in the ancient world. The later objects- not arranged in any strict sequence- show how textiles were used in society to indicate rank and status, and how they were transported from one culture to another, sometimes over great distances, to become both functional and luxury items, or occasionally exotic articles of high fashion.
World Textiles: A Sourcebook by ISBN: 1566568706Date: 2012-01-01Featuring textiles from the Balkans, the Middle East, Asia, Africa, Central and South America, this book reveals an eclectic selection of over 150 textiles that illustrate the richness and diversity of world textiles. Includes various techniques of production: embroidery, weaving, printing and dyeing * Shows each individual textile in full through a series of detailed photographs
A Dictionary of Costume and Fashion by ISBN: 9780486402949Date: 1998-06-15Fascinating, fact-filled compendium defines over 10,000 words associated with wearing apparel and fashion. From bateau necklines to trilbys and vamps, individual terms are assembled alphabetically in groups according to dress parts, fabrics, and other style categories. Enhanced with over 750 clearly detailed illustrations, this comprehensive guide will be welcomed by writers, designers, and historians.- Fabrics in Fashion Design: The Complete Textile Guide by ISBN: 9788417656966Date: 2023-08-08Intended for fashion students and fashion designers, this fabric book is indispensable for sourcing and selecting textiles for fashion. It will guide you to the perfect fabric for every design, helping you find the ideal material to achieve the desired effect and recommending different ways to use it.
Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles 7th Edition by ISBN: 9780870057076Date: 2009-03-27Features over 14,000 definitions of fibres, fabrics, laws and regulations affecting textile materials and processing, inventors of textile technology, business and trade terms relevant to textiles. This dictionary is a useful reference for those working in the textile industry.
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory by ISBN: 9780764146282Date: 2011-04-01This valuable materials directory for professional dressmakers and fashion designers is also a good reference source for students of fashion design, as well as for those who make their own garments. The author points out the best fabrics for creating specific garments, explaining how each fabric's qualities make it suitable for various items of apparel. Knowing which fabrics can support a structured silhouette is fundamental to fashion design, and this book explains the use of stiff or crisply textured fabrics for tailored garments, as well as soft textured fabrics for rounded forms. Ornamentation is also discussed, and includes advice on how to work with different fabrics to create what author Gail Baugh classifies as opulent, simple, and in-between decorative effects.
Looking at Textiles: A Guide to Technical Terms by ISBN: 9781606060803Date: 2012-01-17Textiles have been made and used by every culture throughout history. However diverse--whether an ancient Egyptian mummy wrapping, a Turkish carpet, an Italian velvet, or an American quilt--all textiles have basic elements in common. They are made of fibers, constructed into forms, and patterned and colored in ways that follow certain principles. Looking at Textiles serves as a guide to the fundamentals of the materials and techniques used to create textiles. The selected technical terms explain what textiles are, how they are made, and what they are made of, and include definitions of terms relating to fibers, dyes, looms and weaving, and patterning processes. The many illustrations, including macro- and microscale photographs of a range of ancient and historic museum textiles, demonstrate the features described in the text.
- Anni Albers, weaver and graphic artist, 1899- / by Marion Lichtwardt BuzzardDissertation--M.A.; University of California, Riverside, 1980.
- Developing Fashion Embellishment : Decorative Alternatives to Fur and Exotic Animal Materials / By Naomi Bailey-CooperDissertation--Ph.D; University of the Arts London (United Kingdom), 2019.
- Exploring the significance of clothing to people with dementia using sensory ethnography / by Rebecka Fleetwood-SmithDissertation--Ph.D; University of West London, 2020.
- From the Loom to Wear: Shapeable Woven Textiles from Seamless Fashion / by Kang Hyun AnDissertation--Ph.D.; Heriot-Watt University (United Kingdom), 2019.
- Patterned textiles in Greek art : a study of their designs in relationship to real textiles and to local and period styles / by Diane Lee CarrollDissertation--Ph.D.; University of California, Los Angeles, 1965.
- The Relationship Between Italy's Textile and Fashion Production, 1945-1985 / by Luciana Floriana SaviDissertation--Ph.D.; Kingston University (United Kingdom), 2019.
- Textiles and the slow fashion movement : creating community through cloth / by Sarah Margaret RavenDissertation--University of British Columbia, 2023.
- [Record of Creative work in the Field of Costume Design] : a study of disposable fabrics / by Sandra Lee Haig.Dissertation--M.A.; University of California, Los Angeles--Art, 1964.
- Animals in text and textile : storytelling in the Medieval world / edited by Evelin Wetter and Kathryn Starkey ; with contributions by Laurent Auberson [and fifteen others].Conference Proceedings. Riggisberg : Abegg-Stiftung, 2019.
- Central Asian textiles and their contexts in the early Middle Ages / edited by Regula Schorta ; with contributions by A.D.H. Bivar [and seventeen others].Conference Proceedings. Riggisberg : Abegg-Stiftung, 2006.
- Development of floral textile patterns on the base of the golden and Fibonacci geometryIlieva, Julieta; Bristol: IOP Publishing. IOP conference series. Materials Science and Engineering, 2021, Vol.1031 (1), p.12027.
- Journal of textile design research and practice.London : Bloomsbury; Began with: Volume 1, Issue 1 (2013).
- Nanotechnology in TextilesYetisen, Ali K ; Qu, Hang ; Manbachi, Amir ; Butt, Haider ; Dokmeci, Mehmet R ; Hinestroza, Juan P ; Skorobogatiy, Maksim ; Khademhosseini, Ali ; Yun, Seok Hyun; United States: American Chemical Society. ACS nano, 2016, Vol.10 (3), p.3042-3068.
- Through the thread of time : Southeast Asian textiles : the James H.W. Thompson Foundation symposium papers / edited by Jane Puranananda.Conference Proceedings. Bangkok : James H.W. Thompson Foundation : Published and distributed in Thailand by River Books, 2004.