Quick Links
- Connect from Off-Campus (Proxy Server or VPN)
- Course Guides
- UCLA Library Course Reserves
- UCLA Arts Library
- Arts Library Facebook Page
- UCLA Library Cinema and Media Studies Research Blog
- Arts Library Film and Television Microforms
- UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections
- SRLF (Southern Regional Library Facility)
- Reserve a Study Room (College or YRL)
- Borrow a Laptop Computer
- Lynda.com Online Tutorials
New Books in Film and Television
Loading...
Film and Television Research in the UCLA Library
Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for research on Film and Television. This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information. Please use the informational tabs to find resources in different information categories. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, please contact Diana King.
Catalogs
There are a number of library catalogs available to UCLA researchers. For further information on the catalogs and what they each contain, check out the Books Tab in this guide.
- UCLA Library Catalog
UCLA Library holdings - Melvyl
A combined search of UC-wide holdings and catalogs worldwide, including selected article indexing. - OCLC WorldCat
Library holdings worldwide - UCLA Film and Television Archive
The catalog of the Film and Television Archive's holdings. - Instructional Media Collections and Services Catalog
IMCS holdings are also in the UCLA Library Catalog, but the collection does have a separately searchable database.
Major Online Sources
These online sources are good places to start searching for articles and reference information on film and television. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource. All of these are subscription resources from the Library, so you will need to make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access if you are researching from home.
For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.
Guides to Citation Styles
- Guide to Citation Styles
Resources for citation guidelines in arts, humanities, and social sciences fields. - Chicago Manual of Style Online
Online subscription version of the full Chicago Manual of Style. - MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.)
Most recent print guide to Modern Language Association (MLA) style. - MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd Ed.)
MLA Style for publishing authors. - Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
Most recent complete print guide to Chicago Style. - Citing Film, Video, and Online Media (MLA Style)
Guide from UCB Media Center. - Audiovisual Citation Guidelines (British Universities Film & Video Council)
Examples of best practices for citing media materials, including clips, DVD extras, games, and more. - A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
Student-friendly print guide to Chicago Style.
Librarian |
Links: Profile and Guides |
General Reference
Research assistance at the UCLA Arts Library is available in person on weekdays. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.








Loading...
