Welcome
![]()
Oudry, Jean-Baptiste. Allegory of Europe. 1722. Sarah Campbell Baffler Foundation. Houston, TX. Wikimedia Commons. Web. 4 September 2010.
Quick Start
- ARTstor
High resolution digital images of visual material from many time periods and cultures. Focuses on, but not limited to, the arts. Search by keyword or browse by geographic location, classification (media), or collection (image repository). - AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
Over 4.6 million photographs from the Associated Press dating back to 1826 to present day. Tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920's, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present. - UCLA Digital Collections
The UCLA Library's repository for digital collections, including images, texts, and audio. The collections include the AIDS Poster Collection, Images of UCLA, Los Angeles Times Photographs, Patent Medicine Trade Cards, and more. - Digital Images Collections Guide
A curated bibliography of quality digital image collections spanning ~85 subjects, including ~950 digital collections.
General Reference
Research assistance in the arts (Architecture, Art, Art History, Costume, Design, Fashion, Media Arts, Film, Photography, Television, Theater, and Urban Design) is available at the Arts Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.
The Road to Research and "Where Do I Start" also provide tutorials on the research process.
Image Research in the UCLA Library
Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for locating image resources.
This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding images. Please use the tabs above to locate frequently recommended resources such as finding out how to cite image resources, rights and reproduction, and a list of online resources to find images. If you have any questions or suggestions for additions to the guide, or, if you need additional assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact me!
Recommended reading for beginning your research: Yale University Library's Pretty Pictures: An Introduction to Image Research Methodology provides a concise and informative introductory guide to researching images for scholarly pursuits.
"Finding Images" in UCLA Library Research Guides
Here is a list of other UCLA Library Research Guides with sections on Finding Images.
- Aerial Photographs
- Ancient Near East and Egypt
- Anthropology
- Architecture and Urban Design
- Art and Art History
- Cartographic Resources
- Contemporary Art and Artists
- Contemporary Russian Culture
- Design Media Arts
- Fashion and Costume
- Film and Television
- History
- Jewish Studies
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Studies
- Los Angeles and Southern California Architecture
- Maps, Atlases, Aerial Images, and Cartographic Resources
- Middle Eastern Studies
- Music Scores and Sheet Music
- Pacific Islands Studies
- Religion
- Satellite and Remote Sensing Images
- Southeast Asian Studies
- Theater
- Urban Planning
- Women's Studies
Architecture, Design, and Digital Services Librarian & Interim Resource Librarian for Urban Planning |
Contact Info Arts Library 1400 Public Affairs Building Box 951392 Los Angeles, CA 90095-1392 Office: 310-206-4587 Send Email Subjects: Architecture and Urban Design, Design Media Arts, Fashion and Costume, Image Resources, Urban Planning Get Help:: Janine's spring quarter reference desk hours in the Arts Library are Tuesday: 1pm-4pm and Thursday 11am-1pm. (except holidays); please contact me for an appointment other days/times. |
Author's Note
This research guide was compiled by Tammi Kim, Arts Library Graduate Intern, Summer 2010. Please feel free to suggest improvements by contacting Tammi at: tammiyk [at] ucla dot edu.
Images Used
Images used in this guide were found at the Wikimedia Commons and are part of the public domain.




Loading...
