Fashion and Costume

Also available through UCLA Library Digital Collections.
Collection consists of Cashin's design illustrations, writings on design, contractual paperwork, photographs of her clothing designs, and press materials including press releases and editorial coverage of her work. Personal photographs and letters to Cashin are also included. Examples of Cashin's fashion and accessory designs in the library's collection are not from the Cashin estate, but were given to the library anonymously in 2005.

David C. Copley's collection consists of approximately 502 costume sketches representing designs for film, television, and theatre productions (possibly community theatre). Represented are the designs of many talented costume designers such as: Adrian, Cecil Beaton, Donfeld, Morton Haack, Edith Head, Dorothy Jeakins, Elois Jenssen, Charles LeMaire, Jean Louis, Bob Mackie, Walter Plunkett, Helen Rose, Anthea Sylbert, Travilla, and Theadora Van Runkle.

Collection consists of costume designs, preparatory sketches, textile swatches, and designer notes related to the career of costume designer Dorothy Jeakins. The bulk of the costume designs are original color works documenting precise details of buttons, bows, trim, hair styles, and, occasionally, props. Additionally there are pencil sketches that were probably not intended to function as exact costume drawings; instead, it is likely they were created to capture the characters' collective persona. Many of the renderings include swatches of fabric representing the designer's ideas for color, texture, and/or fabrics, and some contain her handwritten annotations documenting a project title, scene, actor and/or character name, measurements, or other notes about the character.

Material in the Eiko Ishioka papers relates to nearly every aspect of the designer's multi-faceted career. Her work in the performing arts is documented through costume drawings and sketches, set design drawings, research material, production records and photographs, fabric samples, and audiovisual material for numerous stage projects, especially the Broadway productions M. Butterfly (1988) and David Copperfield: Dreams & Nightmares (1996), the operas Chushingura (1997) and The Ring of the Nibelung (1997-1998), and Cirque du Soleil's Varekai (2002). Although this collection holds little material relating to her work in film, it does contain original costume design drawings and sketches for Bram Stoker's Dracula (1992), as well as several posters designed by Ishioka for the Japanese releases of that film, Apocalypse Now, and others.

Record Series 122 contains art project, press, and event files of students at the College of Fine Arts at the University of California, Los Angeles, generated between 1937-1985. Project files feature the artistic work of students. Included work is primarily that of original fashion and costume design sketches, but also includes booklets, slides, and photographs of student work. Press files include clippings, event invitations, and some correspondence regarding the work and recognition of graduate students and alumni. Event files include clippings, photographs, and organizational materials of events staged by or involving graduate students.

Also available through UCLA Library Digital Collections.
Collection consists of Cashin's design illustrations, writings on design, contractual paperwork, photographs of her clothing designs, and press materials including press releases and editorial coverage of her work. Personal photographs and letters to Cashin are also included. Examples of Cashin's fashion and accessory designs in the library's collection are not from the Cashin estate, but were given to the library anonymously in 2005.

Giorgio di Sant'Angelo (1933-1989) was an Italian-American designer. Born Count Jorge Alberto Imperatrice di Sant'Angelo e Ratti di Desio in Florence, Italy, he was raised in Argentina and Brazil, and then trained as an architect and industrial designer in Italy.
Collection consists of personal correspondence and photographs; diaries; early design work; drawings, designs, and photographs of his work in fashion and in other areas of design (including fabric); and press and public appearance material (including awards and videos).

Lucile, Lady Duff-Gordon, was born Lucy Christiana Sutherland in London in 1863. She began a dressmaking business after her divorce from James Stuart Wallace. The business was successful and evolved into Maison Lucile, a couture house known for Lucile's ethereal and colorful designs, as well as for its celebrity clientele. In 1900 she married Sir Cosmo Duff-Gordon. In addition to her couture house, she wrote fashion columns for the Hearst papers as well as fashion magazines. Some of the commissions she worked on around the time of these sketches were for the British premiere of the Franz Lehar operetta, The merry widow (1907), for Broadway's Ziegfeld follies revues (1915-1921), and for the Hollywood film, Way down East (1920).

Collection consists of business correspondence, records, and legal contracts with companies such as G.R. Designs, Harmon Knitwear, Lily of France, Capezio, I. Magnin, and Montgomery Ward. The collection also includes publicity materials such as press releases, press kits, mounted advertisements, and clippings. The fashion photographs range from the 1950s to 1985 and depict fashion shows; seasonal collections; knitwear; woolens; the No-Bra bra; and swimsuit designs, including the monokini, thong, and pubikini. The photographs also include extensive photographs of the Unisex Look; photographs of Gernreich with models; Bella Lewitzky photographs; and photographs taken for Time magazine. The collection includes an extensive amount of clothing and patterns, as well as recipes from his soup business, and a few products such as perfume and a tissue box. The collection also includes portraits of Gernreich taken by photographers including William Claxton, Julian Wasser, Helmut Newton, Jacques Faure, Wallace Seawell; Bella Lewitzky Dance Company business records; awards including several Coty awards; and family papers.