Digital Image Collections
Museums & LibrariesRecommended Websites
This is the "Home" page of the "Fashion and Costume" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ucla.edu/costume Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Related Subject Guides

 

Fashion and Costume News

Check out this TED Talk: "Johanna Blakley: Lessons from fashion's free culture" (on no copyright in the fashion industry)

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Users will need to set-up a proxy server to gain access to Google Scholar.



 

Fashion and Costume Design Research in the UCLA Library

Welcome to the UCLA Library guide for researching fashion and costume design topics.

This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools, resources, and strategies for finding information related to fashion and costume design. Please use the tabs above to locate frequently recommended resources. If you need additional assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact me!

Online Portals

  • The Berg Fashion Library  Icon
    The Berg Fashion Library is a unique online portal which offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more. This resource is especially valuable for scholars, students, professionals, and others interested in world dress and fashion throughout history.

    You can search for information by keyword, or explore fashion by place or time period.
  • Europeana Fashion  Icon
    Online access to outstanding fashion content from Europe’s leading museums and private fashion archives.

Library Catalogs

There are a number of library catalogs available to UCLA researchers.

  • UCLA Library Catalog  Icon
    UCLA Library holdings
  • WorldCat  Icon
    Library holdings worldwide
  • Melvyl  
      
      Icon
    Searches holdings of all 10 UC libraries and libraries worldwide, plus selected article indexing.

Citation Styles

Here are some useful guides on how to cite works and which citation styles to use. 

  • Chicago Manual of Style  Icon
    Used for humanities and social sciences.
  • Modern Language Association  Icon
    For arts and humanities.
  • BibMe  Icon
    Citation generator. The interface gives you the option to search for the resource you want to cite or to manually fill in the appropriate fields to create your citations.
  • Road to Research: Etiquette Road  Icon
    Created by College Library, Road to Research includes a section on what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.

Architecture, Design, and Digital Services Librarian & Interim Resource Librarian for Urban Planning

Profile Image
Janine Henri
Contact Info
Arts Library
1400 Public Affairs Building
Box 951392
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1392
Office: 310-206-4587
Send Email
Get Help:
Reference Service is available in the Arts Library from 11-4, Monday-Friday. Janine's spring quarter reference desk hours are Tuesdays 1-4 and Thursdays 11-1; please call or email for an appointment at other times.
 

General Reference

Research assistance in the arts (Architecture, Art, Art History, Costume, Design, Fashion, Film, Media Arts, Photography, Television, Theater, and Urban Design) is available at the Arts Library. See Reference and Research Help for complete reference service options.

"Where Do I Start" and "Where Do I...? provide tutorials on the research process. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip