Librarian
Michelle Brasseur
she/her
Contact:
Young Research Library, Level A
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
Research Assistance
Research assistance in the social sciences and humanities is available at the Charles E. Young Research Library. See Research Help for complete Library research support options.
US Government Information and Data
For in-depth research guidance, see these guides:
Legal History
Be sure to consult the Hugh and Hazel Darling Law Library guides on Law and Legal Research for more detailed guidance on resources related to legal history.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable database of legal periodicals. This database is not specifically aimed at historical research but may provide useful information.
- Law and Legal ResearchA variety of legal research guides from the Hugh and Hazel Darling Law Library at UCLA.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowClick on "Criminal Justice" to see complete content. Includes federal/state cases and codes; Shepard's Citations; tax law.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 19th and early 20th century Anglo-American legal treatises, derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies: the 19th Century Legal Treatises and 20th Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections.
- Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowContains constitutional conventions and compilations (including related reports, journals, proceedings, and debates), city charters and ordinances, law dictionaries, and early US state codes.
- Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowA collection of trials, based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard, Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York. Contains trials conducted in England, especially in the earlier time periods.
- Old Bailey Online (1674-1913)The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913. Search texts from 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
Data
- NBER Macrohistory DatabaseEconomic data set (mostly US) that covers all aspects of the pre-WWI and interwar economies, including production, construction, employment, money, prices, asset market transactions, foreign trade, and government activity.
US Government Information (selected resources)
- A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873US Congressional documents and debates from 1774 to 1875 from the Library of Congress
- American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new windowU.S. congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
- CRL - Government PublicationsSearch Center for Research Libraries (CRL) collections pertaining to government information of the United States, Great Britain, and elsewhere. Available to CRL members, including UCLA.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-1960)From the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center.
- Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new windowThoroughly revised 5-volume reference work, available in print and electronically. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.
- Our PresidentsA blog produced by the network of US Presidential Libraries & Museums, administered by the US National Archives.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- The National Security ArchiveUS national security documents available online from George Washington University
- United States Department of State Papers relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major US foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. Available on campus in paper and microfiche. Electronic access via HeinOnline.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 (Archive of Americana)The sequentially numbered volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives.
- US House - Office of the ClerkPrimary and secondary resources pertaining to the US House of Representatives, including interactive timeline and member biographies.
- US Senate Historical OfficeHistorical documents and essays pertaining to the US Senate
- US State Department - Office of the HistorianHistorical documents pertaining to US foreign policy, including access to the Foreign Relations of the United States publication.
Canadian Government Information
- LEGISinfo - Parliament' of CanadaInformation on legislation before Parliament.
British Government Information (selected links)
For more in-depth research guidance with British government documents, please consult the British Parliamentary Papers Research Guide created by our British government documents librarian.
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs: Reports and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential PrintFrom this link, do a title search for "British Documents on Foreign Affairs." Available in a number of multi-volume series, organized geographically and chronologically, e.g., Series A, Russia, 1859-1914.
- British History OnlineBritish History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new windowThousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the 16th and 18th centuries.
- CRL - Government PublicationsA list of microfilm collections pertaining to government information of the United States, Great Britain, and elsewhere.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowAccess to the British Parliamentary Papers, 1801-2016. Includes bills and acts, command papers, House of Commons papers, and more.
- Journal of the House of Commons. Great Britain. 1547-2005Available in print at SRLF
- The National Archives (UK)This site includes online collections and extremely useful research guides for finding particular types of documents and records.
- Parliament Rolls of Medieval England This link opens in a new windowOfficial records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I until the reign of Henry VII (1272 - 1509). Reproduces the rolls edited in Rotuli Parliamentorum (RP), plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles, as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published. Accompanied by full translations of all the texts (originals in Latin, Anglo-Norman, and Middle English).