Librarian
Newspaper Tips
The list of newspapers presented here is not comprehensive. To see if we have newspapers from a particular region or time period, you can do a Subject Search in UC Library Search for:
"california newspapers"
You can also add additional keywords to narrow the search.
For example:
"armenian california newspapers"
Union Lists of Newspapers
When doing research on the history of a region, it is often helpful to discover what newspapers existing in the region during a particular time period. Union lists are bibliographies containing publications held at a variety of libraries.
You can do a Subject Search in UC Library Search for:
"union lists newspapers"
You can narrow the search by adding a location name.
For example:
"union lists newspapers California"
or
"American union lists newspapers"
Broadcast News
- TV News Search and BorrowFrom the Internet Archive, a service that allows you to search broadcast news captions since 2009, view and share clips.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new windowIndexes network evening news broadcasts from the major US national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. Includes historical streaming video from NBC (since 1968) and CNN.
Newspapers
For current newspaper access, your best bet is either to look up the newspaper title in our catalog or search Lexis Nexis or Factiva. For alternative press, you can also try Alt-Press Watch and Ethnic News Watch.
Historical newspapers can be more tricky to access. Many have not been digitized, so you may have to look at microfilm or print copies. Some have not even been indexed which means you have to figure out a date or range of dates and browse manually for information.
Frequently, historians want access to circulation data. This is not easy to get but contemporary circulation data for many papers can be found at the Audit Bureau of Circulation's website. The ABC's historical data reaches back as far as 1914 but is only available to Audit Bureau members.
Here are some good historical newspapers available online:
Newspaper Collections
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowContents of this database draw upon newspapers, newsbooks, Acts of Parliament, addresses, broadsides, pamphlets, and proclamations from England. Relevant to the study of colonial America.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the US.
- History Commons (North American Collections) This link opens in a new windowPart of Accessible Archives database.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new windowPublished between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.
- California Digital Newspaper CollectionOver 5,460,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers. Click on Help to see how to search this database.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog: NewspapersNewspaper holdings include over 16,000 titles, more than 10,000 of which are published outside the US. CRL endeavors to collect extensive and, whenever possible, complete runs of newspaper titles, and its holdings of some titles are the most complete in existence. As a member of CRL, UCLA students and faculty can borrow any of these titles on interlibrary loan.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersDigital project from the Library of Congress including online access to newspapers published from between 1690-present. Search newspaper pages digitized through the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (America's Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of fully searchable historical newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C., chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to 1922. Series One covers 1690-1876, and Series Two includes 1690-1900.
- Eighteenth Century Journals, 1685-1835 This link opens in a new windowA collection of rare newspapers and journals printed between 1685 and 1835 in the UK and colonies, including India, the Caribbean, and Canada, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Includes an index to The Lady's Magazine, 1770-1818.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Modernist Journals ProjectA joint project of Brown University and the University of Tulsa. A collection of digitized journals from the modernist literary/intellectual movement.
- World Newspaper Archive (Center for Research Libraries) This link opens in a new window
American, African, Latin American, and South Asian newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
Major US Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Constitution This link opens in a new window
The Atlanta Constitution offers full page and article images with searchable full text from 1868-1984. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
- Boston Globe Historic ArchivesOnline database to the Boston Globe, 1872-present. UCLA does NOT have online access to the articles. Once you locate articles, check the UCLA Library Catalog to see if we have the dates you need on microfilm. If we don't have it, UCLA students, staff and faculty can request it on Interlibrary Loan.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, covering 1849-2014 of the paper. For access to current issues, see Chicago Tribune [1985-present].
- El Clamor Publico Collection, 1855-1859From University of Southern California.
- Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowProvides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- Los Angeles Star, 1851-1864From University of Southern California.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1851 to 2020. For access to current issues, see The New York Times [1980-present]. Contains the former Historical Index to the New York Times (1851-1923) from the database Historical Newspapers Online.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue as the Daily Dramatic Chronicle in 1865 to 1922.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Wall Street Journal. This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text, from 1889 to 2012. For access to current issues, see Wall Street Journal [1984-present].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1877 to 2007. For access to current issues, see Washington Post [1987-present].
African American Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Baltimore Afro-American This link opens in a new window
The Baltimore Afro-American was the most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
- California EagleA Los Angeles African American newspaper (1879-1964).
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (including Daily Defender) is included as part of Black Studies Center (1921-2010). Proquest's Chicago Defender content does not include the newspaper's "City Edition," which is currently only available on microfilm.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - 2010. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News This link opens in a new window
The major Black newspaper in New York.
- The Crisis (Modernist Journals Project)Founded in 1910 as the house magazine of the NAACP and edited by W. E. B. Du Bois, The Crisis quickly became the most important voice of the African-American struggle for cultural identity and civic justice in the U.S. Includes all issues 1910-1922.