Librarian
Michelle Brasseur
she/her
Contact:
Young Research Library, Level A
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
American Oral Histories
Thanks to the Center for Oral History Research based here at UCLA Library, we have extensive oral history collections available in UC Library Search. Also try searching WorldCat for oral histories: for example, in the Advanced Search screen, try a keyword search for "oral history" OR "interview," along with another search term like the name of a particular interviewee or a topic keyword. Below is a list of other useful oral history resources.
- UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) This link opens in a new windowCOHR conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities. Over 2000 interviews document a wide range of areas related to Southern California history, including the histories of Black, indigenous, people of color and immigrant communities, the arts, political activism, politics and government, and UCLA history. Transcripts available in Library Special Collections (YRL).
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowA multimedia site devoted to the variety of cultures and communities that make up California. Includes oral histories, among other materials.
- Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world. Provides keyword searching of full-text transcripts when available, plus links to audio and video files.
- Historical VoicesA searchable online database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century - the first large-scale repository of its kind.