Vertical File CollectionGazetteers
2010 Features
This is the "Home" page of the "Maps, Atlases, Aerial Images, and Cartographic Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maps, Atlases, Aerial Images, and Cartographic Resources   Tags: aerial photos, topos  

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ucla.edu/maps Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search Guides: 
 

Map Scanning and Reproduction

 

Research Assistance and Access

Cartographic research assistance is available in person, by phone, by e-mail, or via online chat. See Reference and Research Help for all your options.

Major Online Sources

 

Research Assistance

Research assistance is available in person, by phone, by e-mail, or via 24/7 online chat.

 

Cartographic and GIS Research in the UCLA Library

This guide will help you locate and use print and online maps at UCLA and other institutions. In addition to maps, there are article databases and other resources that support research and study of cartographic resources, geography, urban planning, etc.

The UCLA Henry J. Bruman Map Collection consists of maps and atlases, aerial photographs, gazetteers, place name literature, and specialized books and journals about cartography and geographic information systems. 

For optimal image viewing, use Google Chrome or Internet Explorer. Firefox might not support all image loading.

Picture Source: Bibliotheque Nationale de France

 

Cartographic Collections Overview

The Henry J. Bruman Map Collection, administered by the Charles E. Young Research Library Collections, Research, and Instructional Services department (CRIS), consists of maps and atlases, aerial photographs, gazetteers, place name literature, and specialized books and journals about cartography and geographic information systems

The map and atlas collections are primarily post-1945 in origin, but we also collect facsimile editions of older maps in an effort to trace the origins of cartography. Although we collect maps depicting geographic coverage from all over the globe, our collection is especially rich in materials relating to Los Angeles City and County, southern California, and the remainder of California.

The Research Library collects map series as well as single sheet maps.

We provide access to Geographic Information System (GIS) resources which allow UC students, faculty, and staff to use ArcGIS to produce customized maps according to their specific needs and specifications.

The Research Library map collections are housed in two locations: the Research Library A-level Reading Room and the Southern Regional Library Facility (SRLF). The majority of maps located in SRLF are map series. These series represent geographic coverage of the entire globe and cover contemporary as well as historical time periods. They include all United States Geological Survey topographic maps at scales of 1:62,500 and 1:24,000 except for California; WWII-era Army Map Service maps; and series produced by national mapping agencies from numerous countries throughout the world. Graphic indexes for most of these series have been retained in the Research Library. These maps have been designated as non-circulating and must be paged back to the Research Library to be used. Maps housed in the SRLF are listed in the UCLA Library Catalog and must be used in the Research Library A-level Reading Room. Paged materials will be available for use by 5 p.m. on the next working day.

The UCLA Science and Engineering Library Geology-Geophysics Collection & also has a map collection to support the faculty and students in Earth and Space Sciences.

 

Atlases

The Bruman Map Collection contains many atlases. Some cover the entire world while others are concerned with specific continents, regions, countries, various administrative areas, and urban areas. The atlases contain information on an array of topics including history, physical and cultural geography, politics, vegetation, soils, the military, forestry, and climate, to name a few. The earliest atlases in our collection date from the mid-nineteenth century, with the exception of a rare volume from the 1645 Blaeu Atlas.

 

Charts

The UCLA Map Collection contains contemporary Nautical and Aeronautical charts. The historical map collection also contains some portolan charts.