Librarian
Michelle Brasseur
she/her
Contact:
Young Research Library, Level A
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
19th-Century US History Resources
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new windowThe Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s archive of letters, diaries, maps pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, and ephemera sheds light on the political, economic, and social history of the United States up until the 20th century. The majority of the collection is unique manuscripts, with special emphasis on the revolutionary, early national, antebellum, and civil war eras.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, newspapers, diaries, maps, artwork, photographs, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-20th century. Cross-searchable with The American West database. This database was previously titled American Indian Histories and Cultures.
- American Memory Historical Collections for the National Digital LibraryIncludes manuscripts, ephemera, images, maps, and more.
- American Presidency ProjectA searchable database of papers, speeches, and other materials related to U.S. Presidents.
- American West This link opens in a new windowThe Graff Collection at the Newberry Library presents tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws, the growth of urban centers, the environmental impact of westward expansion and life in the borderlands through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources.
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more from 17th-, 18th- and 19th-century America.
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, images, oral histories, and more relating to California history.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaLaunched in 2013, this site provides access to millions of digitized primary sources from archives, museums, and libraries across United States.
- Early Canadiana OnlineA good resource for primary texts from early Canadian history.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment This link opens in a new windowContains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowSearchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the 18th century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary source manuscripts and secondary essays relevant to Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, 1783-1969.
- Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1900 This link opens in a new windowRare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Includes monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century.
- Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (Women's History) This link opens in a new windowFacsimile scans of monographs, periodicals, and pamphlets in 15 languages, started in the late 1800s by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen. Focus is on 19th and 20th century feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights but includes books published from 1543 to 1945.
- Global Missions and Theology (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowThis collection documents the broad range of Nineteenth Century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records, and biographies of the essential leaders,
- Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new windowContains digitized manuscript materials covering the history of Jewish communities in America through the mid-20th century. Includes letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and more.
- Making of America BooksA digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- The Making of the Modern World: Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowDigital collection of books, periodicals, and primary source materials from the period 1460-1945. Focuses on economics, political science, history, and sociology, with special collections on banking, finance, transportation, and manufacturing.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 This link opens in a new windowCollection of letters and diaries of women of varied age groups, ethnicities, and geographical regions, spanning more than 300 years. Includes both published and previously unpublished materials.
- Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new windowCombined search of all Readex (NewsBank) databases to which UCLA subscribes, including America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, FBIS Daily Reports, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876 and World Newspaper Archive.
- Slavery Collections at the New-York Historical SocietyThis site provides access to 14 collections containing diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions, all relating to American slavery and the Atlantic slave trade.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowCollection of digitized documents, maps, and essays concerning the Atlantic slave trade, primarily from British and North American libraries. Includes 18th and 19th-century court records from Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, and North Carolina.
- SlaveVoyagesThis site offers three databases on voyages, transactions, and African individuals involved in the trans-Atlantic slave trade.
- Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War (via History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Consists of nine modules: Slavery and the Law; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; records focused on the Slave trade and other legal issues pertaining to slavery; four modules of Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records; a module on the Civil War entitled "Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army"; and Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War. Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowA collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.