Librarian
Michelle Brasseur
she/her
Contact:
Young Research Library, Level A
Subjects: History, Language & Literature
US History Images and Film
Images are becoming easier to find these days, thanks to the Internet. However, you do need to think about copyright if you are going to use images in publications, on web sites, and so on.
The easiest source for images is to do a Google search and click on the Images link near the top of the page. Be careful about trusting the descriptions of these images—they may not be historically accurate. Here are some other, more reliable sources:
Still Images
- Ad*AccessImages and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
- American Memory Historical Collections for the National Digital LibraryIncludes images, manuscripts, maps, ephemera, and more.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
AP Newsroom (formerly AP Images) contains millions of photographs dating from 1826 to present day from the Associated Press. Includes thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories and headlines from 1997 to the present. - ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High-resolution Images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. Images are contributed by museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists, and estates, from a variety of sources including the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts. UC campuses contribute additional images including: the Archivision Library, Saskia Art & Architecture images, the Visual Resources Collections from UCB, UCSB, UCI, UCLA, UCR, and the UCSC Library Instructional Collection. Now hosted on the JSTOR platform. - Calisphere This link opens in a new windowOver one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.
- UCLA Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowRare and unique digital materials developed by the UCLA Library to support education, research, service, and creative expression, including the AIDS Poster Collection, the Los Angeles Times Photographic Archive and more.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaLaunched in 2013, this site provides access to millions of digitized primary sources from archives, museums, and libraries across United States.
- Flickr CommonsA free public collection of photographs from major photography archives. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian Institution, and more.
- NYPL Digital GalleryThousands of digital images from the New York Public Library collections.
Moving Images
- Folkstreams » The Best of American Folklore FilmsA National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures - streamed with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings and links to related websites.
- Getty Images: Archival Collection: The March of Time®Complete episodes from The March of Time newsreel and documentary series, produced from 1935 to 1967, available for online viewing at HBO's stock footage portal. Complete the free online registration to view.