Librarian
20th and 21st-Century US History Resources
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, newspapers, diaries, maps, artwork, photographs, and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-20th century. Cross-searchable with The American West database. This database was previously titled American Indian Histories and Cultures.
- American Memory Historical Collections for the National Digital LibraryIncludes manuscripts, ephemera, images, maps, and more.
- American Presidency ProjectA searchable database of papers, speeches, and other materials related to U.S. Presidents.
- American West This link opens in a new windowThe Graff Collection at the Newberry Library presents tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws, the growth of urban centers, the environmental impact of westward expansion and life in the borderlands through a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources.
- Archive of Americana This link opens in a new windowProvides access to thousands of newspapers, books, ephemera, broadsides, pamphlets, government publications, and more from 17th-, 18th- and 19th-century America.
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, images, oral histories, and more relating to California history.
- Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle (via History Vault) This link opens in a new window
Includes NAACP Papers, federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers regarding the 20th Century Black Freedom Struggle. The collections in this category include documentation on the major events of the civil rights era, such as the Montgomery Bus Boycott, Freedom Rides, March on Washington, Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Selma to Montgomery March, and other events spanning the full 20th Century.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaLaunched in 2013, this site provides access to millions of digitized primary sources from archives, museums, and libraries across United States.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new windowPrimary source manuscripts and secondary essays relevant to Empire Studies. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion & Empire; and Race, Class & Colonialism, 1783-1969.
- Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1900 This link opens in a new window
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women History, Duke University, and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides addressing the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs (Women's History) This link opens in a new windowFacsimile scans of monographs, periodicals, and pamphlets in 15 languages, started in the late 1800s by Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen. Focus is on 19th and 20th century feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights but includes books published from 1543 to 1945.
- Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new windowContains digitized manuscript materials covering the history of Jewish communities in America through the mid-20th century. Includes letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and more.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950 This link opens in a new windowCollection of letters and diaries of women of varied age groups, ethnicities, and geographical regions, spanning more than 300 years. Includes both published and previously unpublished materials.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975: Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest This link opens in a new windowThis online portal explores the period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. It includes color images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, historical news video, ephemera and memorabilia.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowCollection of digitized documents, maps, and essays concerning the Atlantic slave trade, primarily from British and North American libraries. Includes 18th and 19th-century court records from Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, and North Carolina.
- The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives This link opens in a new window
This searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
- UCLA Campaign Literature ArchiveDigitized copies of printed election materials and archived websites from elections for local, state, and federal offices affecting the Los Angeles area and ballot measures from California state and local Los Angeles area elections.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowA collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities.