Selected Images
Scope Note
International development is a large feat of critically balancing economic, social, political, scientific, and planning perspectives. UCLA's Luskin school understands internation development includes industrialization, urbanization, economic changes, resource management, urban-rural divides, and most importantly the address the quality of life for the most marginalized citizens in the midst of rapid change. While must of the direction of international development follows the direction of the UN Sustainable Development goals and World Bank, it remains important to stay grounded in the long-term effects of neoliberal international financial and non-governmental agencies as pointed out by scholars, such as Silvia Federici in Revolution at Point Zero.
Databases for International Development Research
In addition to the interdisciplinary databases recommended in the articles page, see this list of databases with international coverage.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The fundamental research tool in economics with bibliographic citations, and some abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Subjects covered include book reviews, business, economics, finance, industry and statistics. - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered. - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
